We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“management needs to pay attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Ranked #23 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“management needs to pay attention”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am returning this year to this hotel with some reservation.We are going back only because of the wonderful friends we have made there who are also repeat customers.
The hotel needs to be updated. the front desk needs to have training as to how to have friendly helpful staff. Always trouble with the rooms!
The drinks at the bar are low quality alcohol.So much so we bought our own and used it.So much for all incusive! Have told management in the past but they don't seem to care.
The food is okay. Have to book for the two restaurant and hope you do not get cancelled.
There are many hotels in area .Would think returning people would be valued .
Hope it is improved in the next few weeks or will not be back

Room Tip: Be ready to not get what you paid for. This is just part of the problem. Can be noisy with children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank crolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    845
    373
    102
    69
See reviews for
799
866
90
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked an ocean front- deluxe room with a request to king bed and that was done 3 months in advance and we called them as well before leaving home country to make sure our reservations are in line.. Our flight reached there early in morning at 9 am, so they made us wait because hotel policy requires check in at 3 PM.
After waiting for few hours we were given a room and when we go to room only to realize it is not an ocean front but a garbage area front, we immediately go back to reception and tell them that we paid extra $$ bucks to get a deluxe and ocean front room and this can't be our room..

Now, they made us wait until 3:30ish and then, they try to give us a room with two single beds and with a partial view to ocean in such a way that you have to hang out of balcony, may be do a bit of gymnastic moves and then , yes!! you get a glimpse of ocean :-((
By this time my husband 's patience ran out; after waiting for almost whole day and still, not getting the kinda room we paid for..At this time, receptionist tries to convince that she knows for a fact that all the rooms shown to us are ocean front and deluxe!!
we made a scene and finally told her to come with us and see for herself before making us wait for hours. We show her word by word it says in our reservation "ocean front deluxe room with a king bed"...finally by 4:30 we were given a room.

SO MUCH FOR A FAIL DEAL....AND SO MUCH FOR THEIR HOSPITALITY!!

and yes, room was a mediocre room. as per location, this hotel is close to downtown but still 20 mins walk. service through out the stay was average...hotel looks much outdated in reality than in pics on TripAdvisor.

They all inclusive is a joke, they had few kid's activities but nothing fancy. definitely not something for which you would like to stay inside the hotel all day. Food was okay, no great. a bit noisy till late night.

Highly tip oriented system. One time you are in pool and not carry wallet to save it from getting wet and you don't tip , next time service to your table/room will greatly suffer.

I am not staying here again and my advice- take your dollars elsewhere and stay in well known hotels than this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Make_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Most of the recent reviews have covered off the issues with this place. Mediocre food, beach towels or lack of, low quality drinks, room service food that is guaranteed to arrive ice cold and cashier without cash. The service staff try hard and go out of their way to accomodate their guests but one gets the feeling that the hotel management is the issue. They are mostly invisible as opposed to being on the floor,prowling the halls,pool,restaurants. It appears that they are more concerned with towel usage and bacon eaten than visitor satisfaction. The staff appears to be in total fear.
The pluses are the location(you can walk everywhere), a decent pool area and a New Years Eve gala that was off the hook. At best this is a 3 star property. It could be so much more.
I hope the owners pay attention.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reptilevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The main advantage to this hotel is it's location. It is situated very near to the Malecon and so for those liking a night life it is ideal. During our stay the hotel had about 80% Mexicans and lots of families. The ambiance is cozy - Mexican style, smaller hotel, palm trees and situated on the beach. The rooms were cleaned everyday and were well maintained. Every night there is some kind of entertainment provided and the New Year's Eve party in particular was very well organized. Internet only in the lobby and pool area (depending) :( Bar and dining staff were very courteous. Front staff was not consistently helpful or friendly. Not too happy with our room! We paid a high price for having a room with no patio on the ground floor. Light in the room did not work too well and the light switch broke on us. Tried to get a better room several times and were told the hotel was full :( There is no fitness centre by the way!

Room Tip: When reserving please ensure then that you get a room on the upper floor with an ocean view if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanthacanada1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Third annual trip here just prior to Christmas. Not the same. No welcome back drink, letter or chocolate covered strawberries or towel animals and flowers like we got last year. Every day another Mexican 'Spring Break' type bus pulled in. The hotel catered to them, reserving the pool, the beach area for various special events they hosted. On top of that they drank until they were stupid and kept us up partying in the hallway. The Westjet rep said that for some reason Canadian bookings were down our week so they had to fill it up. The old staff are still fantastic. The food was good too. The pool area has improved for families, new wading pool and kid's indoor play area. However the beach hut is now on the beach and is much larger which blocks the ocean view from the pool. We will give them one last chance next year but hope they are reading these reviews. The location is simply the best. Walk to everything, shopping, free street entertainment, markets, Starbucks you name it. But honestly without all the special touches they used to do, it has become very average.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EliannaRiverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days (departed January 5, 2013) of my life that I will never get back. I had low expectations before I checked in and they did their best to make it worse. My family and I stayed here with a large group of her family who live in Central Mexico. I have to admit that my wife's family enjoyed the place, but they have different expectations than I do. When we checked in, it was chaos. The suite I had asked for was not available. I actually blame that on the travel agent, not the hotel. After my wife chatting with the concierge in Spanish for an hour with no results, I had to blow a rod and they "upgraded" us to the VIP floor. What you say is the VIP floor? An upgraded hallway with key card access that has the hallway doors left open. Nothing else...... After the first day of crappy drinks, we notice the lobby bar had name brand liquors. We had to pay a daily fee for "select" services. This included better liquor and more menu options. Oops! When you ask for the "select" menu, you get blank stares..... After 2 failures asking for the menu, I had to light up the concierge who sold me the "select" option and the restaurant captain came scurrying over to verbally tell me the menu. He also gave us their best red wine which was still bad... Then they still made crappy drinks with better liquor. Wow... A couple of other comments... Nobody tells you that you have to make reservations for the dinner restaurants the day before or you are stuck the buffet.which is average and boring. So, you think you can relax by the pool and get away from it all? The problem is that they run out of towels by noon and don't get back in stock until 6 pm. Huh? In my room, there were no face towels, I ask the maid who says "5 minutes." I am still waiting as I check out 3 hours later. This hotel sucks for people who have any expectation of service. I would rather stay at a Super 8 on the interstate in Iowa during a snowstorm than ever come back to this property. You certainly get less than you pay for.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnMichaelsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was rated a 4, top should have been a 3. A little dated and run down, bathrooms did not work off main lobby, not enough locks for in room safes, and towels needed to be requested several times. Staff tried hard, but the facilities could not keep up. The room was clean, but the hallways were a mess with dirty dishes and garbage. Very noisy around pool, hallways and hotel, many children, not recommended for singles or couples without children. The food was average to poor, with not a lot of selection. The location is great, enables you to walk everywhere. With a little TLC and an upgrade on the food, this hotel might make a 4.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 29, 2016
Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,765 reviews
1.4 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
2.1 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive

Property: Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unequalled all-inclusive resort experience at the best location in Puerto Vallarta. Beach, sunshine, tropical setting, vibrant spaces with color and joy, we provide everything you're looking for. A breath-taking place to relax and enjoy a fun-filled getaway. Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments invites you to enjoy its all-inclusive program with its excellent cuisine, as well as numerous activities suitable for the entire family. Our 234 rooms and suites include all of the comforts and amenities you'll require for an unforgettable stay, regardless of the purpose of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing