We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
$331
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$179
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$255
$195
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
$299
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$139
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$307
$257
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Velas Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
$370
$286
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$449
$152
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,854)
Filter reviews
2,854 results
Traveler rating
1,294
948
407
121
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,294
948
407
121
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset restauranthoneymoon suiteshort walk to the maleconocean viewthe wait staffa la carte restaurantsmaller resortclose to downtownspring breakpool sideall inclusive packageflea marketnightly entertainmentlounge chairsall inclusive planbeach volleyballtime share
Filter
Updating list...
1,204 - 1,209 of 2,854 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

When we got there they could barely speak english. The hotel room was cramped and the bathroom was HORRIBLE!! I am a travel agent and I would not recommend this hotel to any of my clients. The food was not good, the drinks were watered down. The bed was extremely hard and maid service was nearly impossible to get. I read the reviews before booking this hotel and found the reviews of NO help once I arrived. I was VERY DISAPPOINTED and will never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikkita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Couples trip - European plan!
We were actually only in town for 2 days on our way to Sayulita, and decided to spend a quick visit at the Buenaventura. With the location right in town we knew we would be eating out lots, so we saved some bucks and went on the Euro plan!

Property:
The lobby is impressive with the sky high ceilings, and lofty airy feel. Very cool and breezy in this area, making it quite a welcoming spot to introduce you to the hotel.
We had two normal rooms side by side, on the top floor. (There is an elevator or stairs) Our particular balconies looked out onto the street, but does it really matter? Get down to the beach!
Rooms were decent and clean for the most part. Bathrooms could use some tile work and updating, but all in all, I wasn't complaining.
The pools were not overcrowded, nor were the beach chairs down in the sand.
The beach area is a good size, and should please everyone. (There will always be folks who complain about rocks, etc... its nature people...)

Food:
We did have the breakfast buffet one morning, and it was edible. Not good, not bad, but edible.
The few drinks we did consume there were delightful and enjoyable.

Location:
Perfect! You are right on a main road parallel to the ocean, so best to walk to your right coming out of the front of the hotel and do some exploring! There are tons of shops, restaurants, beach areas, etc to keep you busy!
If you walk to the left just a few steps, there is a wonderful restaurant called La Mison. I would recommend eating there to ANYONE staying in PV

Good things to know:
- The rooms facing the street can be a little noisy! If you are an early/light sleeper, maybe request another area.
- Hotel is of a good, intimate enough size that you can get to know the staff. Tip and be friendly!

I probably would not stay at this particular hotel for an entire week, but a few days was a nice stepping stone for other adventures. I found true value in what we paid, to what we got with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KashleeAndTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoyed our week stay at the Buenaventura..rooms were good size, very clean and no problem with room service. The main restaurant has a large buffet with quite a selection of items...the breakfast was very good..made to order omelettes or any kind of eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. we ate lunch at the beach front cafe..nice menu and we tried both the specialty restaurants and no complaints with either. All restaurants are open-air and offer lovely views of the pool/garden area and Banderas Bay....beautiful sunsets .Our only negative was the lack of umbrellas in the pool and beach area...all umbrellas have been saved by guests by 8:00 am.
The location of the hotel is perfect...10 minute walk to the Malecon which is a pedestrian only area and is a wonderful walking area along the waterfront.....many shops, restaurants and bars. The flea market is nearby as our wonderful local craft shops, coffee houses and sidewalk cafes.
People are very friendly and eager to assist. We travelled on the local bus(6.5 pesos) many times and they come every 5 minutes and stop several times..very convenient.

Room Tip: We booked late so our balcony room was not as close to the Bay...but for the amount of time spent in the room it was more than okay. Some rooms do not have balconies if that's a requirement...so make a request when booking.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petedianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Buenaventura from Feb 9 - 23, 2013. We chose the honeymoon suite to be sure we got a balcony. The room had a king size bed, a jacuzzi tub, a fridge and a balcony. The room was clean and nice, the bed was comfortable, however the pillows were terrible. The bar fridge was restocked daily with water, pop and beer. No issues with the room at all. The food, however was another story, very boring in the buffet, the a la carte was a nice change. We booked into the steak a la carte, what a joke. Do not waste your time for the "piece" of beef, chicken wing (yes only one) and the rest of the dinner. We ate out alot, never did try the room service. As for the outside, we never had trouble finding chairs at the beach, alittle harder around the pools. Weekends were much busier, alot of locals stay on weekends, no problem though, after all, we are the visitors to their country. The location is perfect, very close to downtown, we walked on the sidewalk and the beach and that had to be the best thing about this hotel. As for the alcohol, the beer gets old real fast, draft is not my favorite. The red wine was good, but one night in the buffet restaraunt, it was watered down, there is no doubt about that, could not believe it. Would we stay there again, I think we would, if for no other reason than the location. Oh ya, by the way, we used the gym at the sister hotel next door, at the Villa Premier, the Buenaventura told us it was $10 a day to use, but we went directly to the Premier and they let us use it for free. We did see when we left that the new gym equipment had arrived at the Buenaventura, so they should have their gym up and running very soon.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite guarantees you a balcony. No smoking in rooms, so if you smoke, it is best.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoblue_iis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed a week at Buenaventura in puerto vallarta, and was satisfied with the place. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the room was alright. Beds were hard, but seems the same anywhere else we stayed in mexico. The food was above average for all inclusive, always something good to eat. The breakfast was great. The beach is very nice, alot of room to sit by the ocean, and by the pools. The best was the location, only 10 min walk to the Malecon, which we did nearly every day. The waiters were very good, in the restraunt and poolside.The place was very clean, and seemed well kept. The weekends were quite busy and a little noisy. Would stay here again. The price was right.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor facing south, towards the malecon. partial ocean view. would have to pay extra for oceanview
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews