We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food....watery tequila”

Victor's Place Cafe Tacuba
Ranked #35 of 998 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food....watery tequila”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Victor's came recommended to us, and we had a great meal there. It was a short walk from the Marriott, and there was a lively crowd there. I had the shrimp burrito while my partner had the marlin burrito. Both were excellent. Victor greets all the guests and walks around with shot glasses and a bottle of tequila which he shares. Great hospitality and genuine warmth from Victor. But the tequila is watered down. Not really a complaint...but an observation. How could Victor walk around all night doing that without ending up drunk under a table!

Go anyway. The food and atmosphere are great. And just drink LOTS of the watered down tequila!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HBsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    180
    56
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
517 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Friendly restaurant by the Marina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This restaurant, located next to the marina has a very friendly staff, including the owner Victor who spends time with each customer assuring the service is top quality and the food excellent. The meal usually includes free tequila and coffee and Baileys. We have eaten there several times over the years and repeat customers are a big part of the business. The staff greets patrons by name. There are several restaurants n the marina area and Victor's is always the busiest. The food prices are reasonable, and the food authentic; good variety of selections served throughout the day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food! Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Victor greeted us as we sat down to dine with a compimentary shot of tequila. We could learn alot about service in America from Victor. I will be celebrating my birthday with him this year and will update my review then. Going to see him Feb 5th. Catch of the day was fantastic and Im looking forward to another delicious meal

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank HollyLillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mas Pistoles Por Favor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Dining at Victor's was a fun rewarding experience. Our party of four experienced great food and drinks in a festive atmosphere with reasonable prices, intimate seating right on the marina, with Victor bringing tequila shots with every round of drinks and a gregarious group of fellow diners to share the experience. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Cadillac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bustling restaurant at the marina - great food and reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The owner greeted us and asked our names - I happened to mention we were there because one of our party had a birthday. The place is very popular because the prices are very reasonable, the service excellent and the menu diverse. I had Devil shrimp - a combination of spicy and sweet, another had garlic shrimp and my husband had the fish and shrimp combo. The complimentary tequila shots and after dinner Kailua completed a fabulous meal. Then to my surprise the owner walked over carrying a piece of cake w a candle and they sang happy birthday to our friend. The place was packed, the owner greeting each person and still he remembered an off hand comment I had made an hour prior. The menu is varied enough you could go several days in a row and not tire of it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pathoranberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's Place Cafe Tacuba also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Victor's Place Cafe Tacuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing