We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$342
$278
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$269
$179
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$631
$258
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$520
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$271
$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$396
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mousai(Puerto Vallarta)
$352
$324
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
$500
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,060)
Filter reviews
3,060 results
Traveler rating
1,403
931
403
182
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,403
931
403
182
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos arcosromantic zonecan't beat the locationocean frontfamily hotelmexican hotelall inclusive optionhotel zoneall inclusive planmaster suitegreat vacationfood and drinkslounge chairspool sidemagdamaleconpv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,547 - 1,552 of 3,060 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very beautifully decorated with hand-carved looking, solid wood furniture pieces and unique, antique light fixtures. Our only problem was that it was a little too family friendly. We were on our honeymoon and the pool was packed with yelling kids and families and techno music in the background. I imagine it would be great for a family reunion trip but not a quiet, private couples stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have been going to PV for over twenty years and have stayed all over PV from condos to the hotel zone to AI resorts in Nuevo Vallarta, including Paradise Village. In over thirty trips (thrice in the past year alone), we have stayed at well over 20 different locations. One of the criteria that we use to judge our vacations is value. “What do we receive for our money?” We feel that Playa Los Arcos gives us tremendous bang for our dollar.

We have just returned from our 7th (8th?) stay at Playa Los Arcos. This is a 40 year old Mexican owned and operated boutique hotel located on Los Muertos (aka Playa del Sol) beach in what is called Zona Romantica. This area is just a couple hundred yards from the main part of town. The hotel itself is one of three owed by the same family and all three share some of the amenities such as the restaurant and bar.

Again, this is a 40 year old hotel with 40 year old plumbing and electrical. If you’re looking for the Hilton, this not it. There are a large variety of rooms, from some that seem to be just large closets to more standard sized (~220 sf), to suites. We have never had a room or bed that was not clean. Much cleaner than many hotels that we have stayed in the US. Please note that there is no 24 hour housekeeping. If you want your room made up at 8pm., it’s not going to happen. All the rooms are non-smoking but in the rainy season some may be musty smelling. A quick shot of Lysol spray usually takes care of the issue. The AC is usually adequate. But, if it’s 90/90 outside, any older AC is going to have a difficult time.

The AAI package is a great deal. This trip, we paid $18 each per day. For this you get all your drinks and more food than you can possibly eat. Breakfast and an afternoon drink covers the cost; everything else is a gift. The buffet is not very inspiring but is quite good. Note: many of the dishes look the same but they really are different. The bar has entertainment every night and there are three shows throughout the week.

The staff is just great. Everyone goes out of their way to be helpful. We are always greeted as if we were long lost relations. That said, you must be aware that this is Mexico and many of their customs are different from ours so for example, their show of respect may strike some as standoffish.

Speaking of Mexico, understand that this is a Mexican hotel and the many of the guests come from Mexico. During the non-peak months, the majority of guests may be nationals. On a couple of occasions, I believe that our party may have been the only Norte Americanos there. Also, as with all the beaches in PV, Los Muertos is public and is open to all. At no time will you forget that you are in Mexico. But, quite frankly, if you’re not fond of Mexicans, what the heck are you doing in Mexico?

Just a couple more notes. There is free wifi but it is not always up. What is called the Adult Pool is usually full of kids. I once counted 3 adults and 18 kids in the “Adult Pool”. The hotel has plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas for use on the beach. The drinks are not watered, it’s just not their intent to see how fast you can get drunk.

Questions? Drop me an e-mail at Jim@RenoNV-Homes.com

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before commiting to it. If they availble rooms, thye are very good at letting you switch. Note that some may cost more.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JimN1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were delighted with this hotel for many reasons. The location was great as it is in the Romantic area yet close enough to the Malecon to get almost anywhere by foot. The staff were all wonderful, helpful and courteous at all times. We signed up for the all inclusive so had our meals and drinks included with the room price. The buffet was nice and varied a little each day. We could also order gourmet items from the Grill at extra cost, such as lobster or rack of lamb. The views from our balcony were lovely. To the right we could see the sunset every evening. Below we can look see three swimming pools. We hope to return soon to this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North side of the pools as the view is the best on that side as to the ocean, the pools and the sunsets.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Playa Los Arcos. The service was efficient and friendly. The proximity to the beach, wonderful and the swimming pools were great. I had a wonderful massage in their spa, and would highly recommend Patricia!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrendaMcMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am a believer of reading reviews before I travel and stay at hotels and that's why I'm writing this. I went to Puerto Vallarta and stayed at Paradise Village in Nuevo Vallarta for a week. Loved it. Then I had problems at the airport and couldn't go back to the states till the next day so we decided to stay the night in town. The taxi driver told us that the hotel los arcos was a 5 star hotel. We got there and the lobby looked very traditional which I liked. We got a room with beach view. When we looked for the elevator we notice that it was dirty and old. We got to our floor and when we entered our room there was a musky smell. It smelled like mildew on walls and old old wood. There were bugs crawling on the walls, not sure what kind. The sheets were stained. The wood doors had a large space at the bottom from the floor so any bug could crawl in. The balcony door was the same. The air conditioning didn't cool properly and the vents were extremely dirty. I DO NOT recommend this hotel. It only has one pool, a very small beach area with like 8 chairs and it seems not to be private because i saw people walking to it and laying their towels. The buffet was a joke. It had 2 main entree items and then fruit and salad. The drinks were awful too. We stayed there for 3 hours and left to go back to Paradise Village. They only gave us half of the refund even though we were not even in the room. Horrible experience.

Room Tip: No good rooms. Believe me.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MBacilieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews