We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Mexican experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
Ranked #18 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True Mexican experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The place is located about 2 short blocks from the beach and the malecon (boardwalk). In essence the beach, dining, and the malecon, which is the heart of Vallarta are right down the street. The hotel has a very authentic structure and feel to it. If you are interested in a fancy hotel with a Western feel and style, this is not the place for you. If you are interested in a great place that offers an authentic Mexican experience with great service and staff, then this is the hotel to stay at. I traveled with my husband and daughters and we loved this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyvacay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

I can only express my gratitude for the kind words you share with us in your comments as it is our main goal to help our guests having a great experience while on their vacation.

I am also glad to hear you enjoy the Downtown area and that you were able to feel the safety of our neighborhood, we hope to see you really soon here again.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    320
    80
    21
    6
See reviews for
123
333
192
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent 8 nights at this old property. Is well maintained. There are no elevators which makes getting to the third floor difficult if you have motor issues and heavy luggage. Rooms are well maintained by housekeeping. Security is excellent as the front gates are locked in the evening. Cameras are positioned on each floor to monitor the premises. The pool is on the second floor, offering a refreshing interlude to your day. A courtyard serves as a meeting place. Having walked by this place for years, I was surprised at the overall appearance of the property. The only drawback was that the A/C went down on the last night due to the exceptional heat and humidity. This place is a viable option for those wishing to enjoy Vallarta while not spending heavily.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always satisfying to know you enjoy our services We strive to give the best service possible and make you feel at home!! we do our best to maintain our property as clean as possible and always have our guest happy. We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a week here in mid-May. From the moment we entered the shady, flower and plant filled courtyard, we were happy to be there. We travel with my husband's service dog. We were warmly greeted at reception, checked in quickly to our ground floor room. The rooms are cool and shaded by the trees in the courtyard. The room had a small refrigerator which we love as we usually end up bringing part of our dinner home. We used the communal kitchen on the 4th floor several times. There are several secluded sitting areas around the pool, and around the courtyard.

Our room was kept immaculately clean by our chambermaid. There were brightly colored sheets and bedspreads changed frequently . I peeked into several unoccupied rooms, and noticed that each room is a little different.

All of the staff that we encountered were friendly and polite. Many of them sing as they go about their chores around the hotel.Just such a pleasant place to be.

We will definitely return to Posada de Roger.

Room Tip: Room 315 has a little balcony facing on to Basilio Badillo..a very action packed street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tigersharkjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always satisfying to know you enjoy our services We strive to give the best service posible and make you feel at home!! we do our best to maintain our property as clean as possible and always have our guest happy. We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rico, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent two weeks in Puerto Vallarta in early Dec. 2012. First week we spent at a timeshare condo near the cruise ship terminal across from WalMart. Second week at Posada de Roger and we loved this place! The week at Posada de Roger was by far the more enjoyable week. Used the pool and the shared kitched a couple of times, really enjoyed the courtyard area. Our room was clean and staff was very friendly and accomodating. On the busline. We would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We found the rooms off the courtyard on the ground floor were preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elis727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Posada Roger, We appreciate the time you have taken to express your lovely experience. It truly was a pleasure to assist you at all time. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to be your host again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

While not a five star hotel, Hotel Posada de Roger is a very nice older hotel in old Vallarta away from the mega hotels. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. I loved the central courtyard with it's massive mango tree. It is well located with only a 1 minute walk to the beach and a large selection of bars and restaurants close by. Their own restaurant on the first floor has really good food.
Prices are reasonable and overall a good value. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you are disabled in any way you might want a first floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience about your stay in your home Posada Roger, your feedback is very important to us it helps us know that we are on the right path in our efforts to provide outstanding customer service. I´m glad you had a nice stay with us, enjoying our rooms, the gardens and all our facilities.

We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First visit to Puerto Vallarta! Very clean, simple, and great location. The hotel rate is reasonable. My husband and I stayed for 10 days. We ate at Fredys Tucan a couple of times too. Very good!

Hoping to return and stay there again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is great news for us to know you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you at our property again.

Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Posada de Roger is conveniently located in the heart of town; its actually the perfect spot because its away from major traffic, and minutes from the beach. The space is very well distributed, with little nooks for reading or sunbathing; it doesn't feel crowded at all. The views from the kitchen and upstairs patio are breathtaking! The pool is quaint and refreshing when looking for a break from the beach. The staff is very kind and helpful, and will take care of you during your stay. (They exchange dollars at a great rate, so don't bother anywhere else.) The rooms are very comfortable, equipped with a fan, air conditioning, a mini-fridge (for a small fee), tv, etc. The hotel is very clean and kept maintained in pristine condition. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: I loved having a room on the first floor because I could quickly come in and out. It wouldn't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monarca826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

I can only express my gratitude for the kind words you share with us in your comments as it is our main goal to help our guests having a great experience while on their vacation.

I have made sure that all our staff is informed of the great comments you have made about their service and attentions; for them to know a guest had an excellent time while on our property is an incentive to keep working as hard as they constantly do.

I am also glad to hear you enjoy the Downtown area and that you were able to feel the safety of our neighborhood, we hope to see you really soon here in you house Posada Roger!

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Property: Hotel Posada de Roger
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing