We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for those who want to be in the center of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
Ranked #18 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place for those who want to be in the center of it all”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at the Posada Hotel de Roger in Puerto Vallarta for 3 nights in June. The check-in was easy and the staff (Celia ) spoke perfect English . We were allowed to view the rooms available and choose which one suited us. Air conditioning was included at no extra charge unlike most budget hotels. The room was comfortable and for an additional five dollars a day included a fridge. The bed was "Mexican Hard" as are a great many beds in Mexican hotels. However, it was comfortable enough. The room had a small balcony which looked over the street and we really enjoyed it. The cost was very reasonable and we would stay again. We met interesting travelers around the pool and this was a bonus.

Room Tip: Just ask they will accomodate in any way they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thanlks a lot for your nice comment, we are doing some upgrades in the room like get new soft mattress, with the mattres pad, as you said mexicans dont use soft, we like hard mattres but we have now differents types of mattres for each preference.
We are also getting new plasma TV 32", so next time you come you wil lbe able to enjoy the upgrades, muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    320
    80
    21
    6
See reviews for
123
333
192
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Having patronized the Posada Roger for 30 years, there is a nostalgic element to the place that old timers appreciate. But for the newcomers, Posada Roger offers basic accommodations in the classic Mexican style with a few frills. Standard features include immaculate tile floors, ceiling fans, basic lighting, hard mattresses, small cable TVs, wood platform bed frames and very compact, basic bathrooms (toilet and shower, small sink). The frills? There is a small pool that is a real bonus when it's hot; beautifully maintained courtyards with lots of potted plants, quiet modern A/C, ample and reliable hot showers, double paned exterior windows and doors, cheerful bedcovers and clean walls and floors. You can lounge around the pool, or in two rooftop terraces. Mexican families, veteran backpackers and gays and lesbians are return guests. The outstanding (but pricey) breakfast/lunch restaurant 'Tucan' adjoins the lobby and offers room service. Most rooms have two double beds but there are rooms with one queen, and family options with two doubles and a twin. We like the rooms facing Badillo because they have small balconies, and you can keep the curtains open, but they can be noisy. All rooms front a large courtyard with exterior walkways, so interior rooms will be dark if you keep the curtains closed for privacy - the tradeoff is that they're very quiet. Furniture is minimal and rustic: simple wood painted nightstands. Light fixtures are spare and purely functional; we usually buy higher wattage bulbs. Internet access is limited to the entry courtyard; the signal drops quickly around the pool. House cleaning staff are thorough and friendly. 24 hour front desk staff speak English and are efficient, helpful and responsive. Phone calls are 5 pesos. Rooms are running between $45 and $55 for 2 in 2011. For those who expect a Best Western or Holiday Inn feel, Posada Roger may not be the best choice. But for those who value location and the opportunity to meet an eclectic mix of travelers and Mexicans over plush surroundings, the Posada Roger is an option worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SanFranVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Having been visiting P.V. ( avg.2 months every year, for over 20 years), We have had a variety of lodging experiences. Of course, the " Romantic Zone" is the best part of town and conveniently located and just 2 blocks from the beach & "central" to most every travelers need/desires is Posada De Roger. Friendly, clean, comfortable, accomodating, above and beyond helpful (fluent English spoken here!). The "package (air/hotel)" price was such that we had to see it to appreciate it. And we certainly DID!!! Along w/2 other couples we had all we could do not to extend our visit. We ALL plan on returning to this hotel (just sent friends who have booked for July and we might just be there too!) For sure for Christmas vacation! GREAT restaurant (Freddy Tucans) next door. Hand made chocolate milkshakes (had one every morning)!!!

Room Tip: Check out the second floor facing S.E..w/ Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonkeybuttDosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you very much for this wonderful review and yes we think the " Romantic Zone" is the best part of town. We are glad you have had a great time with us!
We invite everyone who visits Puerto Vallarta to enjoy Fredy’s Tucan Restaurant, it is a favorite place for locals and foreigners alike.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our quick weekend getaway at Hotel Posada de Roger! We definitely don't like the touristy atmosphere so the location in the romantic zone was ideal - not far from the beach and nice walk to other parts of town. It is definitely a nice hostel and we definitely feel like we got our money's worth. However, if you are looking for a fancy hotel, this isn't for you. It is very quaint and quiet - perfect for us! The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly (but not no concierge, high-end hotel level). However, the beds could have been a little softer...otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliciabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Thanks for your review, we are glad to know that you had a very good time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tepic, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We just returned to our home 2.5 hours up the hill from PV after another delightful stay at Posada Roger. The glow lingers as we remember the warm welcome and attentive service from each and every staff member's path we crossed. The gardener at this oasis keeps the vegetation perfect!! We have stayed at Posada Roger for almost twelve years and the location for us foodies, people watchers and shoppers is perfect! We took only two taxi rides away from our base during our entire stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbeepa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
Thanks for being one of our returning guest, it is a pleasure to read all the great reviews about Posada Roger on tripadvisor.
The location is great here in downtown Puerto Vallarta, you can get almost every place walking.
We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Have stayed at the Roger for the last eleven years. The location is great. The staff is wonderful. Dario and Sonia make everyone feel right at home. Also thanks to Celia and Rosa who always make my stay very enjoyable. The location is right in the middle of the Zone Romantica, beach and downtown. Rooms are clean and service is great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us during so many years when you in PV and also for making this great review on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We just returned from Mexico and had a great time. When we first got to the hotel I was a little skeptical as we are use to all inclusive hotels and this was definitely not like any of those. I first thought it was just to rustic and not sure we would like it, but I was definitely wrong. It is a very quaint hotel and quiet. There is a community kitchen on the top floor and whenever you go there you get to know more people and things to do. A couple things to do would be, take the bus to Boca and then a water taxi to Yelapa. A very poor island, but a nice water fall to see and good food at the restaurant there. On our way back to Boca we were able to see some whales so that was really neat. We also went on a tour called Sylvie's walking tour. It was awesome!!! This hotel is also located in a great location as it is downtown and all kinds of bars and restaurants located right there and the beach is only 2 blocks away. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larsondl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We are glad that you have had a great time here at Posada de Roger,
thanks for your comment and the recommendations of places to visit like Boca and Yelapa.
Look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Property: Hotel Posada de Roger
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing