We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleside, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

If you try to compare the Hacienda Hotel and Spa with business class hotels like Sheraton and Hilton, you are certainly going to find a lot of shortfalls. But as a budget holiday location, its certainly a great spot to stay.
The things we most enjoyed or found most helpful included;
a) Staff - tremendously helpful, pleasant, polite, and kind, without being patronizing. Hilton COULD learn a lesson here. Waiters and bartenders were attentive and rarely kept you waiting long. My after-dinner brandies at the bar always came in a glass snifter, not the plastic stuff used by the pool. Alphonso always ensured we had a table at La Troje, the Mexican restaurant beside the pool, and it never required a tip to get one, just a smile. The lady at the Concierge was most helpful in arranging tours.
b) Location: its close to the airport, the marina (for water tours), the Wal-mart (for anything you forgot), a large grocery store and pharmacy, and the bus stop is just 2 minutes down the street. The ride down to the Malecon is only 10-15 minutes with lots of sights on the way, and cheap at 6.5 pesos.
c) Security and Peace and Quiet: I appreciated the in-room safe. The street noise is non-almost non-existent once inside. The hotel security discreetly made their presence known on the weekends when the younger crowd arrived en masse.
d) Decor and facilities: wonderfully quaint Mexican decor with a beautiful lobby, plenty of little alcoves, and a spacious bedroom. Nice firm bed. Lots of hot water. The pool was kept very clean ( i saw them treat it at least twice during the day and they do it again in the evening.
e) Food - Probably not to everyone's liking but we found it quite acceptable. The breakfast was always great with the cooks there to prepare whatever you wanted, and how you wanted it. The buffet was a little bland at times but always with a lot of choices. A bit more choice of fruit would have been appreciated. We ate at la Trope three times and the meals were exceptional.
Some improvements possible:
a) Add a second waiter at La Trope. Alphonso did his best but when it was full, it was more than one could handle.
b) A little more variety in the fruit for breakfast.
c) Some more authentic Mexican cuisine at the buffet. Something a bit more piquante.
d) Crank up the heat in the spa. It didn't seem hot enough to me to avoid health issues.

Other;
a. used the beach club on two days. Very close and staff were very attentive, coming out on to the beach to provide drink refills. The vendors on the beach are polite and never pushy. The beach is kept very clean.
b. The card system for the towels was a bit of a pain. We were always nervous about forgetting one behind and paying the rather outrageous price.
c. The bartenders kept on serving some youths you were obviously already drunk. However, the hotel did ensure that the noise abated at a reasonable hour. Our room was close to the pool and we were never kept awake by the noise.
d. Loved the iguanas in the yard.

If you want a quiet reasonably priced hotel, where you will be treated warmly, you can hardly go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    663
    251
    87
    81
See reviews for
601
662
81
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We just arrived back from a week at the Hacienda and I'm very glad we picked this as our resort for our first trip to Mexico. Now keep in mind that this is no 5 star hotel, it's a small, quaint and very Mexican place with great service and a nice "feel". To start with, the hotel is located right on a very busy street, but I swear that once you enter the front door, you dont even notice the traffic. The plus side of being on a major street is that you are right next door to one of the cleanest and well stocked supermarkets I have seen. Also next to an OXXO (like a 7-11) and a few minute walk away from the Marina, Walmart, a very nice mall and Starbucks. It's a very central location.

The rooms stay true to the Mexican feel. They are basic with lots of tile, but they keep them clean. Our room had a bit of a moldy smell in the closet, but I'm sure with that kind of humidty it can't be helped. I must admit that the beds are a bit hard, so by our last day, I was ready to get back to my own bed.

Food was good and I never got tired of it. Remember, this is an all-inclusive and given the price you pay, you shouldnt expect lobster. We ate every mean at the buffets and enjoyed them all. One day the staff spent countless hours decorating the pool/restaurant area for a Mexican Fiesta. They had great food and entertainment. It was absolutely marvelous. We became good friends with Jose , Juan and Salvador. They were all great guys who provided awesome service. Don't forget that their daily wage is what our minimum hourly wage is, so a 20 Peso tip (about 2 bucks) goes a long way for some fabulous service.

Front desk staff was awesome and was helpful with money exchange or just directions. There are a couple of "time share" people who sit at the concierge desk. Just say you are not interested and you wont be bothered.

You can take a shuttle to the beach club (the resort is not ocean front) , or walk for about 2.5 minutes. Part of the walk is down a back alley that's not the cleanest you'll find, but it's only for a few seconds. The beach club was nice. We never had a problem finding chairs and being able to walk up to the bar and order drinks and food was great. Be aware that you are located right next to the area where the beach vendors tend to conglomerate. You will get pestered by them, but just say "No thank you". We found that after a day, they seemed to bother us less. We actually did end up buying some stuff off of them.

If you are looking for a 5 star " western" feel, then this isn't your place. If you want a quality "value" resort, than pick this place

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Binary_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton, quebec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

pool unsafe & dirty. I got a UTI then a yeast infection. Seems like everyone urinates in

the pool. Food was discusting, except for the breakfast, it was edible. It wa s our third
time at the Hacenda, the first time was February 2009 and we loved everytingabout it.
February 2010 the place had gone down hill but was acceptable. This year was a
disaster we had the all inclusive and ate dinner there 4 times out of 14. It clearly needs
new owners & management.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skitSutton_Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Before I say anything...visit the Spa in this resort! It is hands down the best I have been to in the world! So beautiful and quiet and the couples massage we had was the BEST moment of the trip. I came out in tears, these people care so much...Thank you Kia!!!

My husband and I booked this trip 6 days before we left. We desperately needed a break from the bitter winter of this year and this Hotel was great. The location was definitely the best part! Literally 10 min from the airport, we were the 1st ones of the bus and easily enjoying our drinks before anyone else even arrived at their destination. The lobby/entrance of the hotel is very quaint. Like a little mexican town all to your self. Lots of little cubbies and coves to site in or relax by the beautiful fountain. Front desk staff was efficient and informative. If you go, I recommend asking the front desk any questions you might have, as the concierge will help you, but then they take up your time trying to get you to visit sister up and coming resorts.

There was one buffet restaurant and 2 ala carte. On Friday nights is Fiesta night and by far the most fun with the best food. We did go to the "international" restaurant one night. The food was moderate and there was only one guy serving. Not the warmest service. We asked to make reservation at the "mexican" ala carte, but the restaurant manager subtly ingored the request because he couldn't be bothered getting us a reservation and told us "tonight is seafood at the buffet, go there". That was VERY disappointing as we had heard that the mexican restaurant was the best. None the less, Jose let us down, we think due to the fact that we were the younger couple of the crowd and I don't think he believed that we were celebrating our 15 yr wedding anniversary.

Jose aside, the rest of the service staff was great! Salvador, the bar tender has an infinite smile and never lets you be with a beverage. Efren and Diego were the best in the restaurant.

This great plave has a wonderful, clean pool AND its own private beach area just one block behind the resort. Definitely worth the 2 min walk. The snacks down at the beach were dandy.

As far as excursions...we have considered doing the pirate night in many other destination and finally decided to do it here. They have one night that is Canadian night and the humor and effort that these guys and girls put into it was unreal. My face hurt from laughing and the dinner was outstanding! It launched from the marina just one block to the right of us. Do it! Ayrrrrrrrrrr!

Wonderful value and would go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaRicacrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is a small hotel that is a 6 dollar taxi ride to old Pto V. We loved this hotel and wanted to stay another week but travel plans did not allow it. The staff are awesome, the pool is clean and heated, There was always something to eat for everyone. I noted that this hotel has many features if you have a difficult time with mobility, there are ramps everywhere. Wi-Fi worked everywhere in the hotel even in your room. Can wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast, b.c.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

As all inclusives go, this is a small, friendly but not fancy place. If you're looking for a clean place to stay with great staff, but are using it to explore the surrounding area, the Hacienda is great. If you're looking to just stay on site for the entire time, this probably doesn't have enough to keep you.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st-jean-sur-richelieu
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The air conditioning was not working and the rooms had bed bugs.
I had to change room without any offered assistance.
The location was on a very busy street (8 lanes to cross).
Not enough security around the pool.
Two little girls almost could have drowned.
The working personel was very nice except for a man at the counter (a man around
40 years old).
Food was OK.
The beach was nice but the water was rough.
No crime. Safe for tourists.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,556 reviews
3.4 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
537 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#43 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#61 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive

Property: Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Address: Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48310, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique charm of a real Mexican Hacienda surronded by beautiful gardens, traditional decor and perfect facilities for an unforgetable vacation. Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm represents a poignant aspect of Mexican culture and tradition and is strategically located at the center of the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone. We are located just 10 min. from the International Airport , the Bus Station, Convention Center and Downtown area. We are the perfect choice whether you want to relax and enjoy our facilities and beach club or enjoy everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Hotel And Spa
Hacienda Hotel Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing