We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, calm place to stay in Puerto Vallarta” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel
Ranked #59 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice, calm place to stay in Puerto Vallarta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was my first trip to PV and I had a great time. Nice hotel, older in character but was clean and comfortable and had a very nice stay. The towels were nice and fluffy and the showers were awesome, with fantastic water pressure! The beds were on the firm side, as I like them and the rooms were always clean. Every room has a balcony, which is really nice just to sit and watch the ocean and the birds. They offer bottled water, for the pitcher in your room and nice, big blue beach towels for the pool or ocean. The beach front has nice chairs and service, you can have your margarita while sitting on the beach and get your dose of vitamin D at the same time! The only problem I had was you can only get internet in the lobby but who needs computer time when you are in paradise!?

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms are nice, especially if you like the sound of the surf outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    307
    121
    50
    45
See reviews for
95
253
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked a trip on Travelocity (flights hotel) in Puerto Vallarta, not by word of mouth, but only by looking at Hotel Tropicana's website. It looked decent but one is never sure until you arrive. Our stay was fantastic!!! The hotel was immaculate (interior and grounds), our view was phenomenal, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the price was right. The beach palapas were used extensively and the walk into town was so quick. Really a great place - we will be back. Thanks, Hotel Tropicana, for helping to make it a great trip! We plan to return!
Cathy and Bob from Medina, Minnesota

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Love this charming Mexican hotel. Costs are reasonable. Excellent and convenient location. You can literally walk to everything from your hotel. This is a very basic hotel. I have stayed here many times. It has always been very very clean. For me, that's a big deal. It is quite a bit older and is in need of updating so keep that in mind when considering this place. It has a pool and is connected to the public beach. The Emperador is next door and has all these same features but without a pool and much more small and quaint. I prefer the Tropicana when I am unable to stay at other places in Puerto Vallarta. The front desk is very helpful and has on site safe deposit boxes. They don't speak the best English so use your best Spanish. Even after all these years, they seem to appreciate my attempts at communicating entirely in Spanish. In the lobby area, there is a turtle pond with a fountain. There used to be a Canadian lady who cared for the newly hatched babies and other turtles there. I haven't seen her for a while. The fountain wasn't working and the water was green so I'm not sure what's happening now. Since I was only there for a week before leaving to my resort, I didn't hang around the hotel because I was out and about. They have a nice little breakfast and lunch spot on the property. You should check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the ocean or you may end up with a side room overlooking telephone poles wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We were saved by Tropicana Hotel when a Hotwire booking turned out to be a disaster. Normally we book a condo...but Tropicana provided us a fresh view and we would definitely stay there again...especially given the unbelievable savings!! Close to everything, right in the beach!! Highly recimmended

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank konrad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We read a lot of really good reviews of the Tropicana and based our decision to stay there on those reviews. We have stayed in a number of hotels and resorts in Puerto Vallarta, including the Villa del Palmar, the Rosita, the San Marino and we have checked out a number of others. In the Old Town area, this is our favourite and we will certainly stay there again. We totally agree with the recommendation to upgrade to the superior room , which for us was only $30.00 cdn per person for the week. We also decided pay a little extra to get breakfast included and it was
well worth it. The food was good and their was some variety. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. We found our room the be clean and the maid service was very good. The grounds of the hotel are very nice and the pool is better than good. The location right on the beach is wonderful. We like walking around a lot and there are plenty of great restaurants, bars, shops, etc. close by. Although the hotel is right on the edge of Old Town, it is a couple of blocks away from the "main drag" so it is quite quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very good! Older hotel,some rooms have been renovated,expect to add $20 per day to upgrade to a superior room if you want any kind of a good view! Ours was on 9th floor and was fantastic! Very clean we had breakfast included, it was OK. The location is so super good AMD not having to walk much to get to pool and beach is nice

Room Tip: Upgrade to higher floors or the other tower
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank french55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

First time staying downtown. Before at fiesta Americana and buenaventura. 100 times better than buenaventura. Still love fiesta...but location was the key.. we walked each day for meals..everything close. only problem..hotel had no white wine for 4 days. No one would help. We had to supply our own. Unacceptable in my opinion. Never saw management the 10 days we were there..sad..Front desk staff was wonderful..and my maid was superb.hotel was spotless..clean is important to me..will be back..

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#56 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Marino Hotel
San Marino Hotel
#81 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#37 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.6 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#69 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Property: Tropicana Hotel
Address: Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing