We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Ranked #27 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lot of potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Pros:
Excellent location
Heated pools
Superior service at restaurants
Clean & nice rooms

Cons:
Poor food selection
Super hard bed & pillows
Bugs
Public pool bathrooms – filthy

I gave this resort only two stars, but it has the potential for 4-5 stars. If you are a regular all-inclusive vacation person, you will probably be disappointed in this resort. This resort is, simply put, a mini all-inclusive. The pools are smaller, the restaurants are smaller, the property is smaller, the entertainment stage smaller, etc, etc.
Pros:
The location of this resort could not be better. 3-4 short blocks from the center of town. In fact, to get to town, you walk thru a mini-town. Shopping, restaurants everywhere.
Heated pools, although small, were a delight. Pool area & water was kept clean & maintained.
Service at the buffet restaurant was exceptional, but we ended up making reservations at the other restaurants. We thought the fare was better than at the buffet. Breakfast was great.
Our room was nice, though the bathroom could use a little up-dating. Also, you can't control room temperature, only the front desk can. No ceiling fan.
Cons:
Sure could use a lot more selection in the buffet when it comes to dinner time. While the food was good, it lacked variety. Also, toooooo many times, food pans were empty, just left empty. It appeared that they filled the empty food pans on a schedule, instead of when they became low/empty. No excuse for this! We ate out for dinner at two very nice places, Pipi’s, in town, just ask anyone, and upstairs at Tino’s, just before you get to town.
Hard bed & pillows - I guess this is the norm……we have yet to experience, in any resort that we have visited, what we would consider normal comfort in the bed & pillows.
Bugs, it’s reasonable to see some bugs and such when on vacation, but this resort has got to be more diligent about policing the critters. Tiny, tiny ants in our bathroom. And what was more disturbing, the tiny ants were around the food, not the prepared food, but around the display of whole fresh fruit. Someone has got to see this and correct immediately. Also, a couple of ‘larger’ bugs were spotted scurrying around. And of course the birds, they are a nuisance for sure around the restaurants and food. The restaurants at this resort are not that large and it would seem plausible that a net of some sorts could be hung around the outside area of the restaurants to discourage the birds. To be fair, there was some ‘fishing line’ strung in parts of the restaurant(s) to help keep the birds out, but was still way too easy for the feathered friends to get in and land on the tables and such. At times, we had to get our food at different times, so one of us could stay at the table to prevent them from landing on our table.
A lot of attention is paid to the mopping of water around the pool, in fact, in my opinion, too much attention. At times a worker would actually follow you around after getting out of the pool, mopping up behind you. I think, some of this attention should be refocused to the nasty public pool restrooms.
I did not mention the beach, only because the red flag was out for 3-4 days, then the yellow flag for the rest of our stay. There seems to be a pollution problem when it rains in that area. The local officials release river water into the bay when it rains too much, effecting the availability/safety of the beach swimming.
This time of the year, it does rain most every day, but the rains are short and really did not effect our vacation.
Also, this time of the year, most resorts get a little crowded with the locals vacationing with their youngsters. Saturday thru Tue, fairly crowded, Wed, Thurs & Fri, a lot more of a relaxed atmosphere.
In summary, I believe 3 of the 4 cons could easily be corrected to make this an enjoyable vaca resort.

Room Tip: Request an 'inside' room. Hotel is shaped like a 'V'. Inside rooms all face the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Koz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Koz from Chicago, Illinois:

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to the Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa.

We really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel location, service and rooms. We have also taken note of the more critical feedback, as it is the food variety, the maintenance and cleanliness of the hotel facilities; corrective measures have been taken on this regard. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that you suffered.

We hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you back and make your next visit a pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    655
    303
    73
    52
See reviews for
529
611
62
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,566 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

From the beginning this hotel staff bad lost our reservation, this was frustrating and just an obvious substandard property and this was all everything en toto I mean the food the rooms. the bugs in the room the smell like that of dirty sweaty athletic socks that reeks through the whole place I mean just everything is substandard. Even if your expectations are low this is a place where standards are way below. There are too many great fun places to stay here. Do not spend time here. Move on
Nothing more good to say. Goodbye

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Journeyman644 from Astoria Oregon:

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review regarding your experience in our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations. We always take our guests' more critical feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and get their satisfaction.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Hotel is pretty but was very noisy with teenagers, If you are a couple this is not the hotel to go to, people making very loud noise in the middle of the night drunk, kids screaming in the hallway, the drinks are watered down, they charge for everything from making an in house call to get help, to weighing your luggage, My husband and I were celebrating our Anniversary, it wasn't what we thought it would be, The bed was very hard and the pillows were horrible it hurt my neck, we had to get a massage to feel better, we spend a lot of our time on tours, the food wasn't that great, it was just kids all over the place running wild, I would not go back to this hotel. I enjoyed Cancun instead, it was so much better,

Room Tip: All Ac units make noise Make sure you are getting the room you purchased rooms in the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear RLady from Wichita, Kansas:

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay in our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having covered your expectations.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay a pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went to BV with 3 girlfriends over the fourth of July weekend. Overall, it was a great value for the money (3 nights, 4 days, for about $244 a person, all inclusive). The rooms are clean and comfortable, although for a four-person room they only provided three towels and three bottles of water. We called a few times to ask about a room service menu, extra towels, and adjusting the air, but never got any assistance. There was also a LOT of noise in the hallway all night long as other guests returned from the bars and continued the party. The hotel did nothing about this, and it definitely interfered with sleeping between midnight and 6am.

The location is good- close to the Malecon (about 6 blocks, or a 15 minute walk along the beach, from the first sculpture) but not right on it, and not surrounded by clubs. The beach in front is pretty empty, unlike the area south of the Malecon where there are lots of hotels and restaurants serving on the sand and vendors selling activities.

We didn't take advantage of all the activities, but they seemed fun. The water aerobics might not give the best workout, but the participants were having a good time. The instructor and activities director obviously loves his job! Also available are kayaks. The website says something about cooking lessons, but that is something they probably do pretty rarely (it wasn't on the schedule while we were there). The kids club looks great too- lots of stuff for kids to do.

The pools are clean, and there are plenty of chairs around the pool as well as on the beach.

The spa is excellent. We all got massages- 350 pesos for 1 hour- and they were well worth the money. Very relaxing, in a beautiful setting, and good pressure. The spa is upstairs from the pool, but you don't really notice the pool noise at all. There is also a hot tub up there which allows for two people at a time, max 30 minutes. It is pretty large, but I think they want to keep the noise to a minimum for guests receiving treatments. It also has a great view of Nuevo Vallarta and the beach.

The food in the buffet restaurant is so-so. There is an omelet chef during breakfast who will make whatever you like, and other items include (they were the same every day we were there, so I assume it's standard) chilaquiles, scrambled eggs, grilled peppers with onions and sausage, chopped up hot dogs with onions etc, breads, pancakes, french toast, cereal, and fruit (although it was covered in flies). We only went one time for dinner and it was Asian night- pretty horrible. Lots of cold rice and fried things.

The food in the beach front restaurant is mostly fantastic, especially at dinner. At lunch, the aquachile and fish tacos are excellent. At dinner (food included in all-inclusive, bottles of wine is not), options include stuffed fish, grilled fish, various kinds of chicken, arranchera steak, and chiopotle honey ribs (all delicious). The appetizers (ahi, mussels, cheese, mushrooms) are good, as are the salads. The desserts (chocolate 'tower', creme brule, or cheesecake) all leave much to be desired. NOTE: They say you need a dinner reservation, and they do 'book up' early, but we walked down to the restaurant one night and were able to be seated without a reservation- it was likely due to no-shows because of rain, but it's worth a shot if you haven't made a reservation.

During the day for lunch there is also an option of burgers or hot dogs on the beach. They're not bad, and good in a pinch, if you don't want to leave the beach.

The drinks are ok- pretty typical of an all-inclusive resort with everything being watered down and made with mixes. The included wine is pretty horrible (red, white, and champagne).


Pros:
- Food at the beach-front restaurant
- Price
- Location

Cons
- It seems to attract college students/young (teens to early 20s) travelers who like to party until the wee hours of the morning... often in the hallways!
- Quality of the drinks and buffet food

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. There is no extra charge! The other side looks out onto a busy street. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdtosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear sdtosr from San Diego, California:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. I assure you that we will work to improve the details you mention to make your experience better on your next stay.

Look forward to hosting you again soon!

Cordially,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sorry for the late review but i finally had a chance to sit down and write it.
I am a travel agent so customer service is a must for me. I have been staying at this resort off and on for 10 years and seen the changes all for the good. We last stayed here over halloween and prior to that in june for our honeymoon.
the minute you pull up the bellmen are there and remember you,even if you are new they are there with a smile and very helpful.
The concierge she is great with any assistance you need.
The resort is a smaller resort,but this is what gives it the ability to give you one on one service. The pool side waiters are amazing always remeber what you had the day before and your name.house keeping has always been great. I have stayed in oceanview with balconey and ocean front honeymoon suite with jacuzzi. The partial ocean view rooms are good all should have a balconey though so be aware if your room has one or not.The jacuzzi /honeymoon ocean front are great. Next time i would like to try the newer ocean front rooms on 4th floor their premium catgory.
Food- Breakfast is great many choices for all types
Lunch- Always something there too,good selection (I do miss the snack service that was available pool side but i hear a few guests ruined this as they left plates laying around everywhere) Dinner - Always good no matter which choice you made to eat at.
Romantic dinner in the tower for 2 is an extra charge but worth it you can also do it on the beach.
Please dont hesitate to go the service is by far the best.
Please remember to tip for good service

Room Tip: Best rooms are with balconey and or ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerri n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear kerri n from Calgary, Canada:

Please receive my best regards and let me take the opportunity to thank you for the generous feedback. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed another visit to our Hotel; as you kindly mentioned, our constant effort is to provide our guests with the best service and highest level of comfort. I have shared your review with all my staff, who are the ones that really make the difference. We will keep up with the good work!

Look forward to hosting you again soon in your home away from home!

Truly yours,

Ronald Vega C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

-The look
It was gorgeous!!! My husband, son, and I got an ocean view room and I called about a month in advance and asked for a room with a balcony, which we also had. The room was clean and fairly spacious. The pictures on their website do not really do the ocean access this hotel has justice. It is right on the beach and the beach at this hotel is beautiful! The pools are all great. The restaurants were also very nice.
-The staff
The staff really went out of their way to make our vacation great! From the time we checked in, I could tell they were going to be great! They were always friendly and accommodating. If you only speak English, do not be afraid! Almost everyone at this hotel speaks great English.
-Unorganized
Okay, we had a great vacation at this hotel, but these are the only complaints I have:
The kids' club is not very organized. We are not the kind of parents to want "babysitting" on vacation. We love him to experience everything, if not more than we do. Well, we looked at the activity calendars for the kids' club when we arrived and I let my son pick 2 (1 hour) activities a day he wanted to do. He picked "decorating masks" one day as the activity he wanted to do and when we went to the club, there was nobody to be found. It took 30 minutes of another hotel worker looking for her to discover she wasn't there. Finally, he did the activity with our son and he was great. I was very thankful for his help, but we felt bad because it wasn't his job. Another thing that was a little unorganized was their restaurants. One night, we made reservations at Rodisso and found that it wasn't inside where it said it was, but it was outside... We got sent here and there before discovering it was where the Sunset restaurant should be. Rodisso was great once we found it. Another night, I called to make reservations at Sunset Restaurant and they said that they were just having the Rodisso menu, so we went and did that again. It was great, but it was the same thing we had a few days before that. We never did get to try the Sunset Restaurant.
Overall, it was a great experience and I would stay here again because the staff were always willing to go out of their way to make things better for us. Thank you Buenaventura for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breannj1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear breannj1988 from Hot Springs, Arkansas:

I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay in the Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your nice comments of the facilities and service, as well as your remark in regard to the organization in our kids' club and restaurants.

Looking forward to your return!

Best regards,
Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had the most amazing time and Buena aventura, from playing beach volleyball every morning, having absolutely wonderful service all day and then a quick short walk to the malecon at night. This review brings up so many wonderful memories I could go on for hours. The most memorable part of our stay would be the staff, I feel though as we made friends rather than being just a job to them. Mauricio and Jorge provided us with the most fun I could have possibly had on vacation, doing activities with us and taking us to all the busiest clubs and taking wonderful care of 4 girls you could ever ask for.. Eduardo for never letting our drink go empty and such a wonderful smile on his face, and Omar for feeding us every night and doing so, so kindly and genuinely we couldn't help but love him! So many more we cannot name, would reccomend this place in a heart beat, clean, great atmosphere, great food. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgancooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Morgancooper:

Thank you very much for posting your comments on regard to your recent stay in our Hotel. I have shared your posting with the hotel staff and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time with us.

Look forward to hosting you again soon!

Cordially,
Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.2 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#36 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#60 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Valla...
#54 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique & Romant...
#12 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive

Property: Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unequalled all-inclusive resort experience at the best location in Puerto Vallarta. Beach, sunshine, tropical setting, vibrant spaces with color and joy, we provide everything you're looking for. A breath-taking place to relax and enjoy a fun-filled getaway. Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments invites you to enjoy its all-inclusive program with its excellent cuisine, as well as numerous activities suitable for the entire family. Our 234 rooms and suites include all of the comforts and amenities you'll require for an unforgettable stay, regardless of the purpose of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing