We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large, bustling hotel suitable for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Large, bustling hotel suitable for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Playa Los Arcos for two nights. This is the largest of three locations owned and operated by Los Arcos. While this location is nice, with ocean view rooms available, it is clearly much better for families with children. Couples should opt for one of the smaller locations, which are one block away.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room that does not overlook the pool, which can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dg2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    745
    346
    149
    119
See reviews for
732
783
124
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a suite for 2 weeks (tried to find another place but since this was the hight season in PV, could not find another hotel that could accommodate us for 2 weeks). Uncomfortable beds, 2 small old TVs, the living room TV was so fuzzy you could not watch it. On the second day, had a flood in the kitchen from the refrigerator - this was never fixed. The staff just draped towels around it which did not help. Later that day we had to put all our bath towels on the floor so we would not have to walk in the water. This is a "family oriented" hotel which means, all day thru, screaming kids in the pool right below our window. We had an old worn out dresser, when you opened a drawer it was almost impossible to shut it again.
Our housekeeping gal was friendly and did her best to help us with our stay. Also, all the staff was friendly but this did not make up for the crummy environment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is not so much a resort hotel as it is just a hotel. Rooms are very small and you almost cannot turn around in the shower. Someone who is rather large would have a very difficult time. IT was hard to get the suitcase to the other side of the room since the end of the beds almost hit the wall. The food was mediocre, just not the cuisine I like to eat when in Mexico. I didn't pick it for the food even tho we had All-Inclusive, that was for the drinks ;) Which was nice to have when we had a chill day on the beach, they will set you up with a beach chair and umbrella if you like and a waiter will come by to bring you drinks! You also in a great location, this is what they call the Romantic Zone and just about anything you want is within walking distance. Make sure you go across the street on the corner to Takos Panchos, you welcome! The hotel staff was very nice and hard working as one would expect in Mexico and overall our stay was great. If you are just looking to sleep and get out and explore then this is a great central location for you. There are not many hotels on the beach this central.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Playa Los Arcos is definitely in a fantastic location. The Zona is so cool - really have to experience it. Horrible rooms. Old musky smell. The rooms seem "flop house" you really have to suck it up to stay here and sleep. This place has been needing a renovation for probably 10 or maybe 20 years. Creeped out really - could I catch something? I don't know why they can't find the capital and bring this place up. We booked two days and managed to stay one night only. PTSD caused us to leave next day. It is really too bad though. With a renovation this place really has potential.

Room Tip: Please ask to look at your room before making payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I will start with the pros:
-location is good, plenty of local restaurants/shops nearby in the heart of zona romantica

Now with the cons:
-room was not an an oceanfront with a private balcony. Rather, it was an ocean view with a chair outside the door. Not sure if that mishap is the hotel's or Expedia... Either way, hotel did not reconcile the error and we had to pay same price
-wifi does not work consistently. This one is important to us as we both require access for work...so very inconvenient to half to walk somewhere else for access. Hotel didn't even have communal computers to use (a one star hotel two blocks away even did)
- house keeping does not respect the 'do not disturb' sign on door knob. Once they walked in on us, second time they still changed the room... Both times, the sign was clearly hanging on door knob.
- workers at counter are rude and not helpful in any way.
- air conditioning was a joke... Ran 24/7 at full blast to just keep room tolerable. Luckily we visited in the 'cold' season... I can't imagine how horrible it would be in their summer
- window doesn't close completely so you hear everything and also allowed bugs to come in. Also in the bathroom, street noise was unbearable

I probably could go on but you should have the jist. For the price, there are much better options that have amenities that work as advertised.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meshellatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is our second trip to Vallarta, and Playa los Arcos is in a great location. When we checked in, we were given a room with one bed and a pad on the floor for our 12 year old--not the two beds requested in our reservation. It was in an extremely noisy area and made for a lousy night. The second day, we were upgraded to a room with two beds, balcony and water view--excellent, much less noise, and a very pleasant stay. I just wish they'd had their act together when we checked in. All in all, a reasonable price, clean, with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noisy. Ask for a balcony and/or water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Over all my wife and I had a very good time at Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort. Great amenity's all inclusive was also great. We enjoyed the beach and the food was very good.I would recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmer911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#43 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing