We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
Ranked #18 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Mexico”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

If you're the type of person who want an all-inclusive resort, this may not be your first choice. But it is a charming place to stay with a fantastic location.

It's a little older, but the place is well maintained. it has the standard amenities, such as a pool, wifi, and air conditioning. The AC worked so well, that I got cold in the night. The beds were comfortable, and the courtyard areas were very nice. It's a great place for a romantic getaway.

Best of all, it's within walking distance to the Zona Romantica, to the beach, and to the boardwalk. The breakfast was good and inexpensive. The buses started one block away. If you love to walk and explore, save yourself the hassle and expense of getting a taxi.

And its a great value at $30-40 dollars a day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    319
    80
    21
    6
See reviews for
121
331
190
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

It's not the biggest, it's not the flashiest but it has the most amazing staff and the most comfortable rooms. Located not far from the Playa de Los Muertos, it is ideal if you are looking to relax on a beach. Rooms are absolutely spotless. All in all, a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank senorcordero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My daughter and I stayed At the Posada de Roger for 10 days at the end of June and the beginning of July. We had a wonderful time at this very clean, (thank you, Rosa), hotel. There is a beautiful courtyard with gorgeous colorful flowers and birds, a swimming pool, large screen TVs and blessed air conditioning. The location is 2 blocks from the beach and the staff is helpful and friendly, what more do you need? We ate breakfast every day next door at Freddy's Toucan Restaurant and every meal was delicious. We can't wait to return to Vallarta and we will absolutely stay at the Posada de Roger.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor in the back and there was minimal noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evavallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I love this hotel. There are no frills, just a nice hotel close to the beach, night clubs and great restaurants. The front desk is friendly, the rooms are clean. If you want an authentic style hotel for a very reasonable rate, look no further. P.S. the restaurant next door has great food.

Room Tip: rooms away from the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dinosaur205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just spent the 4th of july weekend at this hotel and it really wasn't what I expected. The price of the hotel was reasonable so of course I wasn't expecting all the bells and whistles. My first biggest complaint had to be the noise, which I should've read the reviews on. The bathroom windows are left open, and our room was on the first floor, I believe 108, and you could practically hear almost everything. The noise just echoes through your room which made it difficult to sleep in through the morning. I remember waking up to people talking in the courtyard every morning, which defeated the purpose having that r&r. My second biggest complaint were all the bites I got from the room and especially overnight which made me think that these rooms aren't very clean. It was overall an uncomfortable experience for me, I would hope they do something about the noise and the cleanliness/bugs in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed at the Posada De Roger for 12 nights at the end of May. Nice little place with a great location and friendly staff. My room was on the third floor, king bed, updated bath, and very clean! Location is perfect for wandering around old town, the malecon, and the beach. Unlike many other reviewers of the hotel, I found the restaurant to be not so good. On my first morning, I ordered an omelet (a safe choice for a first breakfast) and found it to be terrible. There is nothing worse than a burnt egg, so I never went back. I found a great place on the next block called the Pancake House that I wholeheartedly recommend for good food and great service. My only issue with the hotel itself is their check-in policy requiring three different deposits in pesos....which I didn't have and needed a quick trip to the ATM. You need a deposit to get the key and a/c and tv control (200 pesos), another 200 pesos for the safety deposit box, and then again, another 200 pesos for a beach towel. So basically you tie up 600 pesos for the length of your stay, and end up when you check out with a pocketful that you spend at the airport. It would be much easier for everyone if they would simply take a credit card imprint.

All in all, I would stay here again. The staff, price, and location are great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This charming colonial Mexican hotel has mastered location and service. The hotel is located in the old town/romantic area of Vallarta. The service from the employees was excellent, from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff. My room was considered a economy room with no window. This did not bother me at all, as I was out for most of the day and needed a place to shower and sleep. The room had a ceiling fan and a/c unit. Also my room (Room 106) was tucked away in the corner and relatively quite for the most part. The hotel had a decent pool area on the second floor with lounge chairs. The hotel is very secured, as you had to ring a door bell to enter/exit 24 hours a day. There were numerous restaurants all within a 5 to 10 minute walk from street vendors to fancy sit down ones. It would have been nice if there would have been hangars in the closet; however, for me it was not such a big deal as I had ironed my clothes when I packed. The hotel is connected to a awesome restaurant (Freddy Tucans) that served breakfast and lunch. The beach was less than a 5 minute walk and the main plaza, cathedral, and malecon aka boardwalk was less than a 10 minute walk. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a window in your room, definitely consider a economy room. All rooms are exte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeminiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#33 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#38 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Property: Hotel Posada de Roger
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing