We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "Home Away from Home"”
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel
Ranked #58 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from a 17 day stay at the Trop, and well-pleased once again. Although our first night we were not in a beach front room (they were booked solid) Maricela promptly moved us beachfront as soon as a room was vacated. The staff are all like family, having stayed there dozens of times. Anna or Maricela will do their best when checking you in, and the beach security (Marcella) and the bellboys are all very welcoming. They continue to make nice improvements to the rooms, including flat screen TV's and split-unit AC's, which are considerably quieter than the window units in the Superior towers. The upper two floors have now been converted to suites if you need more space or cooking options. One big plus for us is the lack of noise, day and night. The hotel is beachfront, but is one block off of Olas Altas, which can be quite noisy at night due to Andale's popularity. The only minus I can think of is the lack of wifi in the rooms (you have to go to the lobby to login--free, of course). Now room safes in all the rooms, I think. I don't find the Superior rooms to be worth the extra price, unless you also want a view of the new pier from your room. Two pools finally finished, palapas packed each day…stake out your spot early or have the friendly staff set up an umbrella for you. I had never eaten in the restaurant on previous stays, but was semi-ambulatory part of the trip so we ate some meals there and found it to be satisfactory. The Amapas Mini Super (just across the street) is one of the better stocked little tiendas in Vallarta. They also have a deli and make great homemade guacamole and bolillo-style sandwiches as well as breakfasts…"para llevar". If you're not looking for five star, this is a great hotel choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zou2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 710 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

For 16 years friends, family and ourselves have been coming here.

The good:
Beautiful, constantly updated property and grounds. Nice pools - 2! Nice beachfront.
Non-stop redo's of the hotel and property. They are sensitive to being competitive.
Clean - spotless rooms.
Friendly restaurant staff and maids.
Good location.

The bad:
Soviet style front desk service.
Rooms are basic.
Hard beds.
Odd location of lighting. Not well set up.
No fridges in a lot of the rooms.
Getting the room you want or upgrading is a real feat.
Spotty reception for computer, etc.

Room Tip: Be very firm, in writing, long before you check in on what your expectations are for the room. Go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vancouver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We just got back today after a lovely week at the Tropicana. The best aspects of this hotel are: the location! the beach! the price! the quiet! We appreciated that it seemed to cater to a more subdued crowd....no groups of loud drunks. Nothing ruins my holiday faster than this. We were definitely one of the youngest straight couples and that was just fine with us.....we really liked the ambiance. I wish we had requested a superior room to begin with and recommend that no one settle for a standard room. Also the (included) breakfast was not great.....next time we'll eat out every morning. We plan to return....a much more enjoyable area than the hotel zone where we have always stayed before this vacation.

Room Tip: Book a superior room...don't assume you can upgrade as soon as you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBtravelandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

like before we had a great stay at the tropicana. We switched hotel because of severe noise at the other one and the front desk was fantastic and friendly and very helpful. The beach was not crowded with hotel guests it was crowded with other holidayers. We always found space to sit under the palapas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruth52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have been coming back to the Tropicana once or twice a year for a few years now. Always stay in the older tower facing the beach. Lovely clean room with comfy king size bed. The staff is awesome and the beach service rocks ! I don't think you can find a better location than on Los Muertos beach. Our favorite restaurants are just a short walk away.. Fusion, Café Bohemio.. our last visit was the first two weeks of November 2013 and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FSJKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews on this hotel by some, this hotel is super clean, very friendly staff and peaceful. You pay for what you get. The bathroom could use a little upgrade but for what it's purpose is for, you don't really need that much time I there. The beds are very comfortable. Enjoying the crashing of the waves on the beach nearby at night. Yes there is construction around during the day but really, deal with it. It's called progress. If you are looking for the super quiet and best, then pay the extra to get what you want. Again, you get what you pay for. Lots to do around the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Duane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We got a 4th floor superior room with a balcony overlooking the beach! The view was great and the sunsets were amazing! Also you can easily walk barefoot from your room to the beach or the pool, or sit under one of their thatched beach umbrellas.

Our room was basic, but clean and large. It had 2 double beds. It was great to sleep with the sliding door open and hear the sea. During the day the room stayed pretty cool. We only ran the AC once and it was a bit noisy, so if you don't come in winter you might consider that.

There was no noise from the beach, except for a bit of music in the middle of the day that wasn't loud or bothersome. The big high-tech discos are all farther north.

Wifi only in the lobby, but there it worked fine. Big shower. Storage space for luggage. The staff were generally nice. One of them directed us to a great restaurant. They wanted payment in advance when we first showed up without a reservation. After that they took a credit card imprint so we could pay later and get rid of our pesos. They make you wear a plastic wrist band so they know you are a guest when you use the pool or beach umbrellas.

Nothing decorative, "typical", or "Mexican" about it. White tile floors; white walls, beds were fine. We paid about 100 USD. If not for the balcony over the beach we wouldn't have been as excited about it, though it is nice to be right on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the beach on one of the sides of the hotel (not in the middle section wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeLikesBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marino Hotel
San Marino Hotel
#97 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
753 reviews
4.6 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#54 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,733 reviews
2.1 mi away
Costa Club Punta Arena
Costa Club Punta Arena
#72 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#33 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Address: Calle Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48370, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $61 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing