We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Bonaventura Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Ranked #28 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2007

We have been coming to Puerto Vallarta since Jan 2000 we love PV and have been there 12 times since, we are coming again in March 2007 and are staying at the Bonaventura, my brother lives in PV but we love the hotel and staff so much, we stay there and see him daily gives him a home away from home. This is our 2nd time staying there and we can't wait, we feel it is the best hotel in PV close to all amenties.
Mike and Brenda Field

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank LOVITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 2,694 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Buenaventura. There was a bit of an issue with the rooms we had requested, but we didn’t let that stop us from enjoying our vacation.

Location/All Inclusive: We hardly ever took a taxi any where, everything is so close! With being so close to the Malecon you could easily get away with not spending the money on the all inclusive and go out and sample the many restaurants that PV has to offer. As for the vacationers that like the drinks included, there is another option if you don’t go all inclusive. The super market within 2 or 3 blocks has better brands of alcohols for low prices; you could mix your own drinks at the resort. Through our travel agent we paid $20 per person a day for all inclusive so we thought it was worth it.

Rooms: The hotel is clean, and we found the beds to be ok to sleep on. We got a street view room, with no balcony, but we learned to live with it. Only shower’s no bathtubs, our phone didn’t have a very good connection and the double beds felt small considering we are used to a queen.

Tipping/Service: We found that we got better service when we tipped our staff. On average we tipped our maid and waiters $2 a service. The service around the pool side was appreciated! They brought us drinks and food while we lay in the sun being lazy. We never had problems finding chairs around the pool.

Food: Some of the food at the buffet was a little too greasy and left us with uneasy stomachs. I found that during our second week the food was better than the first week. We enjoyed the Beach club food, the al carte by the ocean. BBQ chicken was really good there. I also recommend booking in at the sister hotel for the al carte. The food was great and the presentation wonderful.

Vistors: We had some friends that came to visit us for a day and they paid $35 for the day and were able to spend the day like an all inclusive guest.

Extra’s: I liked the fact that this hotel has two areas’ that are 18 and older. The extra amenities at this hotel, like weight room, massages, internet, etc. should be priced better. I found them all to be higher at the hotel than in PV. It was great having a hot tub, as some of the days were a bit cooler.

Staff: Pedro was our night security guard while we where there, and we appreciated our night visits with him. The entertainment team could improve; they seemed to be running out of steam.

Overall this hotel was a good experience. We made some new friends and enjoyed the atmosphere that the guests & staff created at the Buenaventura.

Stayed: January 2007
8  Thank mamawana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2007

My wife and I just returned from the buenaventura and we had a good time. It is a little strange that 95% of the guests are Canadian. The women in the buffet line think they are playing hockey for food instead of waiting their turn. The beach is nice if you wake up at 8 and reserve a spot, otherwise you are out of luck. However, as the day wears on and the all inclusive watered down drinks reach up to about 10 and you finally start to get a buzz, it is fun. You can even join a water aerobics class every morning to work off the previous nights drinking. Good location, needs to offer another option for beer instead of sol. Special thanks to tequilla man Gus. Thanks Buenaventura

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank gustequilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We have visited the hotel many many times and we go back over and over. The staff is like family, when visiting look for Pedro, the Bell Boy, ask to be seated with Mario at the restaurants. The hotel is under going renovations, the rooms are completely different from our visit last year. Ask to be upgraded to the Honeymooners Suites,even if you have to pay extra... The mexican dinner at the pool was great, the food there always is...
We have made many many friends over the years and we try to go at the same time. To make the story short, Buenaventura is marvelous and has the best location in town. Go to the dolphin encounter you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Portland68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

The reviews are right....This is a great resort. The food is good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The guests (which most are Western Canadians) are very friendly. Our room was basic but perfect. The beach is fine but rocky in areas. There are boutiques/stores all around plus it takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the Boardwalk (Malecon). Only negative I can say is the lack of entertainement. We had just the one show at night in a week. The average age of guests here was 40 and over so if you're young and single it's probably not your spot. Try the Getaway. Friends stayed there and they said it's fun and the food is fine. I definitely recommend the Buenaventura but I would personnaly hesitate to go back because of its' lack of entertainment. The rest is "super".

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

This resort is just wonderful. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation for my girlfriend and I. There are many things that made the Buenaventura a wonderful stay, but we'll start out by saying, location...location...location!! You will be steps away from the Malecon, and fabulous nightlife and shopping. The malecon is the main drag in downtown Puerto Vallarta that runs along the ocean, and is filled with shopping, restaurants, and activities. (stay away from the time share guys, they're everywhere) The Buenaventura is the closest all-inclusive resort to the Malecon. Every other resort, said people we talked to all week, have to take a cab which is about 20 bucks one way just to go out and do stuff. Very inconvenient as far as your time is concerned! Not here! You then disappear back into the resort and have the quiet of the ocean and delicious food and great service!! The food at the buffet was stupendous, with fresh fresh fresh for all meals. Make sure you book at the sister hotel next door in their restaurant for a beautiful candle lit dinner that is included but they don't tell you some of the time! The service that people rave about is true. My girl and I were sitting by the pool, eating shrimp cocktails, drinking margaritas, as the staff brought them to us!!! That's right, poolside service.....reallllly nice. For their benefit, have some pesos or dollar bills, and you'll get great service either way, but show them some love, it's a poor country. We also recommend doing the one time dinner for 2 in the private gazebo above the buffet restaurant. It's 15 dollars per person, but is one of the nicest experiences I've ever had with food! Watch the sunset and you have your own private waiter in your own private gazebo. So, what we wanted we got: great food, great service, clean rooms, nice people! Rooms a little older, but it's an older hotel. Do yourself a favor and book there, and you won't regret it!

Stayed: May 2006
10  Thank jstem33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

7 of us stayed there from 12-19 Jan 07 on an all inclusive, and we loved every minute of it. The hotel is clean and well cared for. The food was plentiful and scrumptious. The property is beautiful and 10 minutes walking distance to town. The staff were amazing. Never once did we see them do anything other than smile and immediately attend to your needs. We picked this holiday mainly on the price...and the pictures of the property from the web. We were not dissapointed. To those who have complained about this hotel in forums such as these...if you want a $5000 holiday, pay $5000 for it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Weejimsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
846 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,952 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $167 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unequalled all-inclusive resort experience at the best location in Puerto Vallarta. Beach, sunshine, tropical setting, vibrant spaces with color and joy, we provide everything you're looking for. A breath-taking place to relax and enjoy a fun-filled getaway. Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments invites you to enjoy its all-inclusive program with its excellent cuisine, as well as numerous activities suitable for the entire family. Our 234 rooms and suites include all of the comforts and amenities you'll require for an unforgettable stay, regardless of the purpose of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing