We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more for the spring-break crowd ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“more for the spring-break crowd ...”
Reviewed January 5, 2004

our first trip to a Mexican resort, and not overly impressed. just got back today. its a 3-star at best, not entirely what you see in the brochures. I'd agree w/ the reviews about location, b/c it is close to the Malecon (boardwalk) ... close being 8 blocks, but walk-able. so its great if you're a shopper .. I'm not. anyway, service was good, staff fairly attentive. food quality was good, but not much selection. the beach was too rocky. I expect a nice beach for even a 3-star. we walked around and checked out a couple other hotels (Krystal and Fiesta Americana .. much nicer grounds, beaches, pools) but quieter. the BV had a guy in the pool area playing music and kinda sorta directing activities each day. the cheapo party atmosphere was OK for a few days, but did get old. and being located downtown you had to put up with all the tour vendors ... but that's Mexico.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
We thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    845
    373
    102
    69
See reviews for
799
866
90
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2004

This was my third to the BV. I will not return unless changes. And none are in the winds.

Yes, hotels still has great hot tub, and you can't beat the bar and game staff. But

Main focus is on Mexican users now!!! , And standard are not the same for US. Food is ok but get bad after 2 or 3 days.

Also, watch out for food handling and service. I got really sick. Watch out for the trainees - who don't know good hygenie.

Room are a pit. Along with mold and mildew in room and ac. Not worth the price.

Much better locations in PV.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
We thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 4, 2003

I stayed at the Buenaventura for 5 nights over Thanksgiving, and had a good stay. The place doesn't look that great from the street, but the lobby, restaurant and pool area are great. The beach area is OK, if your looking to spend all of your time on the beach you might want to consider a different place. The rooms are decent and clean, although a bit dated. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The restaurant buffet was very good, and room service was very reasonable. Breakfast for 2 delivered to the room cost around 12 dollars. The hotel caters mostly to families, and it seemed to be about half locals and half foreigners.
A few cautions, the room safe was loosely attached to the wall, and didn't look very secure. I used the safe at the front desk instead.
Also, make sure you get the room you paid for. I reserved a "superior room with jacuzzi". The first room we were taken to had no balcony and no jacuzzi, but when we complained we were moved to an ocean front room with balcony and jacuzzi. The rooms without a balcony looked a little depressing, so definitely make sure you reserve one with a balcony.
Also, when we checked in we were told we had to wear plastic wrist bands and keep them on for our entire stay. When I complained I was told you could keeo it with your room key instead of wear it on your wrist. Also, if you lose your room key, wrist band or towel card they charge you 50 dollars, so make sure you don't lose them! Overall, the Buenaventure is a good reasonably priced hotel. Keep in mind that is downtown, so it can be a bit noisy, but the location also makes it very convenient to restaurants, clubs, etc.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
We thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 15, 2003

We stay here for 2 reasons..its close and its clean. After 9 years we had to stay out in gringoville (nuevo vallarta) and so..here is the deal...gringoville is fancier..but not cleaner..its more exspensive..and its a 20.00 cab ride to anywhere (except walmart). Now that ive expeirnced both..the buenaventura is still my favorite place..by far. The staff, the bar (s) but more important than all...walking (stumbling) distance to all of the charm and passion of PV. Dont hesitate to stay here..unless you are a snob..then do gringoville..and spend your 5000.00 on a 1000.00 vacation.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
We thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2003

I must admit that after reading some of the reviews for the
Buenaventura on this site, I was nervous about the hotel.

But the hotel turned out to be great. We were fortunate enough to have
an ocean view room and the room was very clean. (Although we saw one
tiny cockroach on the third night.) The bathrooms are quite small, but
how much time do you really spend in there anyways. LOL!

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and seemed to take their jobs very seriously. The food was decent and there was a decent amount of variety. (We did the all-inclusive option). Also, there are plenty of bars open, so there wasn't a lot of over crowding when ordering drinks.

Also, most of the guests at the hotel were Mexican or spoke spanish. So
there are not a lot of Americans and the ones we did run into, seemed
to be fluent in spanish. There are a lot of locals that come for the
buffets and the pools, but that was okay since they were mostly
families.

The only complaint we had was with Puerto Vallarta, not the hotel. It
just seemed that there wasn't a lot to do or see downtown and we
expected PV to be much more sceenic. The beach was nice, but extremely
rocky. (Bring aqua shoes.) Although the water wasn't as blue as in the
Carribean, the temperate was perfect.

So the hotel is great if you are looking for a clean, economical place
to stay, but if you are used to staying at upscale hotels, I would try
somewhere else. :)

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
We thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
2.1 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive

Property: Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unequalled all-inclusive resort experience at the best location in Puerto Vallarta. Beach, sunshine, tropical setting, vibrant spaces with color and joy, we provide everything you're looking for. A breath-taking place to relax and enjoy a fun-filled getaway. Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments invites you to enjoy its all-inclusive program with its excellent cuisine, as well as numerous activities suitable for the entire family. Our 234 rooms and suites include all of the comforts and amenities you'll require for an unforgettable stay, regardless of the purpose of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing