We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Mexican food in Mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe's Tacos

Pepe's Tacos
Ranked #47 of 981 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food in Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The setting is far from spectacular, but if you want to have real mexican food in a real mexican restaurant in Puerto Vallarta, then this would be a good place for you. The food was good. Not fancy, but good. Good, friendly service, and the place is open very late. Sure, there are plenty of tourists who come here, but I went a number of times and there were always some locals eating there as well.
Setting is very basic, lighting is harsh, prices moderate, but I like the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawncago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    116
    39
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not what we were hoping for. It's a little bit more expensive than the other tacos place's. pastor was well season, but the lack of toppings come to others pastor place's was disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieandthomas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what I was hoping for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went on Saturday for a nice taco dinner.. The food was not very good compared to the many other wonderful places to eat. It was also a bit more spendy than most.... The food was bland... the service was good though... Not my favorite spot to eat with so many to choose from...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamaoftwins666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The reason we go to Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Quite literally a hole-in-the-wall restaurant across from the Pemex gas station - but its the reason we go to Puerto Vallarta and keep going back! We go to Pepe's at least 3 times a trip. The Al Pastor's are amazing! We try other taco places but they never hold a candle to Pepe's. Sooo gooood! Yum.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I love the tacos al pastor here. The marinated slow cooked on the special cooker added with a hint of pineapple is something I will never stop craving. These are one of a kind tacos! The only thing I would say is the service was not great; our waiter seemed to be in a bad mood and irritated it took him three times to come and for us to be ready to order. But other than that- the food is so good and cheap! Best tacos in Vallarta!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanyguera1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe's Tacos also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Pepe's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing