We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find a better deal for the price”
Review of Casa Fantasia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Fantasia
Ranked #11 of 72 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I spent several days trying to find the right place to stay in Puerto Vallarta for our honeymoon. I wanted a place that was a really good value in the Romantic District and luckily, I found this place! There is a reason they have such high reviews on TripAdvisor. The rooms are a good size and really clean. I found the bed comfortable as well. They have lock boxes in the rooms and a delicious free breakfast. I had the mushroom omelet and my husband had the eggs and bacon skillet. Both were really tasty. Their breakfasts also include orange juice, coffee, tee, and fruit (pineapple, melon, and watermelon). I LOVE all of the art around the place (take a look at the pictures). Their happy hour has huge margaritas for a little less than $3 each. We also found their prices for lunch and dinner extremely reasonable. If you're not staying here, you should at least try their restaurant. You can easily walk to just about anything in the Romantic District from this b&b. If you need to go some place a little farther away, take the public bus. The public bus is less than $1 per person from the airport. Finally, the people are super friendly and really nice! They also have music around 7 pm each night. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestWestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Casa Fantasia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location walking distance to playa los muertos beach and also the Malecon (boardwalk). The rooms are nicely furnished with a big bed and nice bathroom. The room has wifi and a ceiling fan. There is no safety deposit box but we didn't ask of there was one in reception. The hotel has quirky furnishings in the common areas and has a nice outside area where the restaurant is, we had breakfast included which was really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a wonderful little place to stay! It is at most a minute or two away from the Malecon which you will definitely visit. I walked to the Malecon daily for activities, shopping, watching local performers, and eating all kinds of goodies. The rooms and the rest of the grounds are clean, the staff is friendly, the atmosphere is pleasant, and the food is good. The restaurant is open for breakfast (included w/room), lunch, and dinner. The prices are very reasonable and service is great. I stayed in room #1 for four days and even though there are no windows the A/C keeps the room nice and cool. No window, no problem - since you will be out and about enjoying the beautiful days and nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueFairy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a very cute, convenient B and B. They only have 5 rooms and unfortunately the room we were assigned, Room # 1 had no windows and there were no other vacancies.. We had reserved this B and B for 2 nights to avoid Saturday travel to PV and the airport mobs that arrive and leave on Saturdays. The 4 other rooms are on the second floor and have windows, light and breezes If you stay there demand a 2nd floor room and don't stay if all they have available is room #1. The restaurant attached it cute and the included breakfasts which were very good and of ample size. The staff was very pleasant and the food good..

Room Tip: Avoid room #1 ( no windows) and insist on a room on the second floor and then you will be hapy here.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iluvta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a wonderful experience in Puerto Vallarta and staying in this small hotel was the perfect choice for us. The whole staff was delightful, helpful, and willing to do whatever was needed to make the stay perfect. Our room was charming and the location perfect to walk to the beach, restaurants, galleries and more. One block from the Malecon (boardwalk). We felt safe and Rick, at the front desk, was so helpful in helping us with directions, reservations, tours and whatever else we needed. The restaurant served an expansive breakfast menu and we dined there a couple of nights and the food at dinner was as good as Any other place we dined. We met some wonderful guests and the whole package could not have been better. Truly a scarce Mexican experience in a resort oriented atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysticSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you are looking for accommodation that has a lovely casual friendly feel then this is the place. Casa Fantasia is a little oasis in amongst the hussle and bustle of PV. We had our 2 teenage boys with us and they were made to feel very welcome and were included in all the conversations around the bar each evening. Ric is a wonderful manager who has a great knowledge of the local area and is more than happy to spend time talking over options for your day's activities. Simon's bartending skills help create a little hub of chit chat each evening and you will meet a lot of repeat customers who rave about the friendly atmostphere. The rest of the staff and several of the (semi) permanent hotel residents make you feel like part of the family, even if you are only there for a short time. Rooms are very spacious and clean and are serviced daily. The (complimentary) breakfast menu is great and will keep you going until lunch time, and the dinner menu is very good also. The location is perfect as it's so close to the beach. We would also recommend the French bakery across the road.

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper and found our road-side room a little noisy. As soon as we mentioned this t...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwifamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights Dec 3-7. This cute little authentic inn is in the Zona Romantico (Old Town) area, and a mere 2 blocks from the beach... It is a quaint little gem; clean and well run by friendly staff who make you feel welcome. The minute our taxi pulled up outside, the entire staff appeared to be expecting us and wisked our luggage up to our room without even asking for ID or a credit card. Each room is uniquely furnished with a rustic, local flair and we liked that a small refrigerator and even bath robes were provided for our use. Daily maid service included fresh towels (nice quality) freshly swept floors, replenished bottles of complimentary water, and a freshly made bed. No coffee pot was provided in the room, which would have been nice because that's just what we're used to, but we didn't miss it that much because it is available downstairs (or even accross the street at the nearby OXXO-- which is right next door to a cute little french bakery). The location is close to more restaurants, coffee shops, spas, bakerys and shops than we could possibly experience in the short time we got to spend.

Jorge the manager was very helpful answering questions and even changed some dollars for pesos out of his own wallet when we realized late in the day we were beginning to run short- and gave us a great exchange rate to boot!. He was also very accommodating in allowing us a late check out as our flight home was in the late afternoon when we (sadly) had to leave.

The little restaurant in the courtyard is quite good and reasonable; Raoul the waiter/maitre'd is friendly and attentive. Ipolito cooks the wonderful full breakfast typically included with the room, and comes complete with freshly squeezed orange juice. The little bar at the inn was open each night when we returned from our activities, and Simon the friendly bartender mixed a great nightcap for us before we turned in for the evening.

We will definitely return; we had one of the best mini-vacatons EVER.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
201.5 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,699 reviews
201.5 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#16 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
873 reviews
201.8 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
201.2 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
351 reviews
201.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
782 reviews
201.4 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Fantasia

Address: Calle Pino Suarez 203 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $54 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Fantasia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent colonial style hotel with restaurant bar located down town in Puerto Vallarta right on the zone romantic. Located just a few steps to the beach and close to art galleries and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Fantasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Fantasia Guest House Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing