We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy agradable!”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #61 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Belmar Hotel for a week during Christmas break 2011. We highly appreciate the staff who took great care of us as guests, gave us amazing recommendations on local eateries (taquerias) and were always smiling. Our room was clean and it had the basic necessities with a nice decorating touch. We liked the fact it was busy with locals and not entirely filled with tourists like us! The hotel is really central so you can enjoy downtown PV and it's a few minutes walk from the beach. The price is very reasonable.
I highly recommend this hotel for those who want to escape the big all inclusive hotels.
For light sleepers, ask for a room away from traffic as it gets loud in the mornings but that's everyday life in Mexico! Enjoy!

Gracias por una estancia agradable.
Mish and Gen, Québec



los empleados eran muy amables!

Room Tip: Rooms away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

We needed a hotel room for one night. Read reviews from Trip Advisor, and selected this hotel. I guess for a Discount Hotel, it was ok. The room was small, two beds, but clean. The toilet and shower were both in a space about 3' X 5'. Traffic noise was loud. Ceiling fan had only two speeds > 'Prop-plane' High and Off. There was a safe in the room, but looked unused for years. Not much of a lock on the door going out to the patio. We locked our luggage when going out to dinner. Staff seemed friendly, but struggled with our English.

Room Tip: No Elevator - need to hawl bags up stairs. They had a computer in lobby - maybe offer free to guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DJ3722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Wow, for $32 a night, three blocks from the beach, in Old Vallarta, it is awesome! The ultra clean SMALL rooms have artwork, hot showers, and balconies. Free ice water, computer, Wi-FI, coffee, and sweets are welcome. I liked all the artwork throughout this gallery hotel. The staff were so friendly and professional. It is close to great restaurants and stores. I will go back again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed recently for a week at this small , nice Hotel. Rooms are immaculate, nicely furnished, caring Front desk Staff and great location in Romantica Zona. The price is more than reasonable!!!! Withing walking distance of the new Gay Clubs (CC, Paco Ranch, Wet ). Right on the bus route. For some the bus noise may be an issue but simply request an interior room if this concerns you. My room had a balcony and a view of the Banderas Bay!% minutes walking distance to Bandillo Street for evening restaurants. I think it is the Hotel gem in PVR !
Muy Bueno!
SF Male traveller

Room Tip: 4th Floor Rooms have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The staff is very nice and friendly. The hotel in general is super clean, we can almost see our faces on the floor. It is locate inside the heart of Puerto Vallarta; thus, walking distance of everything...the market, romantic zone, the beach, the resturants, etc. We are super happy i like a dream come through.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

You would much better staying somewhere else - Too much street noise-up all night-no elevator we were on the third floor-Hotel clerk spoke no english-but very friendly and helpful-she offered us the 5th floor-but didn't want to climb that many stairs in the heat.
A/C was a charge 60 pecos or $5 dollars for 8 hours. The price was fair but I would now spend a little more money and get a/c and a good night sleep.
One more thing, the bathroom was tiny, to sit down on the toilet your knees on the door.
Would not recommend

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tobemiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is my second stay at the Belmar. To me, it's my second home in Mexico. The location is very convenient. The place is dazzlingly spotless. The staff are friendly (only in Spanish). Hot water. Cable TV. Just six blocks from the beach. Great price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wordtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#96 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#81 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#85 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $23 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belmar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique small budget hotel located downtown Puerto Vallarta with a great collection of art. Close to the beach, main plaza, the Malecon, the church, Olas altas. Within walking distance to restaurantes, galleries, boutiques, bars, discos, where all the action takes place, Hotel Belmar Friendly staff, attended personally by the owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing