We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ManitobaOldDevil2u” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ManitobaOldDevil2u”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from Playa Los Arcos to the cold depths of Manitoba, Canada. What a comedown when you've just spent probably the best week of your life in the most friendly hotel in the world. PLA was recommended to us by friends who have stayed there many times and everything they claimed about PLA was indeed true. From the moment we got out of the taxi at the front door until the time we left the hotel, we were treated like friends and like royalty by all the staff; it was as if they had known us for years. The daily rate we paid at PLA for all inclusive was very affordable. The ocean front room we were given was clean and comfortable with the most amazing view of the beach and ocean, and, like all rooms was only a 1 minute walk from the beach. The complimentary beach chairs, beach umbrellas and beach towels all made for an easy, enjoyable and relaxing day at the beach. The hotel pool is very large (and warm) and is also a nice place to relax. My wife and I were all-inclusive at PLA and cannot say enough about the quality and variety of the daily buffet - something for everyone and a good variety of food to chose from every day. Then, if you don't feel like a large meal, there is always the snack bar for hotdogs and hamburgers. We had the most amazing dinner on the beach - a specialty of PLA that everyone has to experience to realize what a treat it is. (if you haven't had Felix prepare Spanish coffee for you on the beach then you haven't lived ).One of the highlights for us at PLA were the evenings. Every night was a variety of entertainment and the lounge just turned out to be one of the friendliest and hospitable places we were at all week. There is lots more to experience at PLA so, if you're looking for place to stay in Puerto Vallarta, check them out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taprenrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    745
    345
    148
    118
See reviews for
731
780
124
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We are currently at PLA and just wanted to share with everyone, that the moment we got here we were greeted with "welcome home:" It truly is our second home, we feel so comfortable here. If it weren't for the welcoming staff, it would be "just another hotel" but the friendships here will last forever. While making new friends, we have treasured the old ones, and we feel so fortunate to be able to spend our holiday at PLA. Friends of ours just left today, and already the staff is asking where they are. I am sure they will be back next year.
Today, I want to Thank manager Rogelio for the excellent work that he does in managing the hotel. He has a great staff, and they all do such a wonderful job, the chefs, meseros, the maids, cleaning staff, front desk, . We also have to mention our good friends Felix, Jesus, Mauri, Pablo, Frances, Manuel, and the list of names goes on. These great people make our holiday so wonderful. The bartenders work long hours as well and still smile and greet you with a "hola".

We had the most amazing supper on the beach the other night, and it was out of this world. The service was superb. Who could ask for anything more? Only problem is, just one more week and then back to reality. February can't come fast enough. We will be in withdrawal and in need of some 'sol y luna' singing. hmmmmm excellente!
Muy bien.....glen y janet

Room Tip: each room is different. depending on your preference of ocean view or ocean front, or pool view, bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManitobaNurse2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been going to Puerto Vallarta for 8 years, the first 3 weeks of November with the same group of people. We love this hotel and have never stayed anyplace else. It is a basic comfortable hotel, not the Ritz Carlton. If you want that type of luxury, you need to pay high dollar for that. This hotel is affordable, and the staff has always been great. They always remember our names and we feel like it is home for our time there. They do offer an all-inclusive plan, but we never do that as there are many, many great resturants within walking distance. There is less hustle and bustle than downtown and the hotel strip near the airport. The beach is fantastic and only a few steps from your room. They have an activities director that conducts activities during the day if you wish to participate. Water aerobics, water volleyball, spanish lessons, dancing, etc. There is a bar/resturant right by the pool area. The rooms are basic and the maid service daily is great. All rooms have A/C.
If you try this hotel I don't think you will be disappointed. They also have another 2 hotels across the street and if you stay there you are still entitled to all services of Playa Los Arco's, beach chairs, towels, etc.
The employees work for a very small daily wage, so please remember to tip accordingly. A great place to stay in Puerto Vallarta

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are right by the pool so there is a little more noise with the kids playing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whipper226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location for the beach or walking the Malicon. Rooms were nice for the price a Jr suite one bedroom & a kitchenette & a foldout couch. We had a view of the pool & the beach close to the bar but it quieted down around 11:00pm so it wasn't a problem. Problems were quickly resolved (replaced the refrigerator & the batteries in the safe) Pool area, restaurant & bar all very nice! Restaurant a little over priced but two for one happy hour(s) at 1:00 couldn't be beat! service on the beach was very good as well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CND02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
203 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Since the first time we went to Puerto Vallarta we've always stayed at this hotel. Right on the beach with a view of Banderas Bay, the pier, and Los Arcos rocks, we always request a superior ocean front room. The Staff is very attentive and remembers us by name every time we go. This hotel is close to everything in old town including its two sister hotels near by. The spa is great for a massage. The restaurant is very good too. They also have a little gift shop. Oh! And they have 3 resident iguanas that like to hang out on the premises as well. We always book over the phone and request to speak to Marguerita for our reservation. She even lets us pick our favorite room every time we go. How cool is that? Just a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777Deana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

First of all we would like to thank the staff and Rogelio the hotel manager for making our wedding better than anything we could have ever imagined. This hotel is beautiful, inside and out. The lobby, pool, and restaurant scream beauty and authentic mexican experience. We planned our whole wedding in Puerto Vallarta from Ca and it was not an easy task but Rogelio made it a smooth and effortless experience. From the moment that we stepped foot into the hotel my guests and i were treated like royalty. Nothing was impossible for the staff or Rogelio. The setup on the beach was perfect, and beautiful. The restaurant where the reception was held was setup beautifuly, the food was amazing, and the staff was incredible!!! From the moment that we walked in, to the moment we left this hotel was amazing. My family and i will definitley be returning to this hotel any time we are in PV. I suggest anyone who is considering a destination wedding in PV to look into this hotel and what they offer, it was the best decision we could have ever made. We can not say enough about Rogelio the hotel manager, he was amazing!!! He made sure everything was perfect! He truly made our wedding unforgetable. We could not have asked for a better outcome, Hotel Playa Los Arcos is definitley a place to check out if your looking to make your vacation in PV complete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to get a great deal on the beachfront facing top floor suite. The room was very nice and the view was fantastic. Definitely recommended if you can get it.

Be aware that if you have mobility issues, or tend to indulge in Margaritas :), that the top floor, 4th floor, is not reachable by elevator. You take the elevator to the 3rd floor and walk up a flight of stairs

Room Tip: The front top floor suites for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giovanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#22 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#43 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing