We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
14
33
19
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
33
19
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fanbasic roombring earplugsmexican lifemexican hotellight sleeperthe ground floorhot waterminute walktradicionalbalconygringomalecon
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 86 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Located a few blocks from Los Muertos pier, local hangouts Roxy Rock House and Bolero bar, Hotel Villa del Mar is standard, comfortable and clean, with charm and character all its own. The staff is friendly, helpful and courteous; housekeeping is tidy and prompt. Sadly, there is no pool at this hotel, but there is a nice large terrazza where guests are welcome to relax day or night, and the beach is literally a few blocks away. I couldn't find an elevator, but they do have a first floor. Water service (pitcher, glasses, community bottle in shared hall, common) instead of small bottle rations is my only suggestion. Otherwise, great price, amicable staff, clean accommodations.

Room Tip: Request room 47: spacious, with a nice small balcony, 2 beds and a clean large bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katedana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a nice place if you're on a budget. about a 5-10 min walk from the beach and the centre of the town. rooms were big and clean with bathroom attached. great roof terrace with a view over the whole town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelsonlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Look folks, it's Mexico. You can spend even less than this, depending how few amenities you can survive with. Many Americans and Canadians can't seem to adjust to the way the rest of the world does hotels, with less privacy, no carpet, and old world ways. This place is cool, if all you want to do is sleep and change clothes and look out the window. When I was there, I didn't hear any of the neighbor noise that other reviews mention. They did turn the water off in the middle of the night, so at 1am, I actually had to brush my teeth in the bathroom by the ground floor lobby. The inner courtyard stairwells are cute (see photos in the main listing here on this site). The location is awsome, near a good 24 hour pharma-grocery, and around the corner from a ton of food and drink choices plus top notch taco trucks and stands. If you're an American and don't really like the rest of the world, then don't stay here, stay at an American chain so you can pretend you're not really visiting crumbly old Mexico.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeKick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed twice in this hotel and our stay at Villa del Mar was very good.
It's a budget hotel so expect the best a budget hotel can offer.
The hotel is divided in 2 different areas, both are clean, staff is friendly, free wifi at reception and complimentary coffee!
The roof is great for relaxing moment at sunset and yes, there's not privacy just hope in other guests politeness or bring earplugs with you!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ultraviolet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I stayed recently at this hotel over a weekend in PV. The hotel was the worst part of vacation!!! There is no privacy at all... don't expect to get any sleep. The first night, a neighbor guest across the hall had his TV way too loud-- of course, you can hear everything every guest is doing because there are holes in the rooms allowing all noise in. The next night, we would have much rather heard the TV because all we got were drunken vacationers making too much dirty "noise" next door. Finally on the morning of the last day there, hoping we could sleep in before our long trip back to Guadalajara, my company and I were woken up by screaming children of a family that was checking in.
There isn't even any privacy in the rooms. The "private" bathrooms' walls dont even complete to the ceiling, so you can hear everything. Talk about comfort for both parties.

Overall horrible experience. Do yourself a favor and shell out a few more bones for a hotel that's mildly relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fusckion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews