We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was very good to excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Naranjo

Casa Naranjo
Ranked #85 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The hidden secret of Vallarta´s residents...
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food was very good to excellent”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

As someone else mentioned, food took awhile. However, it's family owned and run & you feel like you are in someone's house for dinner vs. a large restaurant. Enjoy the wait, have another glass of wine, and don't be rushed. Food, from the pork chops to the red snapper, were excellent. Very nice experience and worth a visit. Put it in my top 5 in Vallarta.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    57
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING A GREAT RESTAURANT SHOULD BE”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

THE MENU - short, but complete ... everything is explained.
FOOD - delicious and perfectly cooked.
WINE - strong list, by-the-glass poured at the table from the bottle.
THE SERVICE - impeccable.
STAFF - highly trained.
DECOR - white table cloth, relaxing, simple.
SOUND LEVEL - low, caused by the "U" shape of the dinning area.
PRICE - reasonable.
EXTRAS - don't be surprised if the kitchen sends you a special small treat to start your meal.
LOCATION - in a residential area about a ten block flat walk from the beach in old town ... if you have but one night to eat out in pv this is the place.
RELIABILITY - i have been going here for ten years ... as a single and with large groups ...it has never failed me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fairview24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well Contemplated Flavors”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

House Salad was very good, nice presentation with greens, oranges, strawberries, kiwi, goat cheese covered with nice dressing of Balsamic/Mustard dressing. Entrees each had a distinct flavor profile. Make sure you like the profile that the chef has prepared for a particular dish or you may be disappointed. The chef has a distinct appreciation of flavors and takes each seriously. There is a wonderful balance between the meat, starch/vegetable and sauce.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey,CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I hate to diss a restaurant,especially one where you can see the effort the chefs are making,but it took so long to get our food (and it wasn't busy) that it took away from the experience.Who needs table ware changes between courses in a Mexican restaurant in PV. I understand this could have been an atypical night. The food was very good;the location wasn't so you just go there for dinner and leave.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Well, I finally made it to Casa Naranjo to have dinner. We were there last Wednesday on Nov 20. We arrived at 7 p.m. and were seated promptly. The restaurant was not full but did have several other diners there when we arrived.
There were 4 of us at our table. We all had different cocktails to begin our meal and all said that their's was excellent. I enjoyed my martini and really appreciated the fact that the bartender could mix a good drink. You'd be surprised at how many restaurants do not have good drinks.
We had four different entrees. One fish of the day, one salmon and one pork chop. The entrée that I wanted wasn't available that day but the kitchen was very accommodating and made me something very close to what was on the menu. I had the shrimp with ravioli. Outstanding. Everyone enjoyed their dinner.
The wait staff their were outstanding. We never once felt rushed.
I'm looking forward to many more return visits to Casa Naranjo.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zebralb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Naranjo also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Casa Naranjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing