We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete hotel sensory experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #42 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I visited Hotel Rio in May 2013 as I was attending some kiteboarding events in the area and was recommend by a friend to stay there. The staff all treated me with great hospitality from the moment I arrived. I had a LOT of kiteboarding gear which they stored for me downstairs so I didn't have to take it up to my room. They were very friendly and it didn't seem at all that they it was a smile for a tip as you get in most hotels. The room was immaculate, lovely design and the best shampoo/conditioner/moisturizer I have ever seen in any hotel! All organic too! Even though the patio faced the high street, the glass was thick and I didn't hear a sound. I cant stand noisy hotels so this was ideal!

Downstairs in the Coexist Restaurant, the staff were also lovely and there was an extensive and reasonably priced menu. The food was healthy, tasty and well portioned. I noticed that many walk-ins were coming to dine which is a great sign!

I was traveling alone so it was nice to be looked after! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to pay through the roof but is looking for great installations, awesome service, delicious cuisine and perfectly located, one block from the malecon/beach.

Congratulations Hotel Rio, raising the bar!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Okay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 503 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Highly recommended. The staff was on top of everything, the rooms are very clean. The front desk are glad to help you with directions anywhere you want to visit in Puerto Vallarta. The hotel is located very near the beach and el malecon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ferayora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your review!

I honestly feel incredibly happy to read your impression of our effort to serve you.

Thank you!

Sincerely,

Victor Zamorano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is probably the cleanest place in Puerto Vallarta. Cleaning staff are busy 24 hours a day. Most front-desk and hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Proximity is convenient, on a busy street but very near the Malecon, along the ocean in the old town area. Interior courtyard setting is sweet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wayouthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and your review!

Your satisfaction is paramount to us and your kind words are very motivating. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Victor Zamorano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed around Puerto Vallarta several times throughout the years. This time we chose to stay in the Centro region during "Holy Week" (March 23-31). This hotel was truly a great find! It was conveniently located across the street from the Malecon and all its attractions yet quiet and comfortable for our R&R. The rooms were immaculate and perfectly equipped for all of our needs.The Coexist cafe, connected to the hotel, had great food which was artistically presented. The cocktails and morning fresh fruit and green juice were yummy. The fact that Victor and his staff genuinely cared about our stay was another outstanding feature of the hotel.Miguel,Carlos, Oscar and the rest of the restaurant staff;Saul and the front desk staff, and Rosa with the rest of the housekeeping people were all amazing and most welcoming. We would highly recommend this hotel to all that we know.....just make sure that there is a room for us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Wow, Wow! Wow!! I am overwhelmed with all your adjectives, thank you very, very much. It was a lot of fun meeting you and having you as our guests. thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family stayed at Hotel Rio Malecon for two nights during the Easter Break which is a very busy time in Mexico. "Malecon" means boardwalk in English, and Puerto Vallarta's is one of the most enjoyable: wide, lined with restaurants and sculptures, always something interesting going on. It was great to walk out of the hotel and be on the boardwalk in a minute and then return to a little quiet and cool back at Hotel Rio.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for staying at the Rio. We hope this is your first of many more great visist.

Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked the hotel for six day in January 2013, based upon other Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel exceeded our expectations. Staff at the front desk was very helpful, especially Alejandra and Ulyses. The restaurant that is connected, Coexist, was excellent. Breakfast was some of the best we had. Restaurant staff, especially Carlos and Nacho, did a super job. Really enjoyed the location in the "Cento" area. Our room was average, but we had one of the older ones that hasn't been refurbished. We have already reserved one of the newer units for January 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

: ) thank you for spending your valuable time in a review of the Hotel Rio.
All those great comments are the reason why we come to work everyday : )
Carlos and Nacho have got an ear to ear grin ever since they read your comments.
Thanks again


Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rio Malecon for 6 amazing nights. Victor and his staff were absolutely fantastic throughout our stay. After days on the beach we'd come back to beautiful Daiquiris and Mojitos at Coexist, a great restaurant which is part of the hotel. We had many meals there and agreed it was some of the best food we had in Mexico. The location is ideal, a block from the beach and short walking distance to the nightclubs and bars. I recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Vallarta, it really was a special part of our holiday. Thank you so much to Victor and his fantastic staff, the 5 Aussie girls will be visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Ey Girls!

It was delightful having you all as our guests. One of the best things about being involved in the hospitality industry is having the opportunity to meet wonderful people like you. Thank you very much for you visit. It would be a great honor to have you all back at the Rio.

Till then, you will remain our favorite 5 Aussie girls!!

Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#56 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#98 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#43 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $36 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing