We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for location, beach, view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel
Ranked #59 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best value for location, beach, view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2005

I just got back from a few days' stay at the Tropicana with my 9 year old daughter. We relocated from the Westin (in the Marina area), having grown tired of its remoteness, its $9 margaritas and its unswimmable beach. By contrast, the Tropicana is on the best swimming beach in PV. Most of the rooms have great direct views of the waves. The staff is friendly and helpful. Oddly the stretch of beach in front of the hotel is the least crowded along Playa de Los Muertos. We always got a nice palapa with chairs (along with reasonably priced food and drink service) and had a direct view of the water, unobstructed by a multitude of parasols, etc. as elsewhere along that beach. Having my daughter with me, I opted for the modern tower because I wanted two beds and a TV (the older room that was available had only a king size bed and no TV, but did offer a more spectacular direct sea view). The turtle pond in the lobby area delighted my daughter, and the pool was nice and big too, with hardly anyone ever using it (maybe it's more crowded in mid-winter). You can't beat the location, as all the neat restaurants, coffee spots and bars in the romantic zone are five minutes away, and the malecon is only a little bit farther. The room itself was basic but clean. The a/c unit was as loud as a European bus. I joked in Spanish to the porter that they should borrow one of the beds and refit it as a billiard table. I swear you could easily bounce a tennis ball off the mattress! (I'll admit the bed was one thing I missed from the Westin.) Still, with all the great things to do nearby, my daughter and I never had any trouble falling asleep, even on our cement mattresses. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    307
    121
    50
    45
See reviews for
95
253
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2005

We stayed at the Tropicana hotel for a week in March 2005 and we loved it. The meals were great and the room was always clean. The staff was the best. It was within walking distance of old PVR. I would deffinantly stay there again. Was a great price for the value.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2005

My nephew (14 yr) and I stayed at the Tropicana for a week in March/05, thanks to the information found in reviews like this one. Happily, the opinions of others that contributed to my choice, turned out to be valid. When we arrived, I immediately upgraded to a superior room in order to secure an ocean view. The room rate included cable tv which helped to occupy my nephew after a full day of activities when all I wanted to do was to be still. The beds and pillows were barely adequate but once we learned to sleep with the pounding of that amazing surf in our heads, we were fine. The location is the best part of staying at the Tropicana.... right on ocean, close to the Malecon, away from the resorts, and within a stones throw of the best shopping in town including markets and stalls. Despite the lovely marble foyer, the hotel has seen better days, however the staff were helpful and professional. The daily trek to the central safety deposit box was a drag but it offered an opportunity to interact with the staff which was always pleasant. I would choose a more isolated part of Mexico for my next visit, since I never have to shop again after discovering Safari Accents, a shop nearby, but I would recommend the Tropicana for the tourist who wants a clean, safe, and economical environment with the ocean, fabulous restaurants, and great shopping just yards away. One day, we took a local bus to a Nuevo Vallarta 'world class' shopping mall and found the same stuff for twice the price in a sterile, 'white' space. The experience was fun but the shopping was a bust.

Michele & Paul

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2005

Positives: This hotel is located in a gay-friendly area which was perfect for my lover and I.
We booked a superior room in the new tower with a king size bed and had a full ocean view. It was clean, very spacious and I loved the shower that could fit four comfortably! Oh, the water pressure was great
The water was safe to drink/brush teeth with. A large water container was located at end of hall on each floor and we were provided with a jug and drinking glasses.
The maid cleaned very well, mopped and changed the sheets every day. The hotel did not run out of towels, wash rags, etc.
I must rebutt what other reviews complained about. Yes, there was a cement bed base, but it did not affect the mattress. The mattress itself was about five inches thick and was just extremely firm.
The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous.
The safes in the front desk area were great to use for our valuables.
The hotel is located in an area where you will walk by many restaurants, stores, etc on your way to downtown; which was literally a short walk (10-15 minutes) away.
All clubs, restaurants, stores, etc. literally within walking distance - from 1 minute away to 15 minutes away.
You must try Le Bistrot restaurant, Kit Kat and Pipi's. Also the Cuban restuarant (forget the name) on the Malecon is a must do!
Negatives: None at all, except I'm not a beach person, so it must be spectacular for me to enjoy it. The beach was accessible to everyone - locals, dogs, vendors, etc - just too much for me. Not to mention the water was not clear and def not enough sand space to accomodate everyone!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank avidtraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at the Tropicana (March 7-14, 2005). We were lured to the Tropicana by reading the Reviews (thank you Trip Advisor). We truly enjoyed our stay and it was more than we expected. The service is very friendly and the staff is very accommodating.

We enjoyed the location as it was close to everything. Although we walked for miles looking for cetain restaurants, we definitely had a workout as the street sidewalks there are very narrow and even dangerous if you don't look where you are going. You almost have to walk with your head down as there are many obstacles you can bump into and lots of steps. This hotel is quiet so if you like to party you will have to go to the Hotel zone where there is more party action, bars, etc.

The rooms are average; the beach is fabulous and the grounds are beautiful and well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

Just returned from our second visit (Feb 25-Mar 4) and I'm sure we'll return for a third. Here's the score for this year:

Check-in: front desk seems more organized than before, and we arrived around 9pm.

Room: standard room #626 (oldest tower), full beach view, TV this time, with full cable! Couldn't figure out how to operate the ceiling fan, but didn't need it anyway. A/C worked but didn't need that either. There was no hot water one afternoon and yes, sometimes you had to flush the toilet 2-3 times. We had nice sheets and towels the first day, then we got threadbare towels, then we had ok ones after that. Then we had nice sheets and pilled pillowcases. But oy the mattresses! We took turns sleeping in the twin bed as it was better than the double, but by Day 4 we were fine.

Breakfast: was actually edible this time, piles of fresh fruit and fresh orange juice every morning. There was even decent coffee one day! Just don't expect them to always be ready for 8am as posted, particularly on a Monday.

Beach service: no problems with towels, there were always piles on hand, whether 11 am, 1pm, or 5pm. I do, however, despise the practise of 'saving' beach spots/chairs. I would watch people doing this before 8am and then not showing up until noon, and then only for a few hours. How selfish and rude! That was the reason we spent all our time down at the green chairs farther south.

As for the gay thing... Helloooo? Let's just say the staff are friendly, but some are 'friendlier' than others... However this is Mexico, and certain customs still apply to everyone, gay or straight. Public displays of overt affection/passion (aka necking) are reserved for the darker corners of parks and plazas in the evening. And yes the Tropicana no longer appears on the gay maps/guides, but there is a reason for this: in the 'off' summer season, Mexican families come to PV to escape the heat inland and stay at places like the Tropicana. This conforms with the fact that some 'gay' bars and clubs actually become 'straight'(er) in their programming during the summer. Everybody has to make a buck when the gringos go home. I can't fault the Tropicana for not wanting to be pigeonholed. Just one look around the restaurant at breakfast proves it is an extremely hospitable establishment, and I noted not one arched eyebrow during either of our stays there. Viva la Tropicana!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank arcturus46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

The location was perfect. Within walking distant of all restaurants and shops. Our room was located overlooking the beach so it was gorgeous but quite noisy from the waves. The beds were very uncomfortable. The staff were on the most part friendly. Overall it's a beautiful hotel. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ErinMBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#56 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Marino Hotel
San Marino Hotel
#81 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#37 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.6 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#69 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Property: Tropicana Hotel
Address: Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing