We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal, Amazing location, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #38 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

,I liked how close this hotel is to the ocean (1 block), the river, the old district, and the malecon. It was perfectly positioned for enjoying the center of Puerto Vallarta. Our room was comfortable, clean, aesthetic, and the ac worked well. We enjoyed having a restaurant in the hotel and I loved having a margarita by the pool each afternoon for an excellent happy hour price. The front desk staff were gracious and friendly; my husband and son ate dinner one night sitting at the bar and watching football and we all (4 of us) ate breakfast once at the hotel and it was quite good, though the portions were small. This isn't a luxury hotel but for a basic hotel, I found it charming, gracious, very comfortable and the price was excellent.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on the road--busy and noisy. However, the windows must be doublepained because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesann0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Gerente at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Allow me to express our sincere thanks for sharing with us your generous comments about our services, there's nothing like knowing that our guests had a wonderful and memorable stay during their visit. Thanks again for your feedback and we will be honored to welcome you back to Hotel Rio Malecon pretty soon. Cordially yours, Guadalupe M. Ramírez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 496 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at hotel rio malecon. From arriving at the hotel and leaving we received very accommodating and helpful staff. We had originally booked 2 nights in the standard room but were upgraded to the superior room that was simple but very clean, with air conditioning, free wifi and perfect for the two of us. Saul the concierge was very helpful with helping us book buses and other information that we requested which made our stay much easier. The hotel is very close to the malecon (boardwalk) and walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The hotels cafe/restaurant is also very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone interested in staying near the centro of Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgeo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Gerente at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear visitor, we are very pleased to know that you were enjoyed your vacation, and we are happy to hear that our staff made sure that everything was as you had planned. May i take this opportunity to inform you that, our goal is provide to all our guest an excellent and quality service and comments like yours tell us that we are on track. Thank you and we will be honored to welcome you back to Hotel Rio Malecon and will be waiting for your next visit. Sincerely yours, Guadalupe M. Ramírez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I was super stoked to stay here because it had awesome reviews. But it didn't end up being that great. It was clean (except for numerous dead bugs in the bathroom), and had air conditioning which was really nice. Maids were friendly, and the pool & lounge area outside was pleasant. Location of hotel was also great.
The men working at the front desk were kind of rude. The wifi only worked in one small area of the room. No late checkout. More expensive than I was hoping.
It's a good hotel. But not super great.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ParisDonohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We went to puerto Vallarta on a family vacation and we can honestly say that this hotel and the staff is amazing. Made all of us feel at home and they where "ALL" so welcoming. We would like to say especially thank u Ulyses, he was very friendly and very nice at the front. Also to all the entire staff, EVERYONE I mean EVERYONE was so friendly. If anyone is looking for a friendly, welcoming, home feel place we would definetly recommend "Hotel Rio Malecon" rooms are nice and most importantly all the staff was great . Oh and did I mention the food is amazing as well :) kuddos to the amazing chef
* can't wait to come back :))

- Familia Hernandez (victorio hernandez and family)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrigal2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Gerente at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear Hernandez Family; Allow me to express our sincere thanks for sharing with us your generous comments about our services, there's nothing like knowing that our guests had a wonderful and memorable stay during their visit.
Thanks again for your feedback and we will be an honor to welcome you back to Hotel Rio Malecon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I just don't have enough words to describe the over the top service received by all the staff at Rio Malecon. I recently stayed here with my children and it was just the best place I could have stayed at, it is very close to the ocean, transportation, food and to all kinds of shopping and tourist areas. The room was comfortable and very clean. Late Check out was also available, always a plus when traveling with children. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Gerente at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear visitor,

Allow me to express my sincere thanks for sharing with us your generous comments about our services and facilities. There's nothing like knowing that our guests had a wonderful and memorable stay. Thanks for your feedback and we will be an honor to welcome you back to Hotel Rio Malecon.

Sincerely yours,
Guadalupe M. Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I will start by saying that I am not the type to leave reviews of any of the places (Hotels/Places) that we visit yearly...that is just the way I roll! Having said that I will have to make an exception on this wonderful, comfortable and well centralized hotel. You can literally walk everywhere and see everything in Old Town and beyond from this location with ease. The bus stop is one block or two depending on the direction that you are going but you don't need to take one unless you are going far.

We have visited P.V about fourteen times since last July and I think we have stayed at Hotel Rio about ten times. Keep in mind that we have also stayed at other hotels within the same visit and have ended up back at Hotel Rio. Why? Because the rooms are very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We normally stay in room 108 which is one of the upgraded rooms with the king size bed and kitchenette. This is the place where I sleep the best comparing it to other hotels that I have stayed at in Puerto Vallarta.

Ok, we now move to the Coexist cafe. I don't think that we have had one meal that has not satisfied us. The food is excellent in this well modern decorated restaurant with a great atmosphere while you are enjoying your cocktails and meals with air conditioning watching extreme sports videos on a nice LCD TV.

I'd like to add that Hotel Rio is a lot better than many hotels costing more per night, even surpassing many hotels here in the U.S.

This review has been long due and I will close stating that this is a well balanced hotel that provides comfortable rooms, great service and good value for your money.

I'd like to thank the entire staff of Hotel Rio and Coexist Cafe for their kindness and great service particularly Ulyses.

Here are some of the other names: Saul, Andres, Rigo, Nacho, Bengi, Aldo, Navi, Rosita, Ricardo and everyone else that I am not mentioning.

Sincerely,
Rafi Amelio

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FadedDeception
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Director General at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Rafi,

Reviews like yours are the reason why we love our work and keep our team spirit high at the HotelRIo/Coexistcafe.
I can not thank you enough for your wonderful review, I just shared it at the staff meeting and there were many watery eyes. thank you very much for sharing your experience it means all to US.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Victor Zamorano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

It was a very good experience staying at Rio Malecon. The location is excelent, walking distance from almost anything in the center and also a couple of blocks from where you take the buses to anywhere south of Puerto Vallarta of up north to Riviera Nayarit. The staff was good and helpful and the bedroom very confortable. I definetely recommend. But don't forget to tip the maid because we ended up with no shampoo reposition. :P

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunoperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#43 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#81 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $38 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing