We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfort Close to the Action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #40 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfort Close to the Action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Rio several times because of its great location, friendly staff and reasonable rates. The outside spaces are welcoming, but a few more chairs would be welcome on the second and third floor interior courtyards. There is plenty of seating around the Coexsist Restaurant< however, which is a great place for a cocktail or a meal. Everything we had there was delicious. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, your suggestion and for being a repetitive costumer.
I totally agree we need more seating options on those areas, so i´ll get to it. and you can let me know if you aprove them on your next visit. ; )

Best Regards

Victor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    138
    46
    13
    12
See reviews for
52
155
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We brought my husband's parents and sister here. His parents are in their 80's and staff really made them feel comfortable. Service fantastic and the rooms were superb! This is where will be staying when coming into PV everytime. Great location, easy walking to all our haunts on the Malecon, great parking right across the street. One of our rooms was on the main road but with the patio door shut, everyone slept well.

Room Tip: We got one of the updated King rooms on 2nd floor and the shower, sink, was all upgraded and beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
your comments makes me feel very proud of all my staff and all the investments I make to offer you better facilities. It has been a huge amount of work, but when I read your comments it reassures me that it is worth it.

thank you very much for sharing your experience,

Sincerely

Victor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is located in the perfect location. Across the street from the Malecon and water and across the street from the Public Market. Everything is accessible from here. The beds here have extremely comfortable mattresses and the service is extremely personal and friendly. The menu as you can see on line if fabulous and offers a great variety. The atmosphere of Co-exist you will experience everywhere. Book online for the best deal. Great price overall. Stay here and you will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with soft mattresses. You can call the hotel direct. Staff understand and speak Engl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Excellent hotel with beautiful beach.
Staff really friendly and so helpful. Not as commercial as places like cancun. Puerto Vallarta is more rustic and charming.
Would definitely go back!
The staff work extremely hard and are still always polite and friendly.
Rooms are spacious and good sized balcony very clean. Love the various animals and flowers folded and made from the towels.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank podkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

While vacationing in Yelapa we made a last minute decision to stay a couple nights in PV before flying home. We found this hotel online while sitting on the beach in Yelapa and we were not disappointed. The price was very reasonable, location is great, the staff is super helpful, and the room was clean and well-appointed. Some reviewers found it noisy but we did not (not sure if it was the time of year we were there). The pool area is beautiful and when you're sitting by the pool enjoying a drink it feels a bit like an oasis with the high walls, birds, and cafe tables. After a long day of shopping and enjoying the Malecon, a dip in the pool was absolutely wonderful. The cafe is called Coexist and is worth checking out (doesn't appear owned by the Hotel). It was great food and very convenient to have it right there. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a King-sized bed. They are the ones that have most recently been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kblack_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The trip to Vallarta was nice the staying in this Hotel was excellent, I could not ask for better location , convenience at all time easy for shopping for eating for walking ,employees very friendly, and very alert to our needs , thanks for good service .

Room Tip: I liked the rooms by the street, they where bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guadalupe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for two night prior to a week stay in Sayulita. We picked this hotel for price and location and it did not disappoint. You can walk anywhere from the Hotel Rio. The cafe on site was a great hangout spot too. The pool really wasn't a place to swim as the restaurant tables surround it so it would be awkward and you definitely wouldn't want your kids splashing around in the pool. Also there aren't and lounge chairs anywhere so you can't really relax in the sun. The room was small with two double beds and they were hard like most in Mexico but my husband likes that. Also they are in plastic so they crinkly when you roll over. The bathroom was clean though and there was plenty of hot water. Our bed had some nasty food caked on the side so that was a little gross but otherwise the room was pretty clean. We felt safe here and didn't expect much for the price so overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sascolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#37 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#47 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#57 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#54 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#68 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing