We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Memories!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #36 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sardis BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Memories!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I first stayed at this hotel in 1977 (and at least 4 more times thru the next decade) when Ramon worked at the front desk and Victor Manuel was playing guitar in the Bar Navigante - where the CoExist restaurant is now. ( I used to take the guitar and also play and sing!)

I was in my 20s and staying at this hotel was the best thing in the world! I LOVED it!! Everyone was friendly, the decor was quaint (no kitchens, no glass windows - only wood shutters! - hard beds - no a/c, just overhead fans...... but we had SUCH a good time!

My point is, you don't need all the luxuries in life to have the greatest experiences in the world! I have since visited and viewed the rooms, and yes, they still aren't 5-star, but they still have the flavor of Mexico!

If you are worried about the hard bed - do what I used to do - bring a memory foam for the bed - it squishes down nicely and the bonus is - you can pack your fragile objects d'arte and booze in your suitcase and it will all be well-padded for the trip home!

If you are worried about noise, bring earplugs! It's not all that bad though.

If you don't have a coffeemaker, you know you can buy a small one in america for only $6 at your local cheap store - pack it in your suitcase with your memory foam (don't forget the filters!) and then leave it behind when you go home! I have done that before!

If you don't have a fridge, you can buy a really inexpensive foam cooler and get some ice and there you go! The fun of staying in the downtown area and paying inexpensive rates is the opportunity to improvise!

You can't experience the real authentic PV unless you have stayed downtown and this little hotel - The Rio - still has my heart. Those memories are what makes PV near and dear to my heart even 35 years later...., even though I now stay in the 5 star hotels.

Who knows?

I might just stay at the RIO one of these coming days! The recent tour through there has me pining to go back! The RIO is in the middle of everything you want to experience in PV!!!

AND: I want to meet The owner, another Victor - sounds like a delightful guy from his comments on here!

Room Tip: Ask and you shall receive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kahlua55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    167
    51
    14
    12
See reviews for
65
194
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The first and foremost thing I'd like to comment on is that this hotel is in a GREAT location.
Just two minutes away, across one busy street and voila....your there on the Malecon beach sea wall.For a kilometer (or two) in either direction you will be walking past shops, resteraunts and tourist attractions on one side and an ocean view on the other, all just out your front door.

Vendors along the way are friendly and will only ask you to buy something twice at the very most.There is no overbearing sales pitches that take place here, just friendly smiles and great negiotable deals.

The whole area is very clean and well looked after and there is very little to almost absolutley no garbage left on this regularly cleaned tourist area.My wife, an avid shopper thouroughly enjoyed this beach strip as it had much to offer. Good restreaunts and cheaper little eaterys were just around the corner. The area is fantastic and the Hotel Rio is right there in the middle of it.

And now for the hotel.....

The Mexican lady(forgot her name) who manages the place is a very sweet and helpful lady.
She always took time to smile and answer all of our questions.

We are the type of travelers who are always out and about and don't spend much time hanging around the hotel.Our needs are basic....give us a good CLEAN ,SAFE hotel and we are happy. The hotel Rio met all of these requirements and at a budget price.

We stayed there on two occasions and the rooms to the right(of reception) seem to be a little older, while the ones on the left seemed to be more modern with a nicer bed.There was nothing fancy about either side, however, both rooms were more than adequate for what we were looking for.

On the down side.....

The swimming pool is small and shaded most of the day and if you decided to swim in it, you would have the feeling of being on stage with the restaurant for your audience. I never saw anyone in it once.

The restaurant was average and some of the guys weren't all that friendly as far as being enthusiatic about service.

These were both minor tolerable things however and the hotel still gave us great value for our vacation dollar.

Room Tip: Rooms on left side had a nicer ambience and nicer bed,Rooms on the left front have a partial ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevandJho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for a couple days with our kids. The place was nice and well kept up. They have a good restaurant. They are 1 block away from the Malecon. They have a nice pool and a business center with internet if you need it. The rooms have a tv and fridge in them. Basic but nice and a pretty good deal if you are looking for it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for your great review,
We are always trying to improve and your comments motivate us to keep on doing so.
We are happy you got to enjoy our chemical free pool. : ) (we long for the day all pools will stop polluting with all those unnecessary chemicals.)
Hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We went to Puerto Vallarta for our Honeymoon and had never been to Mexico before. The hotel staff made us feel at home and very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and well taken care of. The employees took the time to help us find places to go shopping and gave us ideas of things to do on our trip. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to everything and everywhere we wanted to go. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Email the hotel with any requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LGubek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Wow! congratulations to both of you!
super stoked to hear you came to Mexico for the first time.
I am designing a honeymoon/anniversary suite that will be ready just in time for you to celebrate your first. think about it ; )

wish you the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Though the hotel was not particularly cheap because I went during Semana Santa, the double room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning and TV worked fine, and we had a little balcony overlooking the street. There was a small pool and patio downstairs, though I didn't swim. The location was excellent, right in the hubbub of downtown and a block from the beach, and near many local bus routes. And there were two convenience stores on the corner. At night things could get noisy, but I brought earplugs and was fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madrutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

When I checked in, the woman at the desk told me that my room was on the second floor (3rd by U.S. thinking). I asked for a first floor room. She tried, but the computer wouldn't let her make the change. The pep talk about the restaurant was a bit much. Buying prepaid vouchers etc. . One would think that their restaurant was the old one in town; not so. The bathroom had neither a towel rack or even a hook. There were no hand towels, only bath sized. The towels were kept on the dresser, so if you took a shower and forgot to take a towel,,,,,, The lighting on the stairs was poor. The hotel was very attractive, in an excellent location and the internet worked perfectly. The bed was very comfortable. I sleep with a mask, so the lack of thin curtains didn't bother me.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Hotel Rio was clean, reasonably-priced, had helpful and hard-working staff, and a convenient location.

On the down side, they don't supply washcloths, the mattresses are hard (though this didn't bother me, and I'm getting the impression this may not be unusual in Mexico), I couldn't access my email there, and, most frustratingly, their web site is non-secure and they don't respond to emails.

Regarding my inability to access my email, the staff made great effort to assist me, but, for some mysterious reason, I was unable to log in, possibly partly due to using a foreign keyboard (this may or may not be the norm, though the next 2 keyboards I encountered in other nearby locations had U.S. key arrangements and I had no difficulty signing in). I did mention the non-secure web site to staff at the hotel. As far as their not replying to emails (from myself and another party) staff told me that they had.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizRoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#41 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Property: Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing