We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Affordable right on the Malecon!”
Review of Rosita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosita Hotel
Ranked #53 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Clive, IA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and Affordable right on the Malecon!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

When flight arrangements brought me to Puerto Vallarta a day earlier than the rest of my group, it gave me a chance to try the Hotel Rosita for one night. I had been to Puerto Vallarta twice before, and was always intrigued by this hotel at the north end of the Malecon. I loved my stay here! The room was clean and comfortable, the food and service were good, the location was fun and convenient, the pool area a delight, and the massage therapist who set up daily on a platform overlooking the pool was simply fabulous! I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: My room had a balcony overlooking the street, which I enjoyed. A light sleeper might notice some str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at Rosita Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service and all the staff was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    144
    70
    21
    15
See reviews for
78
113
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is an old classic Mexican hotel, and not really for the young and hip crowd. For the senior traveler it is a bargain and provides a clean, comfortable setting that is right at the northern end of the new Malecon. Very simple rooms, small but adequate. Staff is very nice and helpful. The free morning breakfast was minimal, but you could use the voucher to get half off the buffet breakfast area, and it was top notch. Would recommend this place for those who don't want the hectic pace of the 5 star hotels and are looking for a budget conscious place to stay while in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz_friendtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at Rosita Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service and all the staff was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

When you get out of the taxi you feel that Wonderful Mexican Welcome! Smiling Ricardo, Fernadp or Nemo, are right there helping with your bags. Elva, Rosella or whoever is at the beautiful polished wooden reception desk, make you feel like they have anxiously been awaiting your return. Old Mexican Charm, that's what the Rosita is all about. During your stay you meet new & returning guests and everyone seems to mingle. Jorge (attentive) & Luis (fun) and Hector are all efficient when mixing great cocktails during "Happy Hours Twofers"!! and or helping you mess up with your Spanish!! Even Uba (in housekeeping) tries to help me with Spanish.
Excellent meals are available; dine while overlooking the ocean; watching for whales or viewing a fabulous sunset. The rooms...all sizes, all descriptions, and prices...not that anyone spends time
in their rooms when you could be by the pool working on that great tan, walking the malecon (right at the front entrance) or rocking in one of the chairs in the lobby with a cool drink in your hand. The staff, the atmosphere, keep us coming back, like so many of the other regulars year after year.
Adaline & Harry

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at Rosita Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service and all the staff was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have been coming to Rosita Hotel since 1987 and have always had an excellent experience. The staff are friendly, the food is very good and the rooms and setting are wonderful. We have visited Rosita Hotel with my parents, daughter and boyfriend, also with our Canadian friends in October 2012, and many times just my husband and I. The view to watch the sunrise and sunset is spectacular. The security is excellent.

Room Tip: request ocean front with balcony and refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at Rosita Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest :
Thank you for your comments.
We are happy because you had a good time with us and all this information help us to still offer a best services.
We look forward to see you in a near future
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the oldest hotel in Puerto Vallarta. It has a great location just when the city´s "Malecon" starts. It is very cheap so there´s nothing luxury about it, but you will find it very pleasant to stay.
The breakfast could be better and the lockers are very small, so you won´t be able to put your notebook if you need, but the relation between price vs. quality is perfect!
Definitely I would choose it again. Wi-Fi worked really fast and the employees were very nice all the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoCarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at Rosita Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service, location and Wi-Fi was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hotel Rosita is an acceptable hotel with a few odd quirks. The first night, we stayed in a large and exceedingly bland room which had three beds and a terrace overlooking the beach. Because we were on the ground floor, it didn't seem wise to sleep with the terrace door open. Without the terrace door open, there were no windows in the sleeping area and no chance to hear the pound of the surf, which was a drawback to that room for us. In addition, the bathroom did not have a door on it, which made emerging from the shower awkward, since the mirror in front of the shower was also positioned so that one's reflection was clearly visible from the terrace door. You had to draw the drapes whenever you needed to rinse off or even just change if you wanted any privacy. The last night, we switched to a room on a higher floor which was smaller and cheaper but more attractive and better designed. The only drawback there was the noise from the street and what appeared to be the doorbell as well as church bells ringing at odd hours during the night.
The free breakfast was edible, but not inspiring. You had a choice between two dishes. By day two, I found myself ordering off the menu and enjoying the a la carte chilaquiles more than the free cold eggs with chorizo. The free breakfast coupon guests were relegated to the dining area farthest from the pool and without overhead lights on, for some reason, even though it was quite dark in the morning in our designated seating area.
Overall, the hotel was clean and the front desk staff members were pleasant. It was nice having a location in the quieter section of this touristy town. This hotel is totally fine, but I would probably look for something with more charm and practicality next time.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms on the higher floors had nicer views of the ocean and were more attractive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valika6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at Rosita Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments all this information we will help us to take care
about some change in our rooms.
We hope that we will have a new opportunity to host you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place is great. Right on the beach, restaurant, bar, close to everything, comfortable and clean. Will stay again! Try to get a room that faces away from the street. The church bells are really loud and are always going off.

Room Tip: try to get a room that faces the ocean. The street rooms are a bit loud because of the church bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manitobachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at Rosita Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest :
Thank you for your comments.
We are happy because you had a good time with us and all this information help us to still offer a best services.
We hope see you in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
El Pescador
El Pescador
#73 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#67 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#84 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosita Hotel

Property: Rosita Hotel
Address: Calle Paseo Diaz Ordaz No. 901, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosita Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosita Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Rosita Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing