We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok little hotel with a horrible location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Ranked #33 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My partner and me spent 2 weeks vacation in this place a mistake, the manager not too friendly from my view. The pool please is not a pool is cold all time even on cold days and some times looks dirty, the location so bad,this little place it looks ok, but is totally surrounded by tall buildings and all you breathe is pollution on terrace,and street rooms don't even think to open the window for sea fresh breeze. you don't have this on this place. the building on the side still under construction and the room 114 is so noise that you can sleep on weeks days. the bed a concrete table with a mattress on top very hard that is like sleep on the floor. the restroom moldy and the coffee maker So dirty that I don't think you will enjoy to make a coffee cup there. the location is good to go to the beach; but the construction noise and car exhaust fumes have this little hotel polluted.
the bed service is good clean sheets and bed cover. if you have a asthma problem. !!!! Stay Away from the hotel rooms that face to the Amapas street. but since this hotel is located on Amapas and I think Pulpito road, both very heavy traffic roads I don't think is possible to stay away from car exhaust fumes. something positive you can bring friends over with no problem.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank JCHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Mercedes P, Propietario at Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We find it strange that the review was submitted two days before check out and none of the inconveniences listed here were mentioned. No complaints on mold, dirty linens, or even noise were ever brought up during the stay. When a customer points something out that needs attention or repair our attitude is to fix it immediately or provide options in a similar or upgraded room. As per our inspection the room is fine, the window works, and there is no mold. There is a concrete base, yes, but it is a new mattress with a layer of memory foam on top, and concrete bed bases are not uncommon in Old Town, it was a very fashionable thing to have in the late 1990´s. Some poeple like firmer beds and others softer. Had there been a request the guests could have been relocated to a similar room with a Wood frame bed.

Initially these guests were very complimentary of the hotel. They explored the grounds and commented on how nice the place was. They seemed to feel at home. We are surprised to hear all this now.

As we recall they were quite engaging with the hotel staff, everyone was always polite and helpful. We are a small team and we all work hard and go beyond our ways to make sure things run smoothly and guests have a pleasant stay. This involves much more than putting a smile out there, our manager works very hard, and if at any particular instance did not have the chance to stop and greet the guest, or smile back, it was certainly not ill intentioned. During this guest´s stay the hotel was at almost full capacity, there was a lot of work and management was mostly behind the scenes, under pressure taking care of business.

There are pictures now being posted of a used coffee maker, we are not certain this picture was taken at check in or after it had been used by the guests themselves. One would expect that should something like that be noticed it would be reported to the front desk to be taken care of immediately. That was not the case either.

Due to this incident we are doing an inventory of the utensils and coffeemakers in the rooms. As a side note, we do not provide can openers or cork screws like the one the guest photographed. It is possible there may have been an oversight by the cleaning staff of something a previous guest may have left in the room. We have taken measures to make sure no objects that are not part of the original inventory of the room are left after a guest checks out to avoid this type of situation.

As for the comment on a dirty pool, the pool is cleaned 6 days of the week. Our courtyard has bamboos and leafy vines which in part make it a unique and cozy place. Sometimes the wind may blow a few leaves in the pool, but while our maintenance guy is on the grounds leaves are collected several times a day. And the water is filtered and treated every night. We are sorry to hear this particular guest perceived the pool as dirty for a few small leaves or bouganvilea blossoms floating on specific instances of the day.

As per the comment in the size of the pool, we are as we call ourselves: a Petit Hotel, we don't advertise as having a huge resort pool, we are a cozy and intimate environment and we advertise as such. We do not beleive we mislead people into thinking this is a resort. Which we are not.

With respect to the location, we have a GREAT location. Reality in Puerto Vallarta these days is the town is growing vertically and some of our neighbors are now condo buildings. We have no control over that. And anywhere in Old Town, any hotel on Los Muertos beach has proximity to a midrise building. This is just the way things are. Given the amount of density in the area we are one of the most quaint options around. And neither Amapas nor Pulpito are heavily traffic roads. They are one way, one lane cobble stone streets with a lot of pedestrian traffic and slow, safe, moderate car traffic during the day and almost zero traffic at night.

We do wish these guests had voiced their discomfort, it is common sense to report to the front desk first. Unless one is looking to find juice to post a negative review. In any case we value everyone´s comments, it helps us improve, and pushes us to seek better ways to approach customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 313 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here in February for two weeks as a single traveler and it was planned at the last minute. I was greeted by Oscar and showed me to the room and explained the room amenities. The unit was spacious, clean with fridge freezer, microwave and coffee machine, dinning area, sitting area and the King bed. Balcony was fine but did not use it much. Walk in shower bathroom.

I slept well even though the room faces the street with an open restaurant that had live entertainment at weekends. The only suggestion about the bed is they replace the thin foam cushioning on top of the mattress with a memory foam topper.

I sunbathed on the terrace using their new sun loungers. Yes there was noise during the day from the condo site next door, but that did not bother me.
I will return to Villa Mercedes

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

If you are looking for a chic boutique hotel with a staff that is well
informed about the art, culture, cuisine and nightlife that Puerto
Vallarta has to offer, look no further. The staff here is super
helpful about helping one navigate this gem of a town. I've been to
Vallarta many times. Recently I stayed at the Villa Mercedes. It is
now my favorite place to stay! It is near everything you want to be
close to. No need for a taxi. You can walk to all of the nightclubs
and restaurants from this location. The beach is a block away, Blue
Chairs is like two blocks away. Several top notch restaurants are
steps away from the front door of this stylish little hotel. There are
charming murals throughout the hotel, painted by artist Ana Rifa. The
rooms are super cozy and the pool/patio area is enough to make you
want to stay put. It has reliable complimentary wifi. a mini fridge.
The rooms are air conditioned and not loudly so. I highly recommend
this place and am looking forward to staying here once again. I hope to be here for Easter. I heard from friends in Vallarta that the nearby construction is complete. I can't say enough nice things about this wonderful hotel and the people that run it. Viva Mexico!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kuiland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was greeted by name at the check-in desk! I spent 14 nights at this little gem. The room was larger than I had anticipated, and very clean. Nice furnishings and nice, comfortable beds with LOTS of pillows! Lots of storage with a 6-drawer dresser and large closet with safe. The room also had a large refrigerator with freezer which was just what I needed. The owners/managers, Raul and Oscar bent over backwards to fix the slightest problem. Only problem for me was the intermittent wi-fi for the first 2 days, but then it was perfect. The sun deck was just reopened during my visit and is roomy with comfortable loungers. The pool is COLD, but perfect for a dip after a day in the hot sun at the beach. I jumped in every day! Very quiet at night even though my room was right on a street. Construction next door is almost complete and the minimal noise was hardly even noticed. Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: I personally loved 110!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great location and staff. Hotel is a block from the beach and is walking distance from all the fun entertainment venues, bars and clubs. Rooms vary from studio to suites. Very clean, secure and convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location in the Zona Romantica, and is one block off the beach. There are many good restaurants, art galleries, and jewelry stores within easy walking distance.
Our room was clean, and the staff always helpful and polite. The one distraction is that there is construction going on at the adjacent property, and the hotel is noisy from 8AM to 6PM, and we were not able to relax or sleep in our room during those hours, nor enjoy the pool. We look forward to staying at this hotel again, but only if the construction is over.

Room Tip: As for a room as far away as possible from the construction activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Mercedes P, Propietario at Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your great comments and feedback. We work really hard to have a personalized service, and to upkeep the property as best we can. We take pride in having one of the most charming spaces in Old Town Vallarta.

But it is true, throughout the course of construction of the condo tower next door things have been noisy, and dusty to say the least. Fortunately, construction is almost over and noise is to a minimal level these days. We are glad to be gaining back the charm and peace of our courtyard and terrace.

And we look forward to having you as our guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had the Master Suite on the 4th Floor. It was spacious and open with a wonderful patio with partial ocean views. Great location. The Hotel is in a perfect location, half a block from the beach and lots of gay friendly venues. Great staff and tons of things around the hotel. It was a wonderful weekend. I am already planning my next trip back. The free wifi was also an added touch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyguy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#42 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#54 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel

Address: Amapas No. 175, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $78 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mercedes is a PETIT HOTEL with boutique type accommodations steps away from Los Muertos Beach. It is located in a historic hacienda-style building with unique Mexican charm in one of the most convenient locations of Old Town Vallarta. Once the first "finca" in the district of Los Muertos Beach, the historic character has been kept throughout generations and upgraded with modern-day ammenities, art, and unique decor to meet the comforts of modern-day living, and the tastes of discerning travelers seeking authentic experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing