We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Ranked #23 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location”
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This boutique hotel for adults is plain, with minimal amenities, but a great location at a great price (I paid $70/night for a single room) makes this place a good value.

My room smelt seashore musty and none of my windows opened so i kept the air conditioner on at all times. The bed was firm and comfortable, the basic cable TV was good enough, the bathroom came with a stall shower that was adequate and there was an in room safe for valuables. While no frills, the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly (although my room was not ready for my arrival at 5:45pm and I had to wait 30 minutes while they cleaned it - not what I wanted after a day of traveling).

The best thing about this hotel is the location - smack in the middle of it all, yet on a quiet dead end street just one block from the ocean. The rooftop pool is great and you get to use the amenities of the bigger sister hotel, Play Los Arcos, just across the street.

It's not fancy, but for the price and location you can't go wrong with Casa Dona Susana.

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Disliked — Musty smell
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobeginwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    263
    76
    42
    29
See reviews for
65
394
111
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

Don't go into the Los Arcos Vallarta Hotel expecting luxury. The rooms are very basic and lack any bells and whistles. Still, they are immaculately clean and have the essentials, such as air conditioning, hot water, and cable TV. The main benefit of the hotel is its location right in the heart of the Zona Romantica district. The beach is across the street, and there are tons of good restaurants in walking distance. The neighborhood is lively at night with lots of straight and gay nightlife options. You're a short walk away from the center of PV. The hotel is not on the beach but tucked into a side street, which means you escape a lot of the noise of traffic and activity that goes on along Olas Altas, the main drag of the neighborhood.

The hotel itself is built around an internal courtyard, which means that many rooms do not face the outside of the property but into the atrium. The courtyard itself is lush and full of greenery, and gets a lot of natural light. The best aspect of the hotel is its rooftop pool, which was a quiet place to relax and soak up the sun. And if it's too quiet you can always use the facilities at the Playa Los Arcos, their sister property across the street. Their pool is a bit more lively. The staff at the hotel was always friendly and quickly fulfilled any requests I made.

Overall, this hotel provided good value for money and a great location in a fun part of town. I would definitely recommend it, but for travelers who are not too finicky or need lots of amenities and services.

  • Liked — location, rooftop pool
  • Disliked — rooms needed more lighting,
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globeseekerpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Avoid the front desk. Staff volunteer to help you phone home and then charge you £2.50 a minute for every failed connection when you check out. Apparently this has happened to others and is a shame as everything else was fine.

  • Liked — view/location
  • Disliked — cheated by staff over phone call costs
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

My boyfriend thought our room was really ghetto, since it had only the esentials, and the shower was only 2 plastic frail-looking doors. But then he saw the pool at the top of the hotel and he felt in love with it! That was one of our fave spots to hang out, since there was no other people we had the pool to ourselves with a great view of Puerto Vallarta. The receptionist and bell boy were extremely nice to us. We even ask them to hold for our suitcases for a couple of hours till we did last minute shopping and they did. The room smell musty and our AC leaked, other than that it was ok. After all we just needed a place to crash after we were done with our excursions. They mop the room every day :)

  • Liked — The location, everything was walking distance
  • Disliked — That our room was humid and the AC kept leaking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KandyKane056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

This hotel boasted on Travelocity that they were an adult only resort and it was very frustrating waking up or going to sleep hearing kids screaming and crying. The hotel overall was nice, the food could've been better. I ate at a small place down the street the whole time.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank okbecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

I was booked elsewhere and changed to this hotel solely
for the adults only feature. NOT SO! Numerous
children were there, noisy and crying, etc. Front desk says
that tour companies and agencies book them and they can't
turn them away when they show up. There has to be some
person in hotel offering a children's rate or they wouldn't be
booking. FALSE ADVERTISING. Since the central courtyard
is surrounded by rooms, the noise echos upward.
On the plus side, the staff is especially nice, as are all
the folks I have met in PVR. Love the town.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy due to architecture and KIDS
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank palmtree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington, usa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

For the second leg of our woefully short 6-night Mexican vacation (first 3 nights spent in idyllic Rincon de Guayabitos, see my review of Decameron Los Cocos if interested) Los Arcos Vallarta was everything we needed. The hotel interior is romantic and lush, the roof-top pool is jungle-y and fun. Our room was fine other than the fact that the window was opaque and didn't open, so no fresh air. :-( But, like most budget travelers say- who spends their vacation in their room anyway? The pool/hot tub/beach area at Playa Los Arcos across the street, which guests here have access to, was great. The palapa-covered bar/restaurant was sweet and the perfect place to watch a breath-taking sunset which inspired all the waitstaff to applaud (it's the little things like that that make me love Mexico). "A Page in the Sun" coffee shop/book store right on the corner is a wonderful little sandwich and espresso shop where you'll meet lots of like-minded backpackers and world travelers. The location of Los Arcos is perfect- a leisurely stroll along the water brings you to the Malecon in about 10 minutes and tasty taco carts abound. For the traveler seeking a home base from which to explore Vallarta, this place is great. For someone hoping to relax poolside and on the beach, it also accomodates. My experience with the staff was always pleasant and efficient and though they charged for the water in the room, at least they explained that to you and stated it clearly. Having a mini-frige was nice for keeping water (bought for less at the mini-mart), beer, fruit, etc. cool and then bringing it out to the beach in a bag. My one complaint- why must you return your towels by the early hour of 6pm? There's still light out until 8.

  • Liked — Location and laid-back vibe.
  • Disliked — No open window in my room.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank natbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#45 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Dona Susana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Dona Susana

Property: Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Address: Calle Manuel M. Dieguez 171 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly Los Arcos Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Dona Susana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Dona Susana Hotel is one of the few intimate Boutique Style Adults-Only HOtels in Puerto Vallarta and where exclusivity is felt right down to the smallest details. However you spend your time, a vacation at this hotel is sure to be wonderfully relaxing experience. Discover Casa Dona Susana, the hotel that guarantees you memorable vacations. Relax in our recently renovated pool and solarium terrace, enjoy the sun of simply admire the panoramic bay view, the spectacular tropical mountains and the blue sea. Savor the most romantic sunsets in Puerto Vallarta You can enjoy the Restaurant, Beach Club, Bar and Spa service of our partner hotel, Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa, located just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Dona Susana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dona Susana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casa Dona Susana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing