We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility & Beauty”
Review of Casa de los Monos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de los Monos
Ranked #29 of 73 Puerto Vallarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Casa de los Monos is nestled in the hills of beautiful El Nogalito, a rainforest village filled with exotic birds and jungle greenery. The accommodations are clean and well appointed. The hosts prepare wonderful meals and are a pleasure to visit. They provide a relaxing environment where you can just unwind and lay out by the pool. I would highly recommend Casa de los Monos and personally I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherellH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 29 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Verry friendly people help you with everything. She makes amazing breakfast with beautiful vieuw You deel verry free over there And About everything is passibul Will visit them again. I hope soon Greetings Richard kranendonk holland

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ries1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed there a few times in the past few years and will be returning on our next visit. The owners run a very clean and beautiful guest house, are very helpful and know the surrounding areas well - where to go and where are the best places to shop and dine. It is a good place to stay if you want to be out of noisy Vallarta or want a base to do day trips.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davepelletier11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at Casa de los Monos for two months, November-December 2012. Believe all the reviews from other guests. The lodging is super clean, attractive design, beautifully landscaped, welcoming with extremely accomodating hosts. The village was sweet, a true Mexican experience, the birds and jungle a daily pleasure. A fantastic beach was a 20 minute walk. Most of all as a single women, the location and lodging was very safe. Casa de los Monos would be excellant for families, children are free to roam safely in the village. I would give this lodging a 5 star rating. Thanks to Remco, Lorena and Blas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NelsonJourney55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Casa de los Monos is a great place to say. The rooms are great to stay in and have everything you will need if you want to do your own cooking. Lorena and Remco will do everything to make your stay what you were looking for. They know of a great number of things and trips that you can take and the pool is great for your hole family. This was my sixth year coming back to Mexico and I have stayed at there casa all the time. We got married in Mexico this year and Lorena and Remco help us out on allot of the things we had to and wanted to do. It is a great place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAllan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at Casa de los Monos for a few days....what a fabulous little surprise!!! super clean and had everything we needed and more. Our hosts Remco, Lorena and little Blas were super hospitable and welcoming! The view is beautiful and peaceful... Remco took us into Puerto Vallarta a couple of times to go shopping and sightseeing. There is a beautiful swimming pool to cool off and hang out in. Had the most amazing breakfasts made for us each morning at a very minimal cost... fresh fruit and then a gorgeous breakfast to follow with delicious coffee. First time in el Nogalito but definately would stay at Casa de los Monos when i go back!!! Thanks so much you guys!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherylBlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at Casa de los Monos for a week. We had a great time and even had our small dog with us, who was allowed to go to all our activities and trips.

The hosts, Lorena, Remko and Blas are very friendly and have a nice concept for their B&B. The rooms had everything we needed, including a small kitchenette and a balcony with a nice view of the rainforest of El Nogalito. There is also a small swimming pool and a terrace where we had our meals. The view from there was great, especially in the mornings or as the sun was setting during dinner. Lorena is a wonderful cook and we felt like we ate very healthy every day, even better than at home.

As part of the activities they offered, the hosts took us on a trip to San Blas, a small fishing village north of Puerto Vallarta. This was a different experience and it was very enjoyable to be on the beach with just locals or looking for alligators at a local reserve. Remko also recommended a day trip to Yelapa (about 30 mins by boat), which we really enjoyed.

Casa de los Monos is good for somebody who wants to stay in a secluded setting and enjoy peace away from it all. El Nogalito is also really a safe spot with a small town feel, including roosters and donkeys. But the main town of Puerto Vallarta is only about 10-15 minutes away and about a $10 taxi ride whenever one wants some excitement (Lorena or Remko are also more than happy to take guests to and back from the city, even late at night).

All in, we had a great time there and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#60 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
168 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#9 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,413 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Vallarta
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Valla...
#24 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
8,095 reviews
5.5 mi away
Casa Velas
Casa Velas
#2 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
1,624 reviews
5.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#6 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Monos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Monos

Address: Gavilanes 10 | loc. el Nogalito, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility in Paradise. We welcome you to stay in our beautiful and unique Bed and Breakfast on the south side of Puerto Vallarta. While you stay in your comfortable villa in a little community surrounded by mountains, nature and tranquility, the hustle of the Romantic zone (old town) of Vallarta is just ten minutes away. We offer privacy, safety and coziness. There is also in town two restaurants and a Holistic SPA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing