We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rare little Jewell”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Fantasia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Fantasia
Ranked #12 of 74 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A rare little Jewell”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a wonderful experience in Puerto Vallarta and staying in this small hotel was the perfect choice for us. The whole staff was delightful, helpful, and willing to do whatever was needed to make the stay perfect. Our room was charming and the location perfect to walk to the beach, restaurants, galleries and more. One block from the Malecon (boardwalk). We felt safe and Rick, at the front desk, was so helpful in helping us with directions, reservations, tours and whatever else we needed. The restaurant served an expansive breakfast menu and we dined there a couple of nights and the food at dinner was as good as Any other place we dined. We met some wonderful guests and the whole package could not have been better. Truly a scarce Mexican experience in a resort oriented atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MysticSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    24
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you are looking for accommodation that has a lovely casual friendly feel then this is the place. Casa Fantasia is a little oasis in amongst the hussle and bustle of PV. We had our 2 teenage boys with us and they were made to feel very welcome and were included in all the conversations around the bar each evening. Ric is a wonderful manager who has a great knowledge of the local area and is more than happy to spend time talking over options for your day's activities. Simon's bartending skills help create a little hub of chit chat each evening and you will meet a lot of repeat customers who rave about the friendly atmostphere. The rest of the staff and several of the (semi) permanent hotel residents make you feel like part of the family, even if you are only there for a short time. Rooms are very spacious and clean and are serviced daily. The (complimentary) breakfast menu is great and will keep you going until lunch time, and the dinner menu is very good also. The location is perfect as it's so close to the beach. We would also recommend the French bakery across the road.

Room Tip: I'm a light sleeper and found our road-side room a little noisy. As soon as we mentioned this t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwifamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights Dec 3-7. This cute little authentic inn is in the Zona Romantico (Old Town) area, and a mere 2 blocks from the beach... It is a quaint little gem; clean and well run by friendly staff who make you feel welcome. The minute our taxi pulled up outside, the entire staff appeared to be expecting us and wisked our luggage up to our room without even asking for ID or a credit card. Each room is uniquely furnished with a rustic, local flair and we liked that a small refrigerator and even bath robes were provided for our use. Daily maid service included fresh towels (nice quality) freshly swept floors, replenished bottles of complimentary water, and a freshly made bed. No coffee pot was provided in the room, which would have been nice because that's just what we're used to, but we didn't miss it that much because it is available downstairs (or even accross the street at the nearby OXXO-- which is right next door to a cute little french bakery). The location is close to more restaurants, coffee shops, spas, bakerys and shops than we could possibly experience in the short time we got to spend.

Jorge the manager was very helpful answering questions and even changed some dollars for pesos out of his own wallet when we realized late in the day we were beginning to run short- and gave us a great exchange rate to boot!. He was also very accommodating in allowing us a late check out as our flight home was in the late afternoon when we (sadly) had to leave.

The little restaurant in the courtyard is quite good and reasonable; Raoul the waiter/maitre'd is friendly and attentive. Ipolito cooks the wonderful full breakfast typically included with the room, and comes complete with freshly squeezed orange juice. The little bar at the inn was open each night when we returned from our activities, and Simon the friendly bartender mixed a great nightcap for us before we turned in for the evening.

We will definitely return; we had one of the best mini-vacatons EVER.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for two weeks (Nov 2nd-16th). Fabulous people (Jorge, Ipolito, Simon, Raul, David and Jorge's mother, Amalia {spelling?}). Courtyard is beautiful, hummingbirds visited and at least 4 different butterflies. Ipolito is the morning chef and jack of all trades(master of all), and Jorge is the conductor! Clean, beautiful rooms with antique furniture (we were in room 1) wonderful plumbing (and water pressure--a big plus anywhere). Easy to travel all of Puerto Rico from this location. We ate dinner 4 times in the restaurant (they opened for the season on 11 Nov '13)--fabulous food especially the prime rib and lobster--but everything was great. Jorge even drove us to the airport saying he had to go "shopping" anyway--he's a true gentleman. If you're ever in PV--stop by for the experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We saw the umbrellas of the restaurant/B&B from the roof of our condo building and wondered what it was. My husband wandered by and was 'accosted' by someone. He went in and looked around and saw the menu. He was given a coupon for a free appetier.

When he told us about it, we decided to check it out ourselves. We stood outside looking in and saw an oasis of greenery and a fountain. The menu looked pretty good too. So, off we went for dinner tonight.

We were started with chips and an excellent salsa. Then came the guacamole appetizer. It was also very good.

Raoul, our waiter, first brought us some black bean soup - gratis. It was so flavorful with just the right amount of seasoning. We all loved it!

I had the prime rib which was the first I have ever had in Mexico and it was awesome. Tender, flavorful, and cooked to perfection (very medium rare.) It came with mashed potatoes with a little au jus, fresh steamed vegetables, and horseradish. Everything was excellent.

My husband and son got the Mexican Plate, with carne asada, chile relleno, and enchilada. Again, the meat was excellent, which we find unusual a lot of places in Mexico. The chile relleno was not quite hot enough (heat-wise), but tasted good. The enchilada was also good.

My son's girlfriend got the garlic mahi mahi and it also was excellente!

There were homemade rolls and garlic bread with garlic herb butter.

We ordered a flan and cheese cake for dessert. They were also very good.

To top it off, he brought us all a small glass of kahlua and cream on ice.

Everything from the atmosphere to the food to the service were excellent. We are going back on Friday for our last night here in PV.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I've stayed lots of places in MX and this one is authentic AND very clean and safe. Love love LOVED the sweet gentleman that not only served us breakfast but also did the maintenance work around the place :) The food was SUPERB, the workers friendly, and the location cannot be beat. We stayed here our final night in PV after a few nights at the Hilton All Inclusive, and I would rate this over the Hilton any day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Writing this review from room #2. Here on vacation staying one week. Private balcony, spacious room with king bed, large well maintained bathroom, and the courtyard is cute as can be. Might be off season, today is Nov. 1st, but $55 a night including full hot breakfast egg dishes, etc?? Great deal in a great little spot one block from the beach. Quiet at night. Beats the heck out of all these "bracelet" hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#14 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#24 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Fantasia

Property: Casa Fantasia
Address: 203 Pino Suarez | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Zona Romantica, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Fantasia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent colonial style hotel with restaurant bar located down town in Puerto Vallarta right on the zone romantic. Located just a few steps to the beach and close to art galleries and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Fantasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Fantasia Guest House Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing