We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Really Nice People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreview, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Views and Really Nice People”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Hotel is amazing and has amazing views! The staff is very nice, but they are slow. It is not there effort, but just how the system is set up I thing. Still it is a lovely place to wake up in the morning and see the amazing view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    317
    124
    58
    44
See reviews for
579
870
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We chose Garza Blanca for a deal found on the Costco travel website as well as the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. The property is absolutely beautiful- the pool area and beach are lovely and we didn't have a problem finding a chair to lounge on every day. Every staff person was very helpful throughout our stay (Yes, service is slow but I think that's more a function of the culture than of this particular resort. Besides, it forces you to slow down and relax!).

Take a taxi to town to eat dinner at any number of delicious places for just 100 pesos (a steal for a cab ride by Chicago standards!) or take the bus for a longer but VERY cheap ride (8 pesos each).

The one complaint we had was the construction noise, as others have commented on here. Definitely request a room on the ocean side of the street to minimize this noise. The rooms all open toward the ocean, so if you have your windows open to sleep to the sounds of the ocean, you won't hear the construction. You can hear it from the pool area during the day, though.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ocean side of the property. Take advantage of the public bathrooms with showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Towers 2 and 3 are 5 stars and my room had a $1,000,000 view. But the owner is building/built three more huge towers across the road that will share the narrow beach strip. The efforts are now devoted to selling those time shares (a time share by any other name is till a timeshare) and part of the small beach is now "dedicated" to Elite members. So you are not anymore at the top of the hierarchy, which makes you, automatically, a 4 star guest.
So if people complain now about others "saving" chairs with shade, how will the resort look in one year time? No idea.
Right now, service is excellent but there is noise from construction and from the busy road. Bureaucracy is awful (this is Mexico after all) and you have to sign for everything even if you are "all inclusive". Check your final bill, more bureaucracy means more errors. The music is another show of tight control from above and you may have two different types of music playing next to the swimming pool. One of them, sorry to say, may be techno. And soaps are counted and re-counted so you may not get a "proper" soap but a generic substitute.
The beach is narrow but enough for the time being: you must bring water shoes if you want to go into the sea, the rocks (not pebbles) will hurt your feet. Beaches in Nuevo Vallarta (like La Estancia) are much better.
Sorry for this long review but I don't like to see good things being spoiled.
Finally, go for all inclusive, otherwise the (high) prices for food and drinks may annoy you.

Room Tip: Tower 2 or 3, definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janelitamirta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My family visited January 6-13. Very beautiful and staff very friendly. Limited options for meals, pool food was good as was the steak house. Had breakfast one morning in the restaurant and it took about 15 min. to get a cup of coffee and to placce an order and another 20 minutes to get food. We did not plan on wasteing the whole morning. Rooms were lovely, we were in the tower, 11th floor, excellent view! Pools were nice but a bit small, as well as more chairs are needed to ease the rude guests that yelled at my husband from the pool because he moved a lounge over a bit. This is an adult property, not child friendly or for grand children! Our favorite is Villa del Palmar Flamingos, we will be back there next year, already have a reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Beautiful setting! The one bedroom oceanfront suite was absolutely gorgeous throughout complimented by the beautiful view. The entire staff from poolside, grounds, restaurant (Allen, Francisco, Kevin, Oscar, Victor) were extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect balance of allowing you privacy while ensuring your needs were being met. We found the service staff in the restaurant to be well trained and attentive. We made it clear that we were not interested in the timeshare discussion and we were never approached again - which was a great relief and appreciated.
I would highly recommend for the traveler looking for exceptional surroundings, food - off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedog528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City Kid
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place has a five star rating, but the food, service and amenities are far from it, in spite of the beautiful setting. First, the two restaurants have overpriced food that is the quality of the average US diner. Second, while the staff is friendly and helpful, they are not five star quality. For example, it took me two days to get fresh towels. I had to leave them on the floor AND point out to the maid cleaning my room that they were two days old. Second, my room service breakfast order came wrong 50% of the time. One time the waiter forgot the silverware. The Wifi is out most of the time. The in-room Wifi signals are so weak that if you are more than a few meters from the router you cannot get a signal. Each room has its own router. Third, the rooms are on the side of a mountain. The only two ways of getting down to the mail building to go to town, the airport or whatever, are a long, steep flight of steps or a golf cart. The golf cart does not come on a regular schedule. Guests must call the operator to call it. Quite frequently, I had to call two or three times to get it. Other times I gave up and took the steps. All in all, I will skip the glitz and go somewhere else, maybe a 3 star hotel, which usually has better service than this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The resort is wonderful! Every inch is beautiful and the Penthouse Oceanfront suite is like no other room I have ever seen! The food was wonderful and the people friendly! I did not see any teenagers so I'm not sure if this would be the place for teens but the smaller kids looked to be having a great time! We went with adults and would absolutely recommend and go back. Just Beautiful!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
502 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,440 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#12 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
7,529 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Property: Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Address: Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly flanked by the vibrant blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the verdanant tropical forests of the Sierra Madre mountains, Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa nestles gracefully just minutes south of historic Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico's most dynamic and sophisticated vacation destinations.All Suites feature in-style decor that include marble floors, granite countertops, private terraces, whirlpool tubs and artisan in room amenities.Our ultra-chic gourmet restaurant is one of Puerto Vallarta's most sophisticated and premier dining options, catering breathtaking ocean views, a stylish lounge, a 230 label award-winning wine cellar, and a selection of unique contemporary dishes tailored to scintillate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort And Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing