We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to rent while vacationing in puerto vallarta mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Encino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Encino Hotel
Ranked #76 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to rent while vacationing in puerto vallarta mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is actually a hotel and suites. I have stayed in the suites and find them very comfortable and have a great kitchen to make your own meals if you don't plan to eat out often.
very central location and very affordable.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the river cuale
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    115
    74
    24
    33
See reviews for
61
96
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
342 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta, 2 blocks from the Malecon (beach boardwalk) and walking distance to many shops, restaurants and the swimmable beaches. When you head directly towards the water from the hotel, you’ll need to go left at the Malecon to reach the beach since you can’t swim right there (too many rocks and undertow). There is also another excellent beach to the right of the Malecon but that one’s a longer walk, about half a mile.
The hotel itself looks very nice from the outside as it’s build in typical Mexican architecture and colors. There’s a nice courtyard in the middle with a lovely rock wall fountain but unfortunately, it’s been broken for a while so no water flows from it. The staff at the hotel is very nice and helpful and the maids do a very good job of cleaning your room (they actually wash the floor every day). The rooms are not all the same, the corner ones are nice and big with a king bed while most others are smaller with 2 single beds. As mentioned by others, the beds are fairly hard, so if this is a problem for you, be warned. The AC worked well although it was hard to set the temperature. A few nights, we had to put the extra blanket on as it was cold! The hotel is next to a busy street so lots of traffic and can be noisy, bring earplugs!
If you’re looking for luxury, this place is not for you. This is clearly a budget hotel with excellent rates and it’s quite old. There’s a nice pool on the roof with some loungers but not a lot of shade. We enjoyed our 2 weeks there and would go back as we felt the location and price outweighed the age of the hotel and its contents. Note they also have a sister hotel next door with 1 and 2 bedroom suites for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best rooms are facing the Rio Cuale. Watching the egrets in the mornings and listening to the frogs in the evening are an ever changing scene. The rooms are clean and spartan. The staff is very accommodating. This was my second stay at the Encino.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarab17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friends and I booked site unseen and were very pleased with The Encino. Great value for our dollar, perfect location, clean with good security.Being right by the Rio Cuale was a wonderul surprise. The staff IS GREAT, hotel is in the center of everything. Next year a whole group of us are coming back . We wouldnt stay anywhere else in Puerto Vallarta. ¡Hasta año próxima!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I,ve been staying at the hotel Encino for a month in the winter for the last 4 years. My room is cheerful with a view of the Rio Cuale. The rooms are clean , my bed is comfortable, and the personnel are friendly. The location is convenient to the Malecon and a 10 minute walk to also Muertos Beach. There is a swimming pool on the roof but since I,m not a swimmer, I don,t use it.
I do like the elevator.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was a first trip to PV and this hotel was recommended to us. It is convenient to sea, the shopping and is right in between old and new PV, a hop, skip and jump to the malecon. Even so we found it quiet for sleep and very clean. It has a lovely indoor courtyard. We chose a second floor room with a double bed and a balcony, a corner room on the river side. We had a breeze whenever we wanted to keep doors and windows open. There is AC but we didn't need it. Some other guests recommended the suites for more room and I think they were only one more flight up. The rooftop pool was pleasant surprise and from there you also have a wonderful view of sunset and a nice private place to share a glass of wine at sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeannecorkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

They have a pool on the roof, clean rooms, lovely interior charm- at a super cost. If you want to experience Puerto Vallarta like a local- stay here. Ask for a corner room high up so you can see the water. Right next door is a huge mexician market which is fun to wander through.

I'd go back in a second. But I'm not the type to hit the american resorts anyways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carbonbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#56 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#58 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#94 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suites Plaza Del Rio
Suites Plaza Del Rio
#99 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suites la Siesta
Hotel Suites la Siesta
#84 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encino Hotel

Property: Encino Hotel
Address: Avenida Juarez 122 Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Encino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Encino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encino Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing