We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location”
Review of San Marino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Marino Hotel
Ranked #89 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
toronto, canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Location”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

You stay for the location right on the beach and also part of the town. The gay town but not totally. Don't eat anything here except maybe breakfast (saved by a little lady who will fry you eggs and/or omelets)
Otherwise the food is swill.
But don't worry, Puerto Vallarta is full of first class restaurants and eateries, best ever and not expensive. Every other building is a restaurant.
Rooms are dated but clean. They advertise safe but you have to pay for the lock and no refund.
Fortunately I had a choice of a bed soft and hard. Got back problems from the soft bed
So changed to the hard mattress.
Bathroom was OK, mine was quite large but you do have to ask the maid for a hand cloth.
The lighting is always dull I think that they have a lower voltage system and use florescent bulbs.
I asked for a sea view, just got it as my room was on the inside looking out over the kids pool and out to sea.
The rooms with an outside view generally have a private balcony.
Try to book well in advance to get a room in the west side overlooking the sea with balcony. My friend did this and we would meet for drinks on his balcony to watch the sun set.
Staff was very nice; don’t try to make a phone call from your room because they forget you. go down to the desk.
Best spot to be is on the deck of the adult pool; turn your chairs to look out over the boardwalk and sea. (except if the wind is blowing your way from the barbeque pits located on the sands.
Security is good; you can’t get friends past the guards if they are not staying at the Hotel.
A bit intimidating to see soldiers each morning walking the boardwalk, rifles coked, but they are reassuring.
Location the best, glad to here that they are updating the rooms. Now if only they could do something about the food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sp00kyt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    219
    207
    116
    77
See reviews for
189
233
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Hotel San Marino has seen better days. The rooms are spartan. The bathroom is very small and antiquated. It's a bit on the dirty side. But the location, right along Playa de los Muertos, makes up for the deficiencies.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aru90015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed here for the 6th time from November 8 to November 15, 2010.
As expected, we had a fabulous time. The rooms are basic but how much time do you spend in your room anyway? The hotel is located right on the ocean with spectacular views. Going in, we know the food is not the reason why we stay at the San Marino. That being said, there is always something to eat but sometimes you have to be creative. You cannot go wrong with breakfast but we missed seeing the omelette lady this time. Lunch is probably the best meal of the day. Always good soups and salads (fresh tomatoes). Dinner well... a bit sketchy ....... what can we say........ hog in sauce, meat in its own juices, spaghetti with uncooked wieners.... However, there are many excellent restaurants in the area. Our favourites are Cafe Bohiemo and Cafe de Olla.

Best of all,about the San Marino, it is the excellent staff and service. The staff all recognize us when we arrive. Luis at the front desk always greets us when we arrive with " welcome home!"
The wait staff are very attentive. In particular, Gustavio, Alex, Diego and Julien. We always tipped them. And they do appreciate it, as they only make $5.00 a day in wages.

In short, we are going back to the San Marino for two weeks, January 21 to February 4, 2011 and we look forward to being with our friends from Canada and seeing the San Marino staff again. See ya soon !

Al and Erick from Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al and Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We just got back from spending a week at the San Marino in Puerto Vallarta. Overall, we had a great time and the hotel proved to be a good “base camp” for our PV vacation. We upgraded to a junior suite and opted for the all-inclusive plan (which cost us about $50 US more per day, for two of us).

Having done our homework before booking, the hotel was pretty much exactly what we thought it would be. It’s a nice place, the staff is very friendly/helpful and the location is right in the middle of the action of Los Muertos beach. The truth is, if you want to stay at an affordable beach hotel in this zone, there really aren’t a lot of choices. The San Marino was very well-priced and offered more onsite amenities than if we had rented a condo.

I would tend to agree with most of the complaints of previous reviewers. The food wasn’t disgusting … but it wasn’t good, either. Breakfast was the highlight and it sort of went downhill from there. That said, the buffet set-up was always very clean, well-presented and people seemed to keep coming back for more, so maybe it was just us. (You can’t please everybody, right?) We ate outside of the hotel for most of the trip. During the day, we really enjoyed the food served on the beach by local vendors – grilled mahi-mahi and shrimp on a stick, pizza, oysters … it was fantastic.

If you like to drink, the all-inclusive plan can probably pay for itself even if you don’t eat much of the food. The two bars provided a steady flow of drinks – all the usual tropical-fruity drinks, margaritas, beers … Bartenders/servers were all very friendly and quick and you could take your drinks down to the pool or a palapa on the beach.

Our room was simple but totally fine. We had a great view of the ocean and a nice patio with two chairs. I do have to say that the bed was as hard as a rock. We kind of got used to it, but we had sore hips for the first few days of the trip. Bathroom wasn’t fancy, but it was clean and everything worked well. Being in the heart of Los Muertos beach, it did get a bit loud in the mornings and evenings. We were usually out late so didn’t mind the evening noise … but the beach got going pretty early in the morning (especially on the weekends). All typical for a lively beach location, but just something to think about if you like to sleep in.

The hotel has three pools – but if you’re a grown-up not traveling with kids, the only one you need to know about is the beachside pool next to the restaurant. It has all day sun, a view of the beach and no one under 18 is allowed in there. Brilliant. We did see a few exceptions made while we were there, but overall it was a nice place to spend the day and the chairs are extra comfy. The pool is not heated, though – the ocean was warmer than the pool.

We did a flight/hotel package deal and the room portion ended up costing about $115/night. With food and booze included, we considered this to be a really affordable rate so we looked past a few of the downsides of the hotel and had a great time. There are much nicer hotels/resorts in Nuevo Vallarta, but we like the life and fun of the old town/romantic zone. Everything is walk-able and you feel like you’re staying in a vibrant community – not a giant cruise ship that's run aground.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wallyworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The place is located in Zona Romantica and a few minutes away from Centro, a major shopping bazaar. We stayed in the Standard rooms, which filled our basic needs of a bed and a bathroom which were clean. There are ocean view rooms which I'm sure are pretty nice. It's a beachfront hotel located in the best part of Puerto Vallarta in my opinion. Restaurants like the Piazetta located right next to the hotel has some of the best pizza we've ever had. Staff was also very friendly. Coco's Kitchen is a block away and they have a good breakfast. It's very pedestrian friendly. We didn't try the food at the hotel. There is no Wi-FI but there are plenty of coffee shops nearby to get internet access if you need it. Overall, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netsfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

we stayed for 5 nights... had a junior suite which is the only room i would recommend. the staff was very friendly.. especially alex,, very little english spoke here.. beds were like boards, food really needs work but it was very clean and great location.. always felt safe.. drinks were fair but plentiful..i really enjoyed myself.. would probably stay again as long as expectations are not high. they need a/c in lobby..and again... can't say enough about how friendly they were... made up for some of the other lacking ammenities
vickie d. from rathdrum idaho

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vickieisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed at the San Marino for one week as a package holiday from Calgary. The cost was dirt cheap, so I had low expectations. I was pleasantly surprised. Location was fantastic. Can't be beat. We had a room with a big balcony overlooking the ocean. Food was very good. Not fantastic, but I was rarely disappointed. If hotel was full, meal times might be chaotic, but I was there in the low season so hotel was not very busy. Staff was very pleasant. Room was average, and the bathroom was below average, but clean. I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#59 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
699 reviews
2.0 mi away
Costa Club Punta Arena
Costa Club Punta Arena
#74 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
521 reviews
4.5 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#56 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
319 reviews
4.2 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
#75 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Hotel

Property: San Marino Hotel
Address: Rodolfo Gomez 111 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Vallarta, one of the most beautiful and romantic cities on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. The hotel is nestled on the beautiful beach of Playa los Muertos, with a wonderful atmosphere and tradition surrounded by hand craft shops, discotheques, and just a short walk from town. San Marino Hotel features 165 light and airy guestrooms including 25 spacious Junior Suites with all the amenities you need to relax and enjoy in a peaceful ambience.Come to San Marino Hotel where you will be greeted by our friendly staff and enjoy sunshine days and a vacation experience to treasure forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your San Marino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marino Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing