We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at Playa Los Arcos Hotel in PV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at Playa Los Arcos Hotel in PV”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nov 1-10th..
I would like to thank many people for making us feel so welcome and like family. Hotel manager Antonio Rojas, Concierge Magda Gomez, Restaurant and Bar Manager Rogelio, Assistant Restaurant Managers Manuel and Mauri, Bar Wait Staff Felix and Francis, Activities Manager Adrian, Our housekeeper Lupita, and Restaurant wait staff Rogelio, Alejandro, Pepe, Arturo, Jesus, Efren, Juan, Pablo, and Betulio. Bartenders Orlando and Angel. Maintenance staff Armando, Lorenzo, and Haveli. Each of these people contribute so much and really care about the guests. Because of all of them we coming back year after year.

We stay in the same room each time and we love it more and more. The oceanfront views are spectacular. The beds are so comfortable.

The restaurant food gets better each time as do the drinks. Manager Rogelio makes sure that everything is right each day. It is reflective in his wait staff as they are relaxed and confident.
The personal interactions and attention to detail is so appreciated.

We absolutely love the group Sol y Luna that play most nights in the bar.
A special thank you to Flowers and Gilberto. We consider you lifelong friends.

We also enjoy the entertainment 3 nights a week with folklore dancers.

Felix and Francis, Thank you so much for spoiling us and making us feel so special. We love all the drinks you bring us when we say "surprise us ".. You are topnotch professionals.

We cant wait for our next visit and would NEVER stay anywhere except Playa los Arcos Hotel.

Room Tip: oceanfront is best of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    788
    363
    159
    124
See reviews for
791
838
132
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yreka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We love Playa Los Arcos. A great experience of Puerto Vallarta and its people. The staff, Juan Perez, Rogelio, the resturant staff, maids and even the maintence folks are all excellent and most helpful and attentive. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask to see the assortment of rooms before you move in. Our favorite ones are ocean front with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were there the last week of October, this was our 2nd stay at PLA. This time we upgraded to the ocean front rooms rather than the ocean view rooms we stayed in last Feb. The rooms were basically the same except a much better view. The hotel staff were nice enough to bring us a coffee maker and refrigerator upon request. This place is ran by a good group of people, all friendly and helpful.

Slept great, their mattresses are pillow tops and kind of firm, perfect for my back, we slept great. They were just finishing a new poolside outdoor bar while we were there, it looked like it was going to be a cool place to relax. They were also doing some other exterior renovations too, the building's really beginning to look quite fancy from the street, they've put a lot of work into it.

As others have noted they are using wrist bands now which makes you a magnate for sales pitches but I understand their reasoning for security since the place opens up onto a popular busy street on one side and a busy beach on the other rather than being all fenced in. So we took it as a decent trade off.

WIFI: last Feb. it wouldn't work in our room, this year it worked in the room. It's slow but it was nice to have it in the room now, and no extra charge, bravo!

We'd stay again in heartbeat, great value, great location, safe and an accommodating, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view. Rooms away from the busy street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasideArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Lucia has been so helpful in planning our vacation & securing the right room. She has been responding to my emails when I initially booked & has been very proactive in confirming as we get closer to our trip. We have stayed there in the past & wanted to make sure that we got the exact room we wanted. PVR is a great place & Los Arcos has the best location. We can't wait to be there!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was my first trip to PV and this place was recommended to me. There was some initial confusion about my room (thank you Expedia), but the front desk was more than happy to let me try out either room, see which one I liked better. The masseuse was amazing and cheap, the staff out on the beach was very friendly and willing to help with chairs & umbrellas.

The thing that you need to remember is its tremendous value, the bathroom is small, the furniture is old but the location is great and the price can't be beat. I have every intention of staying here on every future trip.

Room Tip: Get a room off of the street, get one closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazydays77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've been coming to Puerto Vallarta for years. Have held time shares in Nuevo Vallarta for over 10. Old town however is where to go.
This is one of the few that is on the beach and close to everything.
It does cater to everyone so there are families as well.
The weekends it seems caters to locals and their families so it is busier.
The rooms are extremely small, but are expected in this area.
The beach is really not that bad, is swimmable and very busy.
Beach area infront is dedicated to hotel guests.
I decided to not go with all inclusive, unfortunately I still needed to wear a wrist band to be recognised as a guest and be eligible to have chairs etc on the beach.
This just had you tagged as a tourist.
Price was ok. wifi included and accessible in all rooms (not on their website).
The hotel was in the best location as you could walk everywhere from there.
Will be on my possible lists for returning next time I go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingguy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay at Playa Los Arcos with my best friend. Two girls in Mexico, downtown. Safe? Very! Contrary to popular (and totally incorrect) beliefs, it's really safe to vacation in Mexico, and yes, even if you're just with a girlfriend. Yes, of course there will be the typical whistling and hollering and Mexican guys hitting on you if you're a girl, but just be cordial and polite and they will get the hint!

My point form review below:

Cost: 85$ a night at Playa, purchased through Hotels.com. This is the all-inclusive option for two people. That's a great deal! After taxes it worked out to $97 and change per night. Still good.

Room: Really average. Some might say below average. Decor, I wouldn't even have anything to say about that. My gf and I were given a king size bed (which is really two twins pushed together - and when we complained we wanted two beds, they promptly sent someone up to "separate the beds"). We weren't too happy with the room, there was a balcony and you could see ocean views but mainly you looked down onto the pool.

We complained, and Gabriel at the front desk assured that we'd have a kickass room the next day.

The next day rolled around and sure enough, we had a small room with two twin beds (a tube TV!) and a big patio with our own tanning chairs and a great view of the ocean. Loved it. I chose the bed closest to the window and noticed a dead cockroach on its back on the floor - no biggie, it's Mexico, what do you expect!

Food: There's only one restaurant and it serves breakfast, lunch, dinner. Kind of boring selection and I knew this was going to happen, but that's why I chose to stay in downtown because you can always leave the hotel to eat on the cheap. My go-to buffet selections were always the pineapple, watermelon and papaya. The ribs were alright and fish is always a safe bet.

Drinks: I barely drank. I had maybe 2 drinks a day. Red wine is served cold. Mango margaritas were ok, it's all syrup and ice and booze at the end of the day.

Pool/Beach: The sun never really hits the pool and it's a family-friendly place. Luckily the hotel is beach front, so a few steps away is the towel station - trade in your towel cards for your towels and a guy helps you set up an umbrella and your tanning chair.

Staff: Great staff! Everyone was really helpful and I have no complaints about the service. Gabriel at front desk was attentive and friendly. We didn't know how to work the safe, so someone came up to help us and politely waited outside our room for 10 minutes while the safe reset itself. Housekeeping was great too, attention to detail, swan towel figurine included!

Excursion (El Eden Ziplining Tour): While tanning on the beach, you'll be approached endlessly by vendors. My gf and I inquired about zip lining a few times (at a booth on the malecon, another time at the concierge at the hotel). One vendor on the beach solicited zip lining tours. We chatted with him and asked what his bestbestbest price was. He said 350 pesos (around $35). We weren't sure if we could trust him but it sure was cheaper than the booth on the Malecon (420 pesos) and the hotel concierge (600 pesos). To reassure us, he provided two government issued ID cards that showed he was legally allowed to sell tours on the beach. He also said, instead of giving him the full amount, we could pay a deposit of 150 pesos and that he would personally meet us at the hotel the next morning at 10:45AM (the tour bus picks you up at various locations - for us it was at The Blue Shrimp next door to our hotel).

We decided to bite the bullet and give him the deposit, feeling a little sketchy but hey, if we lost 150 pesos, it's ok at least we know for next time.

The next morning, we headed down to the beach and sure enough, ALDO was standing there waiting for us. He walked us to The Blue Shrimp, we paid the balance and off we went to our zip lining tour.

I highly recommend asking for ALDO. He's fantastic and hey, you KNOW you can trust him! The guys at the towel station will be able to find you for him.

On the zip lining tour, a cool military-style truck picks you up and whisks you off on a (close to) 1hr drive up the mountain. It's scenic and the second half is extremely bumpy but the driver is sooooo careful and goes slow on the bumps.

We met some locals on the tour (it was their day off and they work in the hospitality industry) and they said we got a great deal for $35.

Tips & Tricks
* If you want to do excursions, ask the towel station guys to find you ALDO the beach vendor. When you meet ALDO, tell him Sarah/Angela sent you (the two asian girls who did El Eden zip lining).
* At the buffet, stick to fruit, cooked veggies and fish -- for a real authentic meal, head over to Pancho's Takos, and order the Al Pastor soft tacos. I promise you, cheap & delicious eats.
* For a special dinner outing, head over to The Blue Shrimp and ORDER THE COCONUT SHRIMP! To die for, and we waited 6 months to come back just so we could order coconut shrimp.
* If you're cabbing to the airport, from the hotel to airport it should only cost about 150 pesos. That's how much we paid. From airport to hotel, don't pay more than 250 pesos. But up to 260 pesos MAX!
* Take a stroll to the Malecon to where all the nightlife and touristy spots are. It's less than a 2 mile walk and it doesn't take that long. And you won't notice the time go by as there's tons to look at - including the actual market.

Conclusion: Would I go back? Sure! But there are so many other places to stay at, so I'd probably try another different place next time. That said, Hotels.com always has a daily deal special so keep your eyes peeled on a daily basis!

Room Tip: Kindly ask if they have a better room. Never hurts to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,602 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing