We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Marino Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Marsol Hotel(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andale Hotel(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mercurio(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Los Arcos Suites(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pinnacle Resorts 180(Puerto Vallarta)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
130
237
220
121
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
237
220
121
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupgrade to a junior suitelots of hot waterlocation is amazingweek stayview of the oceanalexmaleconhousekeeperservers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 792 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2011

***IMPORTANT*** The dock located on the beach right in front of the hotel was being demolished during our stay (early February 2011). Workers used a pneumatic drill on the concrete structure from 9 AM up to 10 PM, all seven days we were there. It woke us up every morning, and we couldn't even imagine staying there during the day to enjoy the pool. I strongly recommend that travelers enquire if the work has ceased before considering booking there. ***

The rooms were basic. Relatively clean, no frills. The beds were very hard. If you ask, the staff can install patio chair cushions over the mattress. It's not perfect, but it greatly improves confort while sleeping.

The food was very disapointing, except for breakfasts which were good (especially the omelets and eggs prepared right in front of you - thank you so much omelet lady!!). The buffet menu is extremely basic, bland and repetitive.

On the positive side, the hotel is very well located. It's close to the beach and to the "romantic zone". Also, we found the staff to be polite, helpful and gay friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chasqui_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We recently stayed her from January 17th to 31st and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is rated 2.5 star, people should not expect 5 star ammenities. Comparing value to other hotels in the area, San Marino is the best.Upgrade to the ocean front tower - rooms are bigger, newer marble bathrooms, great views.

Yes there is construction on the pier out front, however the hotel has no control over that.
Location in old towne is superb, right on the beach and excellent restaurants nearby. The food is OK, not the best, but certainly not slop. Price is cheap enough that if you only drink and eat breakfast there it is still more cost effective than other hotels.

Staff are great - always remember you - "welcome back"...even remember where you are from. Our room was always clean, so is the hotel. Some of the other rooms are dated, but still clean. There is free wi-fi service, right inside the dining room to your right.

When we left, our airline had engine trouble and they put us up in a 5 star resort in the marina. Not as good of location, and breakfast buffet, although more selection certainly wasnt any better than our old stand by. We will be back to the San Marino!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I start with the good which is the location. I like the area of PV which is called the Romantic Zone, although i don't know why. Although a nice area for restaurants and walkable attraction, it's not any more or less romantic than any other area.

The rooms are worn down. They've seen better days and would benefit greatly from a remodel. My room smelled overwhelmingly musty and the shower unavoidably flooded the bathroom every time.

The staff attitude ranges from indifferent to rude. You have to wear one of those stupid bracelets which is not uncommon, so I don't count that as necessarily a negative. It has an all-inclusive option which, judging from the buffet, should be avoided.

I try to avoid recommending other places within a review because it smacks of spam to me, but from what I saw outside, i would recommend the Los Arcos just a block away. I didn't stay there, so i can't speak to anything other than it looked very nice from the lobby.

Check out my reviews of resataurants and bars too. Lots of fun clubs and great restaurants in the area. Overall, the best food I experienced in our tri-city tour of PV, Guadalajara, and Mazatlan.

Oh yeah, no internet. But many option nearby in coffee shops (that don't serve drip coffee) and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveDexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

they are taking the pier down ( right at the beach of hotel ), they start at 9:00am in the morning to arround 6:00 pm everyday except sunday. The noise is unbearable...I think it will take them at least another 6 months to finish. well if you not a party goer and you can get out of bed at 900 am then this hotel is for you since it locates right in the downtown, closes to everything..there are alot of great restaurants arround ( don't even think of eating at the hotel ) . At night it's quite cold , so bring with you a sweater.....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quang80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel is right on the beach, perfect location. It attracts a lot of mexican nationals (who I suspect pay a much different rate), families and gay travelers. I fall in the latter category, and the hotel is really well situated for the zona romantica and what it has to offer. However, the place is rather drab, early 80s decor, and the rooms desperately need renovating. Beds are large but feel like cardboard. No internet or business amenities at all. Front desk staff are efficient, if not a bit snarky. There is a strict door policy, you cannot even bring a friend up to see your room---feels like a prison camp!! Thus, good for gay couples who travel and stay with other couples, who are on a budget and want a good location. If you are a single person and like to enjoy the nightlife, there are close-by options that are much better. Call the hotel directly to get a deal, as I found that rates were all over the place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rfreder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews