We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort surrounded by tropical greens!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great resort surrounded by tropical greens!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October and loved every bit of it. We had the mountain suite that is higher up and provides a perfect ocean view. Service and staff are great.

A few pointers:
- Be aware of the time share people trying to get you to spend your vacation time listening to time share sales pitches. If it is not right for you say no upfront. 1 benefit of attending the presentation even if you do not want to purchase is the discounts you get for 90 mins of your time. Worth it for folks planning to get out of the resort for zip lining, city tours, spa massages etc.
- Poolside bar was our fave.
- The site pics do not do this place justice. It is BEAUTIFUL!!
- Patty at Hamara spa was one of the finest masseuse I have encountered.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Mountainside rooms/suites if you want some quiet time. We were in building 4. 5th floor and above wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Gerente at Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Garza Blanca, which will surely help all our future guests as well as the resort itself to continue constantly improving.

2013 has been a great year for Garza Blanca, having received much acclaim. The resort was named amongst the top 100 hotels in the world by Expedia Insiders Select; based on more than 500,000 comments and 650 hotels, Garza Blanca was pleased to come 36 in the list. We were also included within the top 10 Coolest Suites in the world by The Elite Traveler magazine in their 101 Best Suites in the World reward. WIthout doubt, it has been a great year so far. Garza Blanca's goal is to maintain quality services and to take excellent care of our guests' needs and requirements.

Perfecting the art of relaxation, the Hamara Spa takes wellbeing to another level. Unwind in Garza Blanca’s award-winning spa that is sure to revitalize your soul, body and mind.
Why not try a relaxing massage or body and facial treatment; energize your senses in the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi.
There are countless therapies and treatments on offer, performed by highly qualified and talented staff, as Patty, who is happy to hear about you and along with all Garza Blanca team, hope to see you again by your home away from home.


Once again, thank you for your valuable comments Every one of our activities are designed with the most important element for us in mind: our guests! All with the aim of offering the most memorable experiences.

Best regards,

Pierre Bonin
GM@ Garza Blanca... THE PLACE TO BE SEEN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    312
    119
    55
    43
See reviews for
562
860
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

the developers did not spare any expense in the development of this property. the buildings, restaurants, landscaping, pools are outrageously first class. the hotel website does not capture the detail that makes this resort facility so amazing. the hotel is far enough from the center of town that you feel as if you are in a private, slightly rural retreat, but close enough (approx 8 dollar, 10 minute max cab ride) that all of PVR is easily within reach. our room (a deluxe ocean front) was spartan but nicely appointed (again, the website captures it well), and we were very glad we were in one of the ocean front buildings and did not have to haul it up the hill across the highway to get to our room. my complaints are few (but at least one is significant).

After making it through the PVR airport with its barkers literally attempting to con you into touring their time share properties ("you are required by mexican law to show me your passport, etc."), you arrive at this lovely resort where a concierge forces you to sit down with a drink to go over room policies, charges, excursion prices, and then proceeds to strong arm you into taking a 90 minute informational tour of a timeshare building across the street. In exchange you are promised discounts on excursions including the PVR waterpark and $8 off wifi charges per day (i can't imagine that the prospect of wasting a half day to save $50 over the course of a stay costing in the thousands appeals to many). The push was obnoxious and didn't end until we said "No" probably ten times. a few days later when I asked about a trip to a nearby island I was again told that if i was willing to tour the timeshare property i could book it through the hotel at half off. a couple we met said they made the mistake of touring the timeshare. they were also promised it would be a 90 minute tour but it ended up lasting almost 4 hours and described it as one of the worst experiences in their lives. i mention the above because it was a real shame to start out what was supposed to be a relaxing trip with an adversarial relationship with your hotel and concierge.

service was mostly excellent but could really be hit or miss, depending on your server. we tipped as we would have in America (15-20%) for good service, and 10 for mediocre service. service never fell below mediocre, but i don't expect mediocre service in 5 star resorts and unfortunately it was about half of what we encountered in the restaurants and bars (mediocrity in the restaurants mostly in the form of gross delays despite few patrons. mediocrity poolside in that we simply weren't waited on on several occasions until we went to great lengths to flag someone down. all cabana boys were great, and the beach concierge couldnt have been more friendly. many servers poolside were excellent, but they seem to rotate job duties daily so once you have a "good one" who knows your tastes and habits and drinks, etc., they're gone the next day. everything except desserts at blanca blue was excellent (world class build out, first class menu) and our server Oscar was among the finest we've seen in the US or anywhere in the world. food at Boca Stk was mediocre (but view and again build-out was amazing). the resort needs a talented pastry chef in the worst way.

all in all it was a wonderful vacation and stay at this resort -- i truly did not want to leave and struggled to pull myself poolside to pack for the airport. but i'll likely try casa velas next. or perhaps villa premiere and spend my savings eating my way through PVR's best restaurants.

Room Tip: choose an ocean front tower or be prepared to walk to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luke j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, General Manager at Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Find yourself waking up in paradise, where stunning views of Banderas Bay are a guaranteed feature of all the suites, whether occupying an intimate one-bedroom suite, a deluxe two and three bedroom unit or a heavenly penthouse apartment.
It is never too late to up-grade at Garza Blanca.

Suites are imaginatively designed to complement the vibrant tones of Mother Nature’s surroundings and to immerse you in a unique lifestyle and a sense of uplifting wellbeing, Relaxation at its best.
Chic comfort and stylish opulence harmonize:
Egyptian marble floors, carefully selected artwork, imaginatively designed furniture and ergonomic fixtures make vacationing a true work of art

We thank you for sharing your moment with us and hope you back soon to Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa, ELEGANT ACCOMMODATION THAT GRACEFULLY SURPASSES EXPECTATION

With my best regards

Pierre Bonin
General Manager at Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last August for his birthday and greatly enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious, luxurious and we had a beautiful view of the ocean. The food was excellent and the staff catered to our vegetarian needs. The ONLY reason why I would say our stay was almost perfect was that we felt pressured by staff, upon arrival (when we were tired, hungry and jet lagged), into taking a tour of the time share properties. We did not want to do this and felt that the staff was being pushy and offering us discounts & tickets to activities we did not want to do. We chose not to do the tour as we had no desire to purchase a time share and just wanted to have a relaxing time for my husband's birthday. Other than this, we really enjoyed our time there and would definitely return! I would just hope the hotel would consider not being so aggressive with the tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank honeymooners0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We spent 3 nights and 4 days at this gorgeous hotel for a wedding. We stayed in the mountain tower and spent most of the time in the amazing infinity pool and beautiful, warm ocean. Our room was absolutely amazing, with a big balcony that had a hammock and several chairs, a massive bathroom suite with his and her closets and sinks and a bathtub overlooking the amazing view of the ocean. All in all, a great vacation was had by all that attended this destination wedding.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rockinchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our family vacation to Garza Blanca was fantastic! We loved everything! Our room was in the tower on the hill. 2 bedroom 3 bath. The views were breathtaking!! You could hear a little bit of construction in the morning...not much...a bit of hammering. Not a big deal at all!! No Wifi in the room but we could connect down at the Boca restaurant for breakfast. We didn't really want to be on our phones anyway:)

The walk to the beach/lower pool was very easy...good exercise! We chose not to take the golf cart down...but the drivers always offered! Very nice gentlemen!!

Beach was so fun....calm, warm water for swimming or other activities! They offer Kayaking trips over to Los Arcos with snorkeling...all included! It was a great trip! It takes about 2 1/2 hours. Our guide, Alan, was very helpful and knowledgeable!!! They also have paddle boards at the beach...all included!! If you don't know how to SUP, they will give you a lesson:) Look for Fransciso at the beach...he will help out with beach activities!

All the staff at the beach and pool bar/restaurant were very friendly! Thank you, Gonzalo and the other staff members:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLove1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely first class. Most beautiful beach front location. Very friendly staff.

Get a room or apartment in the beach front unit. Then you can spend all your time within a few feet from the ocean, on the beach, in the infinity edge pool or in the excellent restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MihaelBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Its been a while since I've felt depressed after a trip.. I have withdrawal and temporary depression from an amazing time...I want to go back and stay another week....We recently (wifey and two kids) arrived from a six night stay at Garza Blanca in Puerto Vallarta and it was hands down, perfect! The staff are at your beckon call - room service, the guys at the pool, concierge, waiters, and butler... We did the all inclusive thing which, and by, all inclusive standards was way better than I expexted... Usually all inclusive implies run-of-the-mill buffet style food and alcohol.. Not at Garza.. We had Fiji water, grey goose vodka, short ribs burritos and Don Julio Blanco all day and night... Find me a place that has all inclusive with these high end items and still be very affordable... We stayed in a one-bedroom condo style room... that was right on the beach... On a side note, it was our five year anniversary and had the hotel butler and concierge set up a romantic, candle dinner on the beach as a surprise. Fidel and Jose, the butlers, did an amazing job at setting up with all the bells and whistles... It was all a secret and my wife was amazed and surprised... Thanks Fidel!!! Do not participate in the time share.. it was vague and a waste of time... By the way, room service is included in the all inclusive package...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N2Odoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
486 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,154 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,548 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
7,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Property: Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Address: Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly flanked by the vibrant blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the verdanant tropical forests of the Sierra Madre mountains, Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa nestles gracefully just minutes south of historic Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico's most dynamic and sophisticated vacation destinations.All Suites feature in-style decor that include marble floors, granite countertops, private terraces, whirlpool tubs and artisan in room amenities.Our ultra-chic gourmet restaurant is one of Puerto Vallarta's most sophisticated and premier dining options, catering breathtaking ocean views, a stylish lounge, a 230 label award-winning wine cellar, and a selection of unique contemporary dishes tailored to scintillate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort And Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing