We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Chata” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Chata

La Chata
Ranked #270 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“La Chata”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant is on the Malecon on the second floor. If you are lucky (like my husband and myself) you may get one of the private balconies overlooking the ocean and boardwalk. It's a beautiful restaurant with good selections on the menu. The prices are mid price $10.00 and up. The service was wonderful, but then my husband and myself had the entire restaurant to ourselves. We felt like movie stars, as if the restaurant was closed to the general public. It was GREAT! I asked the waiter for a white wine suggestion and he brought me a wonderful glass of wine - sorry didn't catch the name of it. Marriachis came by our table to play a song. This was a great way to cap off our last night in Puerto Vallarta. Thank you La Chata!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandiegogirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    65
    42
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, Good view, Good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I dined here for dinner on our first night in PV. It was a beautiful sunset and the staff was very friendly. The food was good, the salsa was spicy and the dessert was different (unfortunatly not to our taste). We got the balcony and could watch the people walk by and the sun set. It was wonderful. And the prices were very good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raingirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We never miss it when we are in PVR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We made a special trip to this location from our stay at the RIU Palace,a 440peso cab fare each way, well worth the price. We love this location, the family atmosphere and desire by the staff to make our dining experience memorable. The 5 of us were accomodated with a balcony table to watch the sunset and the mexican artists dangle from the spinning pole right there on the malecon. The whole area is now foot traffic which makes the dinning much more enjoyable, no car fumes, only the noise of the public below with children laughing and the waves coming ashore. Our meals were simple and priced right, along with the great margueritas and daquiris. This is not a high end restuarant but could certainly soak you for there water front location and view. This is our regular haunt whenever we are in PVR, give it a shot and enjoy the local hospitality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FP4BMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Terrific Sunsets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

La Chata is one of our favorite PV locations for taking in the sunsets. There is a great view of the malecon from the second floor and the sunset views can be spectacular. We generally try to arrive about half an hour before the sunset to ensure we get a balcony table and to have a marguerita while watching the sun start to set.

We enjoyed our enchiladas on this visit. The food has always been good on past visits and we have always found the service to be friendy and quick. The margueritas are great - especially if you happen to visit during happy hour. Often there is music in the evening, but we were there on a slow night so there was none on this visit.

We'll definitely return on our next PV trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2fromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good view, average fare.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited La Chata for lunch on the reccomondation of friends. We were attracted by the second floor view of the bay overlooking the Malacon. We ordered the Fajitas which were pretty much Tex mex and overpriced too boot. Maybe we caught them as first customers of lunch/dinner menu but there are lots of better menus in PVR. I don't mind paying for the view but I expect better fare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chata also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Chata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing