We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I needed to add an extra day to the tail end of our two week stay in our condo, and she randomly pulled Garza Blanca from the vast pool of options in PVR.

I should say up front that Garza Blanca is a bit on the expensive side and under normal circumstances it is probably a little out of our price range. that is at least for the two week stays we normally go for when visiting PVR.

That said, Garza Blanca is stunning in every way, and it is worth the costs associated with your stay.

We were greeted with the usual friendly bell hop and were promptly swept into the vast main entry of the resort. Check in was unusual, at least for us, in that we lounged in over stuffed couches and the staff came to us to collect our information (ID, Credit Card, etc.), and then brought back the papers for us to sign. As we waited, we were greeted with some fancy green drinks that I can only imagine was some sort of margarita (We don't drink, so unfortunately we turned them down). The main lobby was truly stunning with great exterior views, fantastic architectural features, and beautiful artwork.

As the bell hop led us to our room, he gave us the mini tour of the resort, pointing out where to get pool towels, etc. He gave us a full tour of room and was very friendly.

The room was, well, a room. That sounds like I'm panning it, but I'm not. The "Deluxe" is pretty much what you get from any hotel room. The difference is that everything in the room is high end. Luxurious bed, fantastic art on the walls and on the floor (large vases and things like that), Air conditioning tied into the large sliding glass door (open the door, the A/C turns off), flatscreen TV, per room Wi Fi, mini kitchen, very nice furniture, large soaking tub, and of course the hammock on the balcony which overlooked the ocean.

Once we got to our room, we instantly changed and headed to the pool. These pools are fantastic. I've never actually seen an infinity pool in person and they are really cool. The sand here on this end of the Banderas Bay is much finer than up towards the airport. It felt very nice on the feet. The ocean bottom is shaped a little less steep here as well, so the little waves actually were breaking a bit back from the typical shore break you see in other areas. Guests have a variety of activities to choose from at no cost. There were boogie boards, ocean kayak's, snorkel gear, and those stand up paddle board things (I don't know what they are called). I inquired about the cost to take the snorkel gear and was told it was gratis. I wasn't expecting much, but there was actually some decent fish sightings to be had right off the waters in front of the resort. Head south 100 feet from the swimming area and there are some rather large angel fish to be seen. Actually several varieties of angel fish, and some others too. The area wasn't teaming with fish, but there were enough to make it interesting.

Like I mentioned, this was a one night stay to wrap up a two week vacation in PVR. We were tired and decided to take advantage of room service. We had a couple of burgers and they were very good, and actually very large. Be prepared for the sticker shock however. Even by States standards, these were some pretty expensive burgers.

Breakfast the next morning was in the restaurant, and it was very good. Perfect service, great food, and an incredible panoramic view of the ocean and Banderas Bay.

We have decided to make it a habit to do our regular condo visit, and then wrap it up with two nights at Garza Blanca. It was just too nice not to do again. We will probably make a point of going into town for meals as eating at the resort will add up very quickly.

All in all, a wonderful experience that we both enjoyed very much.

Room Tip: the resort is right on the main road out of PVR headed towards Mismaloya. You might here the occasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    309
    117
    55
    43
See reviews for
555
852
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our anniversary celebration. It was a fabulous stay. Unfortunately we only booked for one night as we were staying downtown on our vacation but our goal is to return for a whole week the next time we visit PV.

No one bothered us with a time share presentation we were taken directly to our room and the bags showed up minutes later. The room was spotless and I loved the scented exfoliating soap in the shower. I tried to buy some on departure but they don't sell them, too bad I could have easily bought 100 dollars worth it was so fine.

The beach is wonderful, you can walk in and the waves didn't get too large until the evening upon which point we went for a swim in the heated pool. It was Marvelous not to mention the hot tubs which are soo relaxing.

That night we had an excellent dinner of steak, beet salad and wine, I ended up quite ill that night hours after dinner which ruined the rest of the evening. It was strange as I've been to Mexico many, many times over the last decade and this never happens. We didn't even eat breakfast the next morning as I was still recovering and all I could do was to check out and get in a cab back to my other hotel.

Even with that experience I'm looking forward to booking once again, sounds crazy but the experience of the hotel, the views and staff far outweighed the illness part. This hotel if fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've stayed at some incredible hotels around the world, and this is one of the very best. It is certainly luxurious, and the staff is gracious, helpful & kind. The grounds, beach, and pools are incredible. The food is a bit pricey... about comparable to a gourmet meal in the US. The rooms are high quality and spacious. They have three buildings very close to the water, and then two towers back toward the jungle a bit more. We stayed on the water and were very pleased, but heard rave reviews about the rooms closer to the jungle too. Most of those rooms are a bit newer, and a bit more luxurious too. But all are 5-star, and extremely nice. I'd love to go back again.

Room Tip: The time share presentation lasts about 2 hrs and offers 15% off of food and beverage for your entir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Classcair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This place was simply amazing. Stayed here in one of the large suites. Washer, dryer, and a full kitchen with everything you need to cook. Hammocks and hot tubs on the porches outside the rooms. This place is a great place to stay. A bit of a drive to downtown PR, but why would you ever want to leave this place! Not cheap though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the first vacation in six years that my husband and I have taken since the kids have been born. So needless to say, we wanted a vacation that was private, peaceful, relaxing and quiet. We got that and SO MUCH more at Garza Blanca. This is by far the best and most luxurious hotel in Puerto Vallarta and the best hotel experience I've ever stayed at during ANY vacation. Aside from the fact that it's fairly new, the service and quality of EVERYTHING is absolutely EXCEPTIONAL!!!!! I cannot begin to describe the beauty of the hotel as well as the cleanliness.....I felt like I can eat and sleep off the floor, ANY floor!! The attention to detail is SO IMPRESSIVE it's ridiculous!! I actually saw one of the workers cleaning the path lights from the pool to the hotel..and not just cleaning it but really cleaning it to a point it looked brand new. Workers are constantly ensuring that the common area bathrooms are immaculate....and they were, every single time!! Another point I have to make is that this resort has so much privacy that you are not overcome by vendors trying to sell you everything and anything! It can be truly annoying and ruin your time to relax and enjoy yourself. The food in every restaurant was unbelievably superb and five star quality EACH AND EVERY TIME!! They made a point to have daily specials for their guests to give them a variety everyday. All the rooms had great views and were very spacious and so very clean. Bathrooms are enormous!

This wouldn't be a true review without giving praise to some invaluable employees: Staff is truly exceptional with customer service that is hands down the best. They are so super friendly and geniunely attentive and make you feel so comfortable without feeling harrassed or bombarded.
Bryan Kistner, Selene, Shane, Jessica (front desk), Omar and Fidel Castro (doorman/bellman), Ezekiel (pool bar & restaurant), Rafael (chef), Bocabos Steakhouse restaurant: Marcello, Salvador, Victor, Miquel, and Jorge. All these individuals went above and beyond their job description and the customer service experience we had from these individuals as well as other employees makes this place a five star resort!! We were truly impressed and made our stay that much more memorable!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minerva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I don't normally go to the same place twice, with all the options out there. But this place is fantastic. I would like to check out the turtles! We were lucky to see wild dolphin and a new baby whale. There was lots of activities in the area. We could be as busy as wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRanger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipe Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What an experience. We stayed in the new Torre 5 on the 6th floor and the Junior Suite was amazing! I think I took 12 tub baths in 4 days, just to enjoy the view from the egg-shaped tub.
The service was, as usual in Mexico, kind, considerate and thoughtful. And the room even had a small fridge so you could bring in snacks. In general the restaurants were good, especially for breakfast and brunch. The location, far south, means a lot of taxi rides if you do excursions or shopping or dining in town, but that's just the price to pay for being just a short view from Los Arcos, the beautiful rocks along the coast. We shopped in May (and the weather was fresh and lovely this year) and got a great package deal for the room and airfare.

Room Tip: The towers are above the ocean with great views. The tower Junior Suites are attached to full suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiemonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
7.7 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Property: Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Address: Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly flanked by the vibrant blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the verdanant tropical forests of the Sierra Madre mountains, Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa nestles gracefully just minutes south of historic Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico's most dynamic and sophisticated vacation destinations.All Suites feature in-style decor that include marble floors, granite countertops, private terraces, whirlpool tubs and artisan in room amenities.Our ultra-chic gourmet restaurant is one of Puerto Vallarta's most sophisticated and premier dining options, catering breathtaking ocean views, a stylish lounge, a 230 label award-winning wine cellar, and a selection of unique contemporary dishes tailored to scintillate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort And Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing