We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mocali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mocali
Ranked #69 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Hotel was very clean and the staff were excellent. This is a very basic hotel, not even a hair dryer, but the cleanliness and efficiency sure made up with it. The 'breakfast' is very basic, but the fresh fruit, usually watermelon and papaya were very good. Toast or 'double toasted' and jam.

Room Tip: Even though the balconies are on the street view.. the rooms are much nicer. I had an inside room fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musiclady89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menorca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

For my wife this was one of the best hotels we stayed in whilst touring Mexico. Very clean, comfortable beds, the rooms average size but perfectly adecuate, a balcony to sit out on with views of town, hills and a thin slice of the sea.
For me it was a bit distant from the old centre of town, where there is more ambience, but we'd moved from an otherwise lovely hotel there (Hortencia), because it was too noisy. This on the other hand we found quiet and slept very well. the beach is just a few blocks away, and there are easy city bus connections.
I liked the fact that it was near the park with a free running track and gym facilities.
The staff was friendly and breakfast was included, except Mondays(!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrancisMenorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Nice place , basic rooms , no internet or very bad signal once or twice a day in the rooms despite being advertised as all romm WIFI
Complimentary breakfast a joke when you finally get a place after maybe waiting an hopur for a seat as it accomodates just 5 tables in a big hotel you just get coffe , mango, bread and jam so you have to buy a better one really
Staff are ok 1 or 2 speak reasonable English
Rooms cleaned to a high standard daily
Very good location, away from the gay area of PVR , which is why I moved there

Room Tip: Don not get an internal room , i.e one without a window . they look bad bad bad : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel met our expectations of an inexpensive well located hotel in Puerto Vallarta that we used as a base to find a more long term arrangement. Only negative was that breakfast is not served on Mondays and no mention was made of this by the hotel staff nor is it posted in the dining area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherry1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed here in Dec. 2011 for a couple of nights and I paid approx. $35 U.S. per night and I felt that it was a very good value. The room was newly remodled with marble floors and a new shower. The downsides were that the room was probably the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed in, and the mattress was very hard, but for the price who could complain. It is three blocks from the beach and just outside the door was a cabeza taco stand that was cheap and delicious. Taxi from the airport was about $10 U.S. and they stopped on the way from the airport to let me exchange U.S. into pesos. I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have passed 14 days in the Hotel Mocali, PV (Mx). This is small Mexican hotel with 40 units. Clients are mainly Mexican people which is good for cultural discoveries and immersion. The hotel is well located, just few blocks north from the Malecon and 3 blocks from the bay. The hotel is clean and safe. Bus stops are very close for North or South bound directions. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very basic, coffee, toast and fruit (papayas or water melon). There is not that much variation in the menus. There is some questions about safety from some front hotel rooms, balconies are very close to high voltage electric lines, especially at level 1 (second floor).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank voyagevoyageLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

First, If you like fancy this place is not for you.

I enjoyed my stay, rooms are clean, good closet and luggage space and free wifi and breakfast. Ema and the girls where very nice and helpful. This is the place if you plan on exploring all day and just go to sleep at night. Very close to the beach and Oxxo's near by which is great for drinks and snacks on your way to the beach.

If you are in a budget restaurants close to the hotel are way cheaper than the ones closer to the Malencon.......and tastier.

Walking is the best way of exploring Puerto Vallarta, now if you need to go to shopping mall or Wallmart take a taxi (its faster and it only costs around 4 bucks)

Note: they are doing remodeling but they start late ( 12pmish) which is not bad. So the Lobby picture shown above is before the transformation. The lobby now looks amazing!

Yup, this is a little gem and I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Little_Compass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Paloma del Mar Hotel
Paloma del Mar Hotel
#74 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#60 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vallartasol Hotel
Vallartasol Hotel
#96 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#64 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#56 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#70 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocali

Property: Hotel Mocali
Address: Calle Nicaragua 286, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mocali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mocali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing