We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My last stay at Emperador - dec 26-Jan 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #63 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed at Emperador this same time each year for many years and I will not be returning again. Each year, my room (standard suite) offered less and less amenities. Drinking water that had been provided is no longer provided; kitchen utensils that had been provided now have to be ordered; the kitchen utensils I received were is such bad shape that most could not be used; I had to go out and purchase glass ware and other items that should have been provided; the furniture was awful and there was no comfortable place to sit; the nice couch had been replaced by a love seat; only a single sheet on the bed instead of a bed spread; no decorations on the walls at all. The AC unit never worked properly; several light bulbs were burnt out and light switches were not functioning properly. Although the front desk staff was outstanding, the room was so dismal that I will find another place next time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean, which are far more expensive, offer an excellent view and have balconies. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 18Michael18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 328 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites early last December 2012. The location is amazing (down the steps from the lobby and you are on the beach), it was immaculately clean! I would highly recommend booking a suite with a kitchenette and ocean view for a few extra dollars, it is really worth it! If you book ahead online you can often get a great deal! We will definitely book this property again! The front desk staff were good, except Ian! Ian was exceptional, he was always friendly, sincere, approachable, very knowledgeable and welcomed guests as if you were visiting his own home. Ian would be amazing in a staff training position. Ian really exemplifies the Mexican saying, "Mi Casa Es Tu Casa"!

Room Tip: Definitely try to book a suite with a kitchenette with an ocean view for a few bucks extra if availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madpride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

No hotel should be evaluated on the basis of a single incident but here the transgression is inexcusable: The towel I used to dry my face had been used by the previous occupant to wipe his or her uncleaned nether areas. The front desk attendant offered to give me a new towel. That's not the point. Until I can be certain that there is an enforced housekeeping policy to change all towels when the room turns over, I can't recommend this hotel. Other than that, as other reviewers pointed out, you get what you pay for. The junior suite is nothing more than a large room with a partition between the beds and the "kitchen" is a refrigerator in the room and a sink and countertop stove on the balconey. You have to ask the desk for utensils and dishware.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Love this place! I just returned from my 4th stay at El Emperador, I stayed in the Standard Suite with an ocean view. The staff are amazing and I was impressed that they all recognized me and called me by name. Being that my visits have all been at least 6 months apart and the person at the desk would meet hundreds of new faces every week. Ian and Henoc are extremely helpful and have gone out of their way to help so many times. Daniel is quiet but also jumps at every chance to provide the great customer service I enjoy at Emperador. Aside from the desk staff I keep coming back because I love the l little things the cleaning crew do to brighten up the day. Isabel, the housekeeper on the 4th floor, puts so much work into keeping the rooms clean and bright. She also has some incredibly creative ways of folding towels.
Location continues to be the other huge draw to this hotel. Right on the beach and a block from Olas Altas. Price is amazing for what you get, very competitive and there are deals out there depending on the season, it doesn’t hurt to give them a call.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tegu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites is an inexpensive, slightly run down hotel. The rates can’t be beat but the only real attraction for the hotel is its location – beachfront in the Zona Romantica. The staff is very friendly, and there is a restaurant, Si Senor, on the premises. Be aware that there are no fills here: although there is wireless internet in the lobby, the rooms don’t have internet access. The water is not purified. There is no laundry service. It is run down – the décor is very dated. The hotel could use a good renovation. The kitchenette stove in my room did not work (though I would not have used it even if it did). This hotel is a great beachfront value.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are only slightly more expensive than street view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lewisgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Hotel Emperador over 3 times over the last two years. I was always attracted by its great location (beachfront) and cheap rates. However, during my stay there during this last November I chose to check out early due to the following:
One evening, I was given someone else's room key by the front desk. This wouldn't be a big deal except that all room keys have the room number clearly imprinted on them. That, in addition to a large gap between the room door and door frame (which allows for potential break-ins) and the very weak shower made me switch hotels before the end of my vacation.
The staff is very pleasant and friendly as usual, but they were unresponsive to my concerns regarding safety and the weak shower. in the oast, the water lressure had been great -perhaps water saving measures were in place this time around? As previously said, I have stayed there several times in the past, but the savings weren't worth the headache.
It should be mentioned that the direct beach access no longer exists -now one must walk through the restaurant or go outside onto the street in order to reach the sand.
Hotel refused to refund the two unused nights despite the above mentioned reasons for early checkout. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, in old town. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, particularly Ian - who really went out of his way to remember us and chat. Pretty good sense of humour too! We stayed at the beginning of a week to PV, for 2 nights - then off to Sayulita for a few days before returning to stay our last night prior to returning back to Canada. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, however on the last night our mattress must have been new! So comfortable, and not as hard as the first mattress. We really enjoyed the staff in the restaurant below - Si Senor - as well. Very friendly and accommodating. The chairs and tables beach side are comfortable and the chilaquiles for breakfast were perfect. We would not hesitate to recommend this place at all. All the rooms on the front/ocean side of the hotel are kitchen units - we didn't stay in one but they are clean and well appointed - would have enjoyed that very much.

There is a rooftop lounge area that is also clean, comfortable and gives a marvelous view of the sunset over the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a newer bed! So comfy ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KGGFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#39 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
802 reviews
3.0 mi away
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and ...
#65 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites

Address: Amapas 114, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly Suites Emperador)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $60 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Ocean views from each of its Suites, right on "Playa Los Muertos" Beach, in the heart of the most traditional area of Puerto Vallarta, you can walk to the “Malecon” (Beach boardwalk) the Property is surrounded by the best restaurants and bars. You won´t need to take a cab. The “Cuale River” shopping zone, the flea market and local museums are just steps away. * Beach lounges & Palm huts "Palapas".* FREE Wireless Internet access, FREE Computers available on the lobby complimentary.* Safety Deposit boxes (lobby level).* 24/7 Security system.* Doctor on call.* Visa y Master Card & American Express accepted.* NEW!! Si señor Restaurant & Beach Club.* Standard Rooms = Mountain View.* Standard Suites and Jr Suites = Deluxe Ocean View.* All Suites do have a full kitchennette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Emperador Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Emperador Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Emperador Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing