We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Some rooms OK, but staff between complacent and surly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Ranked #102 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some rooms OK, but staff between complacent and surly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

My room at Villa Del Mar was acceptable, with plenty of light from an outward-facing window. I stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. My biggest complaint was the staff at the reception desk, who ran the gamut from indifferent to downright disagreeable. My biggest gripe: A friend visited me at the hotel for 20 minutes. Shortly afterward, the desk clerk told me I must pay an additional 70 pesos (US$7) for "an extra person." Absurd! There are better values in PV. The Villa del Mar is popular with guests who return repeatedly, and the staff seems to have grown very complacent.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank FulltimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
18
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

This Hotel is used by many long time visitors to Puerto Vallarta as a long term place to stay. Many come for 3-6 months at a time. My Dad included.

I went down to visit him and check on him as he is in his 80's. I had visited him here last year but did not stay at this Hotel as I was on a cruise. This year was different and I decided to stay here.

Let me make this very clear there are 2 Villa del Mar Hotels in Puerto Vallarta. They are named slightly different. This one is about 8 blocks from the beach while the other is on the beach. This one's correct name is Tradicional Villa del Mar, Puerto Vallarta. Do a search and you will find it at the address listed on this page.

This is a traditional Mexican budget Hotel. There is nothing fancy about this hotel other than the staff. The Hotel rooms are simple with brick walls and tile floors with old style dressers. There is no air conditioning only a ceiling fan. The beds are simple double beds or double beds with a single in the room. Some rooms have balcony's. Some have only a view to the inside courtyard while others have kitchens and a balcony.
Rooms are clean and the floors washed daily. One will notice marks on curtains but it was clean and worked well.
One can not forget the towel animal on your bed.
The rooms have new TV's with about 70 channels with a few English stations. Some of the Mexican stations have English shows with Spanish sub titles.

The rooms start at about 300 Pesos a night or about $30 US and rise up from there.

There is a outside sitting area on the upper two floors with chairs and tables as well as a area to sit/lie in the sun on the roof.

The staff are very friendly and all of them said Hello to us even though we did not speak Spanish. There was no problem with the front desk and English/Spanish. I have talked to people who have wintered here for 10 years and there has never been a problem with theft from Maids or others.

While the bathroom is a bit cramped, (think cruise ship bathroom here) it works. The bathroom sinks have no hot water but the showers do.
There are large bottles outside the room in the courtyard area for one to get drinking water. There are glasses and a water jug in your room to do this.

There are many markets near by as well as bus service to just about anywhere you want to go.

If you are looking for somewhere to eat out in the area I would suggest you try the Gilmar just half a block down from the hotel on Madero on the same side as the hotel. While it may look like another Mexican restaurant, I can say it is not. Benjamin told us that his Dad started it back in the 70's as a open air restaurant and how it has changed. This place serves everything from Mexican traditional foods to Steak and Pasta. This place will not disappoint you. The Salsa is made fresh at your table, try it.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Noise from Madero
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Seacruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2006

I stayed at the Villa del Mar (Madero 440) for 10 days or so and for about $20 got a great room with brick walls, wood furniture and a great little balcony. It was a really great value and very well located right in the center of the Zona Romantica close to many budget restaurants, etc. I did take a look at the non-balcony rooms--they're not so nice, spent the little extra and get a balcony. The rooms seem like they might vary quite a bit too so ask to see several if you're not happy with the first one. My one caveat was that my room was right on the Madero so it was noisy.

Note that many of the reviews listed for this hotel are actually for the Villa del Palmar .. a luxuy resort in the hotel zone nowhere near this property. Don't get confused.

  • Liked — balconies, charm, value
  • Disliked — noise
  • Tips/Secrets — get a balcony on Madero
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddosdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2003

How many times over how many years have we stayed here? Too many to count over a period of 25 years. Family run, really nice folks. It disturbed us a bit when this place was "found" by the glut of gringo tourists a number of years ago. Many memories here. Lots of love. Great view from the roof. Grab a ballena and c'mon on up (bring a chair). Look around the neighborhood. Have a morning licuado, go to the bakery...have some ceviche for lunch on the way to the beach. Walk, enjoy, speak Spanish. Let the colors and smells surround you.BnC

Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2003

I loved this place. Every room is different. Request one with a balcony. Check out the lookout on the roof!!! Great place. love it.

Helpful?
29 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#71 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#95 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#40 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hortencia
Hotel Hortencia
#90 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Del Mar

Property: Hotel Villa Del Mar
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero # 440, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Villa Del Mar Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing