We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Real Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Roger

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
Ranked #20 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have visited Puerto Vallarta many times over the past 12 years and stayed in many hotels. But this one is a real gem!!!! Just minutes from the beach, restaurants, and the malecon, this economical hotel is conveniently located in the Romantic Zone of Old Puerto Vallarta. A multi-storied building with an open, spacious, garden-like lobby, this hotel is quaint, comfortable and relaxing. The staff are warm, friendly and eager to assist in any way they can, making for a fast, easy check-in, a most enjoyable stay, and an equally efficient check-out. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The housekeeping staff are courteous and efficient. And the adjoining restaurant serves great breakfasts and lunches! If you are looking for a truely Mexican place to stay, I recommend it with no reservations!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hola
what nice review ! thank you very much for the nice words, I will keep your review and I will show it to the Posada de Roger's staff, it is nice when our work is so apreciated by our guests
look forward to your next visit
happy new year !
dario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    270
    69
    18
    7
See reviews for
92
274
155
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nice hotel in Old Vallarta. Clean and well run. Flawless check-in. I reserved with Orbitz and all was in perfect order when I arrived at hotel. Nice center courtyard area with tables and chairs which was a pleasant place to sit and have a coffee while using the free WiFi. Very close to the beach and many good places to eat. There's also a very good restaurant attached to the same building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are happy to hear your stay was great, we appreciate your comments and are happy you recomended us, we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I want to let all women travelling alone to PV that this is a great location, safe and comfortable economical hotel right in the centre of PV, close to everything. Some days I thought I was the only person in the hotel with the pool to myself...heaven.
The restaurant downstairs serves a great breakfast.
The staff were all so sweet and accomodating.
The hotel is clean, quaint and mexican and a great value.
If you're the pretensious type, this isn't for you.
If you want a mexican experience, try it. I know I will definately go back.
Adios!

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor at the back, quiet but there are stairs, so it could be challenge for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments, we try to make you feel at home as much as posible, that always helps to make you feel safe and comfortable.
We are happy you felt this way.
It would be a pleasure to have you back.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recently stayed there and was pleasantly surprised. It is in a great location if you like to be in the middle of things. Even with that, it was not noisey at night. The restuarant closes early. No bars immediately beside hotel. Although a little rough around the edges, everything was clean ( except the pool..but who goes in anyway) No elevator, so don't stay if you have trouble with the stairs. There are a few rooms on the first floor though, so perhaps you could get one.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The prices are more than fair for what you get. There is a communal kitchen on the 5th floor and many people cook some of their meals there. It was kept very clean from what I could see.

It is very close to some of the best bars and restuarants in PV. One of my favorites Nacho Daddies is 1 block. The restaurant off the lobby serves what might be the best breakfast in Vallarta. Overall I would highly recommend if you are looking to save money. Great little hotel.

Room Tip: higher is better off the street, if you can handle the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus lindos comentarios, es un placer servirlos.
Como decía usted, si estamos cerca de muchos bares, restaurantes y también la playa pero esto también puede significar un poco mas de ruido, afortunadamente contamos con habitaciones lejos de la calle y así no ser molestado por el ruido de la calle.
Esperamos tenerlos nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is the fourth time I have stayed here and it gets better every time,the hotel
is very central and the location is excellent,the beach is about 2 blocks away and
there are lots of restaurants and watering holes nearby.I was on the 3rd floor and the room
was excellent,very clean and very comfortable,I had a large TV,king size new bed and mattress
and a small fridge to keep stuff cold,all this for 42 bucks a night. The maid service
was excellent and the staff were very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hola Steve !
thank you very much for the review !

look forward to your next visit
dario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is an old building but is continually kept up by the excellent room staff , garden staff, and excellent management....All problems are dealt with immediately...we stayed in room 211 next to the pool-non smoking..The A/C worked great ...the shower was hot..and there were 2 dble beds in our room...This is a busy hotel and while there (2 weeks) some nights it was full.....This is a great area for being in the centre of things....Fredys is great for brekky but I found better value at the pancake house down the next block.......All valuables like passports etc should be in front office safe....Dario and Juan Carlos (Mgrs) absolutely excellent and set a fine example to the rest of the staff of how guests should be treated courteously and with respect ......That keeps guests coming back and I will stay there again...

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker--make sure you get a non smoking room with a window or you will suffer .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roofingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you vvery much for your wonderful comments, we truly appreciate them.
We hope to have you back soon and continue enjoying our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

There are many reasons I enjoyed my stay at the Posada de Roger. The location is ideal. The hotel staff are bilingual and extremely helpful. Lastly, it is a great value. This is my preferred hotel in Puerto Vallarta. I've stayed at other hotel which have higher star ratings but they do not compare. The adjoining restaurant, Freddy's, is a great place for coffee and breakfast. The beach is a short five minute walk from the hotel. The pool is clean and well-maintained. The hotel's wi-fi is the best I have experienced, quick and reliable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus lindos comentarios, es un placer servirlo y esperamos tenerlo próximamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#42 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#36 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#47 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#3 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Property: Hotel Posada de Roger
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing