We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and Switch - beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suites la Siesta
Ranked #83 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch - beware!”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We were confirmed in suite 42 - room with view and balcony, but upon arrival we were told that room was not available, this after numerous email confirming before arrival. The response by the hotel was basically that we were out of luck. Barri Page who I assume is the owner, ignored my emails. So we were given a room on the sixth floor, elevator broken the entire week of our stay. Lastly, the mattress was shockingly hard. We both awoke after first night with terrible backaches, so we ended up sleeping on the 4 inch styro foam cushion from the "couch".

The one thing this hotel offers is a view. I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccit200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
10
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

On the plus side, the location of the hotel was pretty good and the view from the room was great. The room was also very large and included a kitchen with filtered water.

On the negative side, the room was dirty and just before going to sleep we discovered a number of bed bugs residing in the bed. The person on duty at night appeared intoxicated and claimed that no other rooms were available (even though it was low season and the hotel appeared to be mainly empty like most of the others in Puerto Vallarta at that time of year). Not wanting to get bitten while we slept or risk taking the critters home with us, we decided to switch to another hotel. Our new hotel, Hotel Portonovo Plaza, was very clean and excellent, and not much more expensive than Hotel Suites la Siesta.

I will be following up with Hotels.ca and Hotel Suites la Siesta directly to push for a refund as the reservation was paid in advance for five nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmitchell40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

If your tired of chain hotels- and want to experience the real feel of Puerto Vallarta, this is the place. It was very clean, No AC but the breeze and ceiling fan did a great job in November even though the temp was in the 90's. It was very quiet when I was there.... I often had the pool to myself. I LOVED the view.... Its slightly up a hill.... I generally walked down, but would take a cab from where I was back to the hotel. I was awakened a few times around 6am by a donkey and cart going up the cobblestone hill.... It just made me connect more with the environment.
I was also surrounded by a residential area, and got to see real people living their lives... The hotel was close to a lot of bars clubs and restaurants as well.

This place is not for everyone. If you are looking for a resort feel, you will hate this place... but if you want to vacation as the Mexican's would.... you will LOVE IT!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Holidays are something to look forward to. We work hard all year round, and we want to end up somewhere where people treat us with respect and class. This place is both. The staff are tremendously friendly and assertive. The rooms are open to the ocean air. The view is spectacular.

Every year we try to go somewhere tropical. For some reason or another, every time we end up in PV, it's always Hotel Suites La Siesta that we end up at. It's not luxurious or "all-inclusive" like most neighboring hotels, but it's cozy and feels like home. No one hounds you about timeshare and it's not overcrowded. And it's easy to become personable with staff and other patrons.

From the Panoramic Restaurant on the top floor, to "Alex" at the corner taco stand, or "Mama Rosa" around the block for all you can eat breakfast for $9, the whole experience is economical. Make sure to check out Le Kliff (Mismaloya), El Arrayan or La Dolce Vita for a nice dinner out. Take a boat cruise or an ATV tour, but don't buy any tequila on the tour... you can get it at Walmart for probably $11.

People have warned us about walking the "hill", but fear not, after the second day, you become pretty conditioned to it. It's like an involuntary exercise regime on vacation :)

We are planning to return there next month for an extended stay and can't wait to wake up to the "juice horn" and watch the nightly fireworks from our balcony view.

Hope this helps all you travellers out there! Happy Vacationing!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet_cece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The good:
amazing ocean view
cute, Mexican charm
hot water, clean towels
good size

The bad:
hard beds (yeah, not unusual in Mex)
located on a steep hill-quite a hike. Will cost 50 pesos from anywhere in town

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_traveler_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of January. The hotel is interesting to say the least. Our room consisted of bedroom, bathroom, sitting area and balcony. The bed was only a double and not a good one. The fan in the bedroom was necessary as there is no air conditioner, we thought it was going for lift off it went so fast! The bathroom window opens out into the hallway so you want to make sure it is closed before you use the facilities. Furniture in the living room is very uncomfortable but liveable for a short time. There is a fridge, microwave, coffee pot.one coffee mug, two spoons and a knife in the room. We had a few things in the fridge and they did not last as the fridge is very poor. The balcony and the view are incredable, almost worth a few nights of no sleep. There is alot of noise from traffic and worst of all the party noise wakes you up and keeps you up. The elevator would not stop on the 4th floor so we walked down once but had to go to the 3rd floor and ride it back up so we could take our luggage down. It is located on a hill above downtown Puero Vallarta so it is in a great location. If you are into the nightlife and not interesed in a good nights sleep this place is for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandma50210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

View was awesome, room was exactly as pictured, clean, old, authentic Mexican feel, off the beaten trail but within reach of everything, a nice retreat-many steps down to the town but were quite doable (stop and rest anywhere), good eating within walking distance and a supermarket not far. About 4 blocks through down town to the ocean, close to bank. Door jams need some maintenance, and the only safe is in the office. Loud disco noise late at night from the city below was infrequent, and tolerable with the patio doors closed.

Panorama restaurant on the roof is nice/good, but only open for dinner. We enjoyed Melissa's-had reasonable prices, good food, friendly people; La Chata's- for breakfast (eggs La Chata's style with red sauce were wonderful); Margarita Grill-great margarita and fresh salsa stop while shopping, Gelato next door to Margarita Grill and the bakery just down the street and on the corner are wonderful. Local street vendor food was good and inexpensive as well...my favorite, roasted corn on the melecon and tamales. Other restaurant/bar prices are about like US.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prbaranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#79 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#58 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mocali
Hotel Mocali
#71 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
#66 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suites la Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suites la Siesta

Property: Hotel Suites la Siesta
Address: Josefa Ortiz de Dominguez y Miramar, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suites la Siesta 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Suites la Siesta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Siesta
La Siesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing