We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #32 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation ”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, right in the heart of the action. Ate breakfast there and food was good and reasonably priced. Beware that there are no elevators. Had to carry our luggage to 3rd floor! Pool is a bit small not really suited for swimming mainly just for lounging. Only major complaint would be the beds, hard as a rock! Best suited for the flintstones.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chicoz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your time to review Hotel Rio, I am very happy that you liked our restaurant, you should also try the lunch and dinner menu next time you are in vallarta.

As I have pointed out in several other reviews the Rio as the first hotel ever built in PVR was not design with an elevator, since there was no electrical power back then. however I would like to clarify that the hotel has not got 3 room floors as it might be understood in your review. it has the lobby or ground floor and 2 room levels. also our guest don’t HAVE to carry their luggage upstairs since we have hotel staff that can assist you with that. I would also like to take this opportunity to once more urge our future guest to be attentive of the room type they choose when making their reservation. our most economical rooms can and may come with old school hard mattresses our superior and deluxe rooms all come with very soft and comfortable mattresses. we do have the option upon request to change your room mattress to a harder or softer to better suit your preference or physical needs. this is very handy and helpful for our winter north american long stay guests and for our more diverse guests from around the world that appreciate the benefits of a hard mattress.
Best regards,

VIctor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    166
    50
    14
    12
See reviews for
64
192
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Rio. This hotel is located in downtown area which my wife and I loved. Everything was so close to the hotel so we saved on taxi fare. The staff are very helpful and friendly the 7 days I was there in room 117. My room was cleaned everyday which I loved coming to.

Cons : my wife and I had a king size bed. I disliked the mattress I slept on. Woke up every morning with back sore .Please upgrade to pillow top mattresses. Reason why I gave it only 4 stars ..

P.s I would recommend this place to friends and family.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Rio Malecon. We had a nice stay, loved our little room with the balcony over the street. Had a horse parade go by one night that was a highlight of our stay! Fabulous location, stroll and ice cream on the Malecon, walked to Romantic Zone for dinner and were very safe walking home at night. The pool seems more for children since it's next to the restaurant. Nice, new decor and really friendly staff. It was just right for the great rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a number of times over the years. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The hotel has been updated a good bit and has a relaxed and stylish ambiance. The Coexist cafe restaurant which is part of the hotel is a good place for food or drinks.

I like the central location. You are 1 block from the malecon (seafront walkway) and close to Vallarta downtown.

On the negative side, the hotel is on a busy street and there can be traffic noise based on where your room is. The rooms have quality windows which help, but we still heard some street noise.

Only other complaint, beds were a bit too 'firm' for my liking.

Overall, highly recommend the RIO.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jch111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your continuos support, let me respectfully remind you that we have several types of rooms and therefore different types of mattress. our Deluxe line of rooms come with the softest mattress and has been widely praised by our clients. I Highly recommend them for your next visit. however as well in our standard rooms we have choices on the mattress and we are always happy to accommodate your needs.
We are on main street that is why we have taken special care to install soundproof windows that if correctly closed and adjusted should protect you from any discomfort. However with time and use the windows and doors can get misadjusted and won’t seal properly. We check them continuously but if eventually you get a room with this problem we can easily fix it but you have to let us know.
We are on a continuos quest for perfection so I greatly appreciate your feedback. thank you very much for it.

Victor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We vacation in Mexico often, but don't spend much time in Puerto Vallarta. This hotel is ideally located off of the new Malecon (boardwalk) and the romantic (old PV) zone. If you are visiting and wanting to check out the city, you couldn't pick a better location. The hotel itself has a modern look and feel, and they appear to be making an effort with the rooms. By Mexican standards, the rooms were good, but by American standards they might feel a little less than ideal. That said my family and I were treated well by the staff and we enjoyed our short visit. The only disappointment was the internet wifi was sporadic and not available in our room (as advertised), but like everything in Mexico you make do (I found a stable spot outside our room). Oh, and the pool is more decorative that functional as it sits in the middle of the lounge area and is not heated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartFargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review,
However the information you provide is limited (for example you don’t provide your room type or number) so your feedback is not very useful since we have several types of rooms and some could even be considered ¨fancy¨ by some standards.
I can see in your trip advisor profile that you have actually been to only two cities in Mexico (the other one being Guayabitos which is far from ¨fancy¨ but beautiful in sooo many other ways) that hardly gives you credentials to talk about Mexican standards. Mexico as a country is ranked as the 10th largest receiver of international tourists in the world, with around 22 million INTERNATIONAL tourists registered on a yearly basis. you have to add to that, the Mexican tourists (oh yes! Mexicans do take vacations as well.) So by simple math you can easily arrive to the conclusion that there are thousands of hotels in Mexico that range from very simple to super fancy 5 diamonds hotels. Now there are 55 countries in America and you claim to have been to 3 cities in the whole continent? with all respect I don’t think you know what you are talking about when you say ¨American standards¨ even if you only meant the states.
About the WIFI since again you do not provide the room or at least gave us a reference on the area your room was on, it is not possible for me to check the problem. We DO have great internet reception in the rooms as advertised and most of the time the problem if any, is related to windows computers and their way of dealing with networks. Mac computers have barely any problems in the hotel. other times a router might be down or needs to be reset but this is very rare.
Pools in the middle of lounge areas are actually considered ¨fancy¨ now a days, but this might change as international ¨fancy¨ standards often do. Who would have tough so when they built the hotel pool 60 years ago? when it was the first pool ever built in vallarta. The hotel rio is one of only two of the original hotels left open in vallarta, it was built even before there was light in town or running water. it is a miracle it has stayed open this long and still looks this good, if not fancy by Saskatoon standards.

Yours truly,

Victor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After numerous trips to Puerto Vallarta area, I wanted to spend a few nights in the downtown area. This hotel is only steps away from the male con and minutes away from everything! The rooms are nicely maintained and very clean. All the rooms face inwards to their pool area. They are doing a few upgrades to the hotel, so the sun deck on the roof appeared to be closed. Overall this is a great hotel if you want to be central.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pv-riu-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and congratulations for giving yourself the opportunity to get to experience downtown Puerto Vallarta.
I want to respectfully point out that NOT all of our rooms face the pool Area or inwards as you mention.
receive warm regards from all of us at the Hotel Rio

Yours truly,

Victor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pritchard, BC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night through expedia-the price was great! The bathroom was older but was clean. The king size bed was comfy and the pillows too. Wifi didn't work in the room but did on the courtyard. The location was wonderful-one block off the Malecon-and was quiet once the buses stopped running at night. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Would stay again for a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#37 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#79 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing