We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view from rooftop bar”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel
Ranked #94 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went twice with separate groups to enjoy the jaw-dropping vista over the city and bay from the rooftop bar. Happy hour here would be an ideal way to start a vacation in Vallarta with friends who have never been before. One very seasoned Vallarta traveller remarked that he had never seen such a perfect view in Vallarta. Service and drinks were excellent. One night we stayed for dinner; certainly good but not great. There are several great restaurants within short walking distance. I would stay here on a future trip. The accommodations look simple, a 50's era time capsule, but the host, the other guests, and the low-key vibe indicate that this would be a very relaxing place to unwind. Even the resident cat looked very calm and content. You are a bit removed from the thick of tourist Vallarta, which is a big plus for some.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeYswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had not been to this hotel for a number of years and was looking forward to nostalgic, romantic stay. Unfortunately, I found that the rooms are in need of an upgrade. The furnishings are outdated and shabby. There are no ceiling fans. The shower shot out like a cannon and sprayed all over the bathroom floor. There were not enough towels and only one small bar of soap. The "pool" was dirty, full of leaves. The linens were old and worn. The entire experience was very disappointing. I kept thinking of an old movie star who has seen her day and no one has bothered to tell her. Too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cozette1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our first stay here and it won't be our last. In fact we met several people that have been here many times and made some wonderful friends sharing the family style breakfast on the patio each morning. This hotel is really beautiful, and the rooms are charming, comfortable, clean, and reasonable, which is why we were able to stay four more days than we planned on. It also has an excellent garden style restaurant open for dinner, but we especially loved watching the sunset at the rooftop bar everynight. The view was spectacular and so were the margaritas! We loved this place!

Room Tip: All rooms look over the pool and patio, but the third floor rooms have a better view of the bay.They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kwilson723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The room was very spacious and very clean. The included breakfast was alright. Pretty basic, but different each morning. The roof top view was beautiful. We ended each day up there with a final drink of the day. The waiters were very friendly. The location of the hotel is up a steep hill, and we tried not to have to make any trips back during if we didn't have to! Great exercise! It was quite close the Malecon and everything else, about a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Enjoy the escape to a special place in Puerto Vallarta. Have a margarita on the roof top patio, open 4:30 p.m. with the special view overlooking Puerto Vallarta. Then down to the main entrance for dinner at the Chezelena Restaurant for one of the best meals in Puerto Vallatra.

www.cuatrovientos.com

This hotel and the feeling of this special place will always be with you. We recommend this escape as we have stayed here many times and this location completes our enjoyment of Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Room A3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I just wanted to express my pleasure for one of historic Puerto Vallarta's charming little colonial restaurants. I have been a regular in Vallarta since 1980 and have continued to enjoy Cuatro Vientos, Chez Elena Restaurant, since that very first spring. To begin an evening on the rooftop, at the El Nido, with a wonderful margarita to watch the sunset...the best view of town...to the lovely, garden setting in the restaurant to enjoy a scrumptious meal...makes for a memorable experience. Fantastic, fresh food and friendly service have always been the hallmark of Chez Elena. This little slice of Old World Vallarta is not to be missed. There are many dishes to choose from, both traditional and international. Sate Mixto is a favorite. The Indonesian brochette with delicious pork, beef, and shrimp with peanut sauce is wonderful. Fresh seafood is offered. I love the huge Butterflied Shrimp plate and unusual Cheddar Cerveza Soup. The icing on the evening is the flaming, fabulous Café Mulato made by Jesse, which has become a habit of mine, and I do not even drink coffee!!! Staying at the hotel is a marvelous experience. The hotel guests are very interesting and well traveled and some have become true friends for a life time. The lovely owner, Gloria, is always present with a friendly smile and a wealth of invaluable information as to sites to see, local art, classes, and Puerto Vallarta happenings.

Judith Graves
Newport Beach, CA

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gravesja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We live down the coast from Puerto Vallarta but every time we come "to the city" we stay here. The rooftop patio is just great for having a drink and some great snacks while we watch the sunset. The food in Chez Elena, the restaurant which is part of the hotel, is excellent and after a drink upstairs, we have a wonderful meal. Because the hotel is located so well, we take a walk either before or after dinner and are always happy to find our way back to our room at this quiet and quaint spot. We often ask for a suite just for the extra space but you may not need that.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#43 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#67 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suites la Siesta
Hotel Suites la Siesta
#88 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#61 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel

Address: 520 Matamoros, Puerto Vallarta 55455, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $69 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Cuatro Vientos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing