We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shot of tequila”

Victor's Place Cafe Tacuba
Ranked #37 of 1,020 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
518 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A shot of tequila”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We have dined at this restaurant several times over the years and have always been satisfied. The food is always good, hot, plentiful, with appetizing delivery. The owner is very friendly, usually provides a free tequila made by his uncle. Highly recommended for quality price and great service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    183
    58
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love Victor and the team”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

WOW...WOW...Fantastic service, great food, tasty tequila, fun deserts, and warm hugs from Victor! Love this place...So kind and warm.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food, a free tequila, and budget-friendly”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Victor's is conveniently located near the entrance to the Vallarta Marina from the side-street at the VaMar hotel. They provide free WiFi service for your portable devices, a bonus if your hotel does not provide it.
Cuisine: Mexican, seafood
Service: courteous and effective but not so much when they get very busy. Some poor English skills.
Style: they have an interior restaurant, but all the tables are brought outside on the open patio (marina-side). Shade is sometimes at a premium and at diner when all tables are on the patio, tables can be close to one another.
Recommendations: Good breakfast spot (65 pesos) served all day. For a light lunch and diner, try their fish or seafood soups and their shrimp dishes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else??”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived in Puerto Vallarta after staying at the Four Seasons in Punta Mita forl 3 days with my husband's company. Yes, the Four Seasons was amazing but I have to tell you that the meals I had at Victor's could be a fierce rival. Let me just tell you, we ate there for all of our meals during the 3 days we were on our own in Puerto Vallarta. It is walking distance to the Marriott, located in a fun area and the food is great. In addition to all of that, I have never been to a restaurant in the US or around the world where the owner cheerfully greets you with a tequila shot and genuinely thanks you for your business. When we return to Puerto Vallartam which we certainly will, I look forward to seeing my friend Victor and enjoying his wonderful food at reasonable prices.We had the same waiter, Christian, during every meal. Dang! they work hard in Mexico!! 65 pesos for the best breakfast you have ever had. I promise!!! Warning: if you are at a table where people do not drink their free dessert drink (Bailey's, Kahula and cream) DO NOT drink all of them for your table. I was up all night waiting to fall asleep because of the caffeine in the Kaluha.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieAnneAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food Very Reasonably Priced and lots of Tequila”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal here last week. Victor is a really nice generous man. The food was really good actually. Victor kept bringing complimentary shots of tequila everytime we ordered drinks and he even had shots with us. We finished off our meal with an after dinner "complimentary" kahlua drink. Would def return. Very reasonable. Good food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wileman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's Place Cafe Tacuba also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Victor's Place Cafe Tacuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing