We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveler rating
140
259
230
126
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
140
259
230
126
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upgrade to a junior suite adult pool zona romantica the location is perfect large balcony star resort view of the ocean beach vendors alex malecon housekeeper nightlife servers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 851 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

My friend and I decided to upgrade to the beach front room....lovely...spectacular...but after 14 years staying at the San Marino in a supreme room facing the street Rodolfo Gomez.....we will be going back in 2020. Love the ambiance of the area. We sit on the beach during the day but love the street life at night!! Best Hotel ever to stay at. Not fancy...but the staff are so incredible!!! From check in to towels to ladies who clean the rooms, to recreation..the staff are the BEST. The food is good, but the servers are awesome. Friends for life❣❣❣❣❣

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Fatangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

Stayed at San Marino for 7 days.

Tip # 1. Get Uber from airport to hotel. Cost $10 which was super cheap!

Hotel positives:

- Friendly staff.
- We were lucky and got a renovated room on the 8th floor with partial sea view. Super happy about this as we were aware about the older rooms. Renovated room is very nice and welcoming.
- Nice Beach. Just ashame that the locals leave their trash everywhere and don't pick it up.
- Awesome central location and walkable to everything.
- Buffet on site although fairly limited we ate there quite a bit.
- Average drink offerings but it was free so no complaints.

Negatives:

- The first day we arrived we wanted to use the advertised free kayaks. We were however given the usual excuses that the activity person was not on site and for two days they never were present and there were zero activities at the hotel. I confronted management about it and the next day until the day we left, there were kayak tours and other activities. If you cannot find them, put up a fight to get it although this is something we should not have had to do!

- The hotel is under renovations and as such there is noise associated with it.

- We rearely had any hot water for the first few days of our vacation. A letter was delivered mid way advising guests that the water tanks were being worked on and since that day, hot water was available. Hopefully this has not been rectified.

- If you sit on the beach, be prepared for constant nagging from people trying to sell you stuff. It's not the hotel's fault but it really got to a point where you just have to ignore them and dont even acknowledge.

- On the weekend the hotel was overtaken by Mexican families with kids running around everywhere. If you don't want kids, do not stay here. It was noisy as hell and made for a very disruptive couple of days until they all left.

- Beds were super hard but not too bad once you get use to them.

Overall our stay was good. The hotel is very average and as long as you know that going in, you should be fine. If you are use to the pampering of an all inclusive resort then you will be dissapointed. It you are looking to explore and just need somewhere to stay with some added extras then this will work.

One more tip: If you want to feed the stray cats, go buy cat food at the local convenience stores.

* There is a very small cat that appears extremely underfed directly East of the hotel across the intersection, past a bar called Anonimo and up the hill. In a parking space next to an apartment building and past the video bar. Go find him and give him some food. Super friendly but we only saw him out at night when it was less busy.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ifrit1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

We stayed at the San Marino March 6-13th, and it was so great!! Don't let the bad reviews deter you - we upgraded at arrival to a junior suite ocean view and it was so lovely -(we were able to see the room we would have had )the ocean view room is a must! It was dollars more per day for the better room and worth the view!! The balcony is larger, view incredible, , and the chairs are better than in the regular rooms ( mesh not plastic); the room was also a bit larger which I liked.
The best part about this hotel is the staff and the location- you are right on the ocean and right on the malecon and really get to experience authentic Puerto Vallarta- right in the heart of so many incredible restaurants and shops, it would take months to take them all in! . You could stay by the Marina and have an all inclusive experience and never leave the hotel and never experience all the amazing that is PV!!! Stay here instead!!!
Pedro the bellhop was so friendly and helped us with our cabs and our bags and any questions we had. Our maid Sylvia was also so friendly and happy, we tipped daily and always had fresh water and fresh towels and toiletries , and our room was thoroughly cleaned and fresh always. The beds were not soft but we asked for the toppers and that helped, the pillows were great and I was so exhausted I slept fine, and watched the sunrise every morning from our balcony while reading my book - and there is coffee in the lobby if you want it!
There are 2 pool areas , one for kids and one for adults - I was without my kids so I loved the adult pool , it was quiet , very clean and clear, and adjacent to the ocean and had beautiful breezes and perfect sun all day long - it's also right beside the lunch area, and the bar there opens at 1230 , literally steps to get your drinks! The regular bar that's adjacent to the family area is open 11-7, and Edgar at that bar is always smiling and will make you any drink your heart desires! Drinks were full of ice and yummy ( once I figured out what I liked ) and the beer very cold. The drinks are small but you can have 2 per person so we always just doubled up.
The food was buffet style , so always steamed veggies and rice, meat, salads, dessert. The breakfasts had make your own omelette with your choice of toppings and so many other things to choose - endless coffee and orange juice and you could eat outside along the ocean which was awesome. It was very typical Buffet food and fine , with lots of choices and repetition which is expected, and there was also a snack bar when the buffet was closed between meals. We were all inclusive but for the price we paid we went out most nights for amazing dinners and to the little bars that are on every corner!
The elevators were small but quick and we never waited long - overall a great experience.
If you are looking for extreme luxury and a fancy , quiet stay this is not the place for you - but if you are an easy traveler on a budget who loves to get a great deal for the money, this is your place. Walking distance to see so much beauty, you get to see it all. This place is the best location you could imagine and the staff are truly wonderful with lots of heart- I will be back to the San Marino, no question!!

Room tip: We were in 404 , and we were far left of the taller building overlooking the adult pool and the ocean
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamarastokes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

The hotel is in a great location and beachfront. The rooms are ok, ours needed a makeover especially in the bathroom. The food is ok, but we ate out a lot as there are great restaurants in the area. The hotel caters mostly to mexicans so you do get the feeling you are in Mexico. It has an adults only pool which is really great after a day at the beach. Would definitly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank KM66027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

The hotel is undergoing some much needed renovations, and this a plus because the location is excellent.
The only rooms I would get are the Junior suites which face the beach and are double the size of the regular units. The food is give and take, but its all included. Drinks are average, but sticking with beer ensures you're not going to have issues later.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Clafton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews