We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great get away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Ranked #23 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great get away!”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I love this hotel - it's for adults only so it's nice and quiet! The rooftop pool offers a nice get away right on property - but because it's part of the Los Arcos family - you have beach access and are welcomed over there as well. The room was great! I had a mini-fridge and plenty of room to hang my clothes in the closet or put them away in the dresser. In-room safe was a great plus.

The location can't be beat! Walking distance to the beach, the Malecon and tons of bars and restaurants! And the price was right. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and when I'm back in PV, I plan to stay at Casa Dona Susana again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MssdFlght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    271
    77
    42
    29
See reviews for
65
402
112
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
John
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I didn't want to leave. The staff were wonderful, all very professional and friendly. This is an older hotel, with so much charm. There is a five floor high atrium covered with beautiful tropic foliage. All the rooms face out onto this and the walkways have fun artwork as well as beautifully tiled floors. The rooms were kept immaculate. I like my room cleaned early in the day and I would put out the sign requesting the room to be cleaned, When I'd come back from breakfast it would be done. The bathrooms are very small, but when I go on vacation, I don't spend a lot of time in the bathroom. The king size bed was great - it had a foam top mattress. Again, the Casa Dona Susana is an older hotel with much charm. If you expect a cookie cutter chain hotel, this is not the place to go. The location is fantastic. Right in the heart of the Romantic Zone, with all it's charm and ambience. At the end of the block is a great coffee cafe and just one block away is the Metamorfosis Day Spa where I got the best massages I've ever had. You are in walking distance of some really fun restaurants/ cafes. To top it off, the rates at the Casa Dona Susana are very reasonable. I want to go back !!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmaclean16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Great location just off Olas Atlas street, one block from the beach. For me this amazing value hotel is a great place to sleep, and use as a base for exploring the rest of Old Town Puerto Vallarta. Staff are always available and nice. We felt safe in the building and neighborhood. This is one of three sister hotels. All are close by, so you get 3 pools, AND use of the ocean front beach at the main hotel- Los Arcos. This property is a much better value than the others as it is older.

The rooftop terrace, with pool and covered area are a secluded gem; you can see all over the city and out to the ocean. A quiet place amidst all of the noise and action of the busy tourist filled streets below. Great old tree in the center of the hotel and plants climbing up the walls.

We stayed in Room 311, a corner efficiency without a balcony. Our room was well maintained and reflected the old character of an updated room that will always be limited by the confines of the old building. It was not spacious and lacked any real view. If you want to stay in your room most of the time, this room is not designed for lounging in luxury. If you are a traveler and adventurer, it is great. The AC was great, bedding very good, linens good, overall very clean, and quiet.

Typical guests were week long stays and extended stay Canadians, Americans, and Europeans. I recognized many guest from our stay here last year.

The restaurant in the nearby Los Arcos was not quiet as good as last year for the one meal that I had. I think this damn recession has just hurt the quality of buffet style breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Our room was small, but for the price it was fine. There was no mold, the refrigerator and safe worked fine, bathroom was fully functional, no leaks or problems. The great thing about this property is that it's part of the Los Arcos hotels, meaning you get to use any of the 3 pools between the hotels. They're all within a block of each other, so it's no trouble to get to each. I like the pool at Casa Dona Susana best of the 3. It's the smallest, but it's on the roof, while the other 2 are on the ground. So, this hotel's pool gets the most sun (the others are too close to tall hotels and the pools are shaded for large portions of the day, especially in winter.

The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English.

The first morning there I was awoken by loud neighbors banging their suitcases down the steps at 7am outside my room. That was not so fun, but not the hotel's fault. I bought ear plugs at a pharmacy for around 25 pesos the next day and slept fantastic the next day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWallace75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This hotel was ideal for my travel needs. I stayed six days in the hotel, and had no problems. My room was on the third floor and was one of the standard ones. The room was small, but large enough for a KING size bed, two end tables, a small dresser, closet, refrigerator, and cable TV. Bathroom was good size, with shower (with good water flow). So, I had everything I needed and it was fine. Room; spotless everyday. Friendly hotel staff too. As others have said, this is not a resort, 5 star hotel, so if that's what you're used to, this isn't it! Will I return, YES! The point is, It's a good value for the price paid!

The location is great for walking to restaurants, bars, clubs, and the beach. If you want to relax by a pool, it's located on the top floor (4th) and includes nice views.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palmspr_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto vallarta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We weren't expecting the best but..........the room was small, moldy, in need of repair and basically horrible. In this part of vallarta, you are way better off with a vacation rental.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campistafeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Cute little hotel with a perfect location in the best part of PV...Old town. Close to the beach, best restaurants and taco stands. The courtyard and rooftop are adorable and room as nice as any I have stayed at in Old Town. And the price is very reasonable.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jac521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Dona Susana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Dona Susana

Property: Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Address: Calle Manuel M. Dieguez 171 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly Los Arcos Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Dona Susana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Dona Susana Hotel is one of the few intimate Boutique Style Adults-Only HOtels in Puerto Vallarta and where exclusivity is felt right down to the smallest details. However you spend your time, a vacation at this hotel is sure to be wonderfully relaxing experience. Discover Casa Dona Susana, the hotel that guarantees you memorable vacations. Relax in our recently renovated pool and solarium terrace, enjoy the sun of simply admire the panoramic bay view, the spectacular tropical mountains and the blue sea. Savor the most romantic sunsets in Puerto Vallarta You can enjoy the Restaurant, Beach Club, Bar and Spa service of our partner hotel, Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa, located just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Dona Susana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dona Susana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casa Dona Susana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing