We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
Ranked #17 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When on vacation, we remind ourselves to keep an open mind. Initial reactions usually moderate after a little time. This time too. So what was our initial 'shock?' The room was really small! That's all. It was clean, the AC worked great, the fridge worked, the shower had lots of hot water. It was just small. We got over it. Then the pool and deck area are small. We think Posada de Roger hired a really good photographer. We also think the pool is not normally crowded but we happened to be there on Easter weekend. It's busy. We worked with the situation and got over it.

What we really liked: The location is fantastic - close to the beach, the malecon, shopping, restaurants, little markets, buses. It's an interesting part of town. The building has character; the courtyard is a nice place to sit and read. It's well maintained and clean. Security is vigilant, attending the front gate constantly. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Finally, the rooms are reasonably priced. We could have spent a lot more and got more room and amenities, but then we would have missed the connection to the neighborhood. Overall, we're happy with our choice.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which we liked. Rooms on upper floors mean climbing the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocks_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 879 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been to Puerto Vallarta several times and have stayed at the larger hotels on the beach. On our last visit we had breakfast in this lovely restaurant which turns out to be in the Posada del Roger. From the street view, you cannot really tell what a lovely place is hidden inside. The hotel is 4+ floors high, rooms facing inside from a balcony and below the most lovely garden area. There is a pool on the second terrace, chairs on the roof top from which you can see almost 360. There is also a community kitchen, with up to date appliances should you choose to make your own meals and coffee. This is a lovely hidden jewel. Peaceful, very clean, with very attentive, hard working staff. The entrance has a locked gate. The restaurant on the street level has one of the best breakfasts and lunches in town. The rooms are not fancy, but nice and clean with working A/C and ceiling fan. You don't spend much time in your room as the surrounding areas are lovely to sit in and read. We particularly loved the mango tree growing in the centre, the lovely birds and parrot that sing away. You will waken to the sound of at least two roosters that live locally. A wonderful experience!
Barbara and Henri/Canada

Room Tip: Be conscious of noise levels. Once inside the Posada del Roger, you hear very little street sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraandHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our favorite place to stay before leaving MEXICO. Friendly, clean, comfortable place to stay and reasonably priced. Also, connected to and excellent MEXICAN restaurant, the Tucan! Outstanding for breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: Near the indoor pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfred Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know you had a great time staying with us
We look forward to seeing you at our property again.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed There In December for 2 weeks. Plan on going back again. Clean, comfortable & affordable. They have a pool!! Fairly quiet and only a few blocks from the beach. There are hundreds of fabulous restaurants in walking distance.
Not to mention Massage places, also very affordable!!! Wonderful breakfast restaurant, Freddie Tucans is attached to the hotel.
Patty

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you really enjoy our property during your vacation. We hope to have you once more as our appreciated guest

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. It was clean and reasonable price wise , location was great , cleaning staff hardworking,,,,,however front desk staff was often rude and the managers overcharged for services , then argued with me afterwards. And so much as called me a liar at checkout......If management had any people skills, it could be a good hotel instead of average.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tremor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear guest

We're sorry you left with a wrong impression of us but we don't overcharge our guests, if the receptionist didn't explain clearly for what the extra charge was we apologize for that and we'll explain what the charges were.

When you made the reservation through a travel agency you reserved an economy room without view but being an economy room it is at a lower rate than a room with two double beds or a standard one double bed.

The day after you came to the front desk, and you asked for an upgrade, we moved you to another room ( bigger with two double beds ) we charge for this type of changes just $5 usd extra per night. Then you requested a refrigerator in your room that also has an extra charge of $5 usd per night as the sign at the front desk says.

Next time, if you give us another chance, we will be glad to give you a refrigerator like a courtesy but if you reserve through a travel agency and ask for an economy room with one double bed without view we can't give you a room with two double beds and a view without charging an additional fee. No other hotels do this type of extra services without an extra charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Posada de Roger is in a great location from which to explore La Zona Romantica as well as downtown Vallarta. It is located near great shops and restaurants, and just a short walk from Los Muertos Beach. But beware, not all rooms are located equal. I was first shown a room on the first floor whose only window looked out into the internal courtyard and thus lacked light. I explained that I had paid a little extra for a room with natural light and was told that these were the rooms at that rate. After insisting I needed more light, I was shown two rooms on the second floor and chose 205, a corner room with privacy and a small window overlooking the back of the hotel. There are clubs nearby and you will hear the throbbing music (which goes pat 5 or 6 AM) but with the windows closed, the sound is faint. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. I found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. There is a communal kitchen on the 4th floor with a refrigerator and cooking facilities. My only complaint is that you can't access it until 8AM so if you wake up earlier and want to make a cup of coffee, you'll have to wait. There is a small pool which is unheated and limited outdoor areas for seating. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycflygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel as many others have said did not disappoint. The location in the middle of the Zona Romantica puts you right in the heart of the action and close to everything you could need..the beach, restaurants. shops, bakeries, coffee shops and bars. The property was clean and very well maintained, and the pool are was nice and functional. The rooms are certainly not luxurious, but charming and a great value for the price. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this property if looking for a good value in a good location with nothing fancy required.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony facing Basilio Badillo which we liked because we could sit out and peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huckyVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#81 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $35 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing