We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, atmoshere lacking”
Review of Casa Naranjo

Casa Naranjo
Ranked #93 of 1,033 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The hidden secret of Vallarta´s residents...
seattle, wa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, atmoshere lacking”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went with friends and 5 of 6 had excellent meals, with the 6th being disappointed in the blandness of the salmon. Service was attentive and prompt, white table clothes and napkins. However we thought there was an overall lack of ambience. We went at 7:30 and there were a few tables occupied with the main dinner crowd arriving around 8 or 8:30.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soundslikeseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    57
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“an excellent choice”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

my husband and I were here for the first time in 2010 and returned December 2013. once again we had excellent food with competent and considerate service. I started with the crema frio, and while it is a cream soup it is not heavy, was chilled and had a hint of orange flavor. outstanding. my husband had the crab bisque which, again, while a cream soup was not heavy, excellent crab flavor underscored by ground pumpkin seeds. both just lovely. next was salmon prepared rare (they asked and I requested) in an orange sauce with a little pasta. for my husband Chilean sea bass in a very lovely basil sauce. both sauces were well crafted and emphasized the sea food without overpowering it. the concierge in our hotel made our reservation and unbeknownst to us arranged a birthday dessert for my husband which was a lite yet robustly flavored tiramisu. it was offered to him "on the house" however thoughtful that was we would have had no objection to paying for it. the restaurant is comfortable with a very pleasant ambiance. we were the first customers of the day but others trickled in about an hour later. many have commented saying the service was "slow". we thought the service just right and never felt rushed and never felt forgotten. all in all an extremely pleasant evening. looking forward to returning the next time we are in the area. many thanks to all the staff for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Fun neighborhood gem. The food and service was impeccable. We always visit Casa Naranjo when we come down from the States. We have never been disappointed with our food or service. See you next time in the spring.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was very good to excellent”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

As someone else mentioned, food took awhile. However, it's family owned and run & you feel like you are in someone's house for dinner vs. a large restaurant. Enjoy the wait, have another glass of wine, and don't be rushed. Food, from the pork chops to the red snapper, were excellent. Very nice experience and worth a visit. Put it in my top 5 in Vallarta.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING A GREAT RESTAURANT SHOULD BE”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

THE MENU - short, but complete ... everything is explained.
FOOD - delicious and perfectly cooked.
WINE - strong list, by-the-glass poured at the table from the bottle.
THE SERVICE - impeccable.
STAFF - highly trained.
DECOR - white table cloth, relaxing, simple.
SOUND LEVEL - low, caused by the "U" shape of the dinning area.
PRICE - reasonable.
EXTRAS - don't be surprised if the kitchen sends you a special small treat to start your meal.
LOCATION - in a residential area about a ten block flat walk from the beach in old town ... if you have but one night to eat out in pv this is the place.
RELIABILITY - i have been going here for ten years ... as a single and with large groups ...it has never failed me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fairview24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Naranjo also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Emiliano Zapata, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Casa Naranjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing